Live News

Track your constituency
Live News

Giridih Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

Covering portions of the districts of Giridih, Bokaro and Dhanbad is the Giridih Parliamentary constituency. As one of the 14 Lok Sabha seats which belong to the eastern Indian state of Jharkhand, this constituency remains one of the few parliamentary segments in the state to remain unreserved. Six Assembly segments together form this constituency, with two segments each in all the districts. 1,346,527 is the total electorate count in the Giridih Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 6). Out of these 733,063 number of electorates are males and the remaining 613,464 are belong to the female category as the Election commission of India 2009 reports suggest. After Ranchi, Dhanbad and Giridih are two of the most populous districts of Jharkhand.

These two districts are presently a part of the Red Corridor, owing to the frequent Maoist insurgencies in Dhanbad and Giridih. Known for the Bokaro Steel Plant managed by the SAIL, and various other large-scale industries such as the Indian Explosive Limited in Gumia (renowned for being the biggest explosives plant in India), and the Electrosteel Casting Limited, among other projects, Bokaro is an industrial hub. The districts of Giridih, Bokaro and Dhanbad, which are together managed by the Bokaro Industrial Area Development Authority (BIADA), make this belt industrially productive and emerging. However, all these three districts have been identified as economically underdeveloped by the Ministry of Panchayati Raj in 2006, thus being funded under special governmental schemes such as the Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme.

Giridih Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Chandra Prakash ChoudharyAjsu Party6468640141364827758.57Winner
Jagarnath MahtoJharkhand Mukti Morcha3982680166239993036.131st Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above19669039197081.782nd Runner-up
Rasul BakshBahujan Samaj Party10018043100610.913rd Runner-up
Sunita TuduIndependent90690890770.824th Runner-up
Simmi SumanIndependent416001341730.385th Runner-up
Sanjeev Kumar MahatoIndependent22140322170.26th Runner-up
Amit JaniUttar Pradesh Navnirman Sena20450620510.197th Runner-up
Dwaraka Prasad LalaRepublican Party Of India (A)18930318960.178th Runner-up
Rajendra DasaundhiIndependent16640316670.159th Runner-up
Chandra Deo PrasadAihra National Party16460416500.1510th Runner-up
Sohrab ShahBahujan Mukti Party14440414480.1311th Runner-up
Madhu SudanJharkhand Party (Secular),12360812440.1112th Runner-up
Jogeshwar ThakurVishva Shakti Party12230212250.1113th Runner-up
Shibu SinghBhartiya Manavadhikaar Federal Party12030312060.1114th Runner-up
Ahmad AnsariBhartiya Lokmat Rashtrwadi Party107401410880.115th Runner-up

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Giridih Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Giridih parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Giridih constituency is Shri Ravindra Kumar Pandey of BJP.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
20146GiridihGENRavindra Kumar Pandey M BJP 391913 Jagarnath Mahto M JMM 351600
20096GiridihGENPandey,Shri Ravindra Kumar MBJP233435Teklal MahtoMJMM138697
20046GiridihGENTek Lal MahtoMJMM350255Ravindra Kumar PandeyMBJP200461

List of Assembly Constituencies in Giridih Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Giridih parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies

Last Updated on June 27, 2020
Live at 6 PM | Bihar Exit Poll | Exit Poll

Live at 5PM | Bihar Elections - ओवैसी का बुख़ार महागठबंधन को | Sanjay Dixit