Live News

Track your constituency
Live News

Rajmahal Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

One of the 14 Lok Sabha constituencies in the eastern Indian state of Jharkhand is Rajmahal. This constituency, which is reserved for candidates belonging to the Scheduled Tribes, is representative of the concerns of the marginalized sections of the society. 1,167,993 is the total electorate count in the Rajmahal Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 1). Out of these 593,964 number of electorates are males and the remaining 574,029 are belong to the female category as the Election commission of India 2009 reports suggest.

Covering the entire districts of Pakur and Sahebganj, this parliamentary constituency of Rajmahal comprises six Assembly segments, with three segments spreading across each of the two districts, respectively. Both the districts of Pakur and Sahebganj lie in the northeastern parts of Jharkhand. This region is famously known for its supply of the best-quality Black Stone across the country, although due to lack of superior infrastructural techniques, industry is conspicuously absent and the economy remains primarily agricultural. Both the districts of Sahebganj and Pakur have been identified by the Ministry of Panchayati Raj as two of the 250 economically backward districts in the country. These are thus being funded under special governmental schemes such as the Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme.

Rajmahal Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Vijay Kumar HansdakJharkhand Mukti Morcha5065890124150783048.47Winner
Hemlal MurmuBharatiya Janata Party40762601009408635391st Runner-up
Gopin SorenCommunist Party Of India (Marxist)3557709355863.42nd Runner-up
Monika KiskuAll India Trinamool Congress17400027174271.663rd Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above12898021129191.234th Runner-up
Mandal HansdaIndependent1212802121301.165th Runner-up
Baidhnath PahadiyaBahujan Samaj Party10360014103740.996th Runner-up
Mahendra HansdaIndependent90740390770.877th Runner-up
Mangal MarandiIndependent82320282340.798th Runner-up
Neeraj HembromAll India Forward Bloc753301075430.729th Runner-up
Mahesh PahadiyaIndependent49260249280.4710th Runner-up
Barnad HembromIndependent42540042540.4111th Runner-up
Christopher MurmuIndependent30020330050.2912th Runner-up
Mary Nisha HansdakBahujan Mukti Party29460229480.2813th Runner-up
Mahashay TuduHindusthan Nirman Dal27670027670.2614th Runner-up

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Rajmahal Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Rajmahal parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Rajmahal constituency is Shri Vijay Kumar Hansdak of JMM.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
20141Rajmahal(ST)Vijay Kumar Hansdak M JMM 379507 Hemlal Murmu M BJP 338170
20091Rajmahal(ST)Besra,Shri Devidhan MBJP168357Hemlal MurmuMJMM159374
20041Rajmahal(ST)Hemlal MurmuMJMM226411Thomas HansdaMINC223437

List of Assembly Constituencies in Rajmahal Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Rajmahal parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
RajmahalBarhait (ST)Pakaur
Borio (ST)Litipara (ST)Maheshpur (ST)

Last Updated on June 27, 2020
Live at 6 PM | Bihar Exit Poll | Exit Poll

Live at 5PM | Bihar Elections - ओवैसी का बुख़ार महागठबंधन को | Sanjay Dixit