Live News

Track your constituency
Live News

Udhampur General(Lok Sabha) Election Results 2019

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

The Parliamentary constituency of Udhampur is spread over six districts out of the 22 which make up the state of Jammu and Kashmir. Udhampur is one of the six Lok Sabha seats in J&K. The Udhampur Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 5) consists of 1,363,060 number of electorates in totality, of these 716,625 are males and 646,435 are females as the Election commission of India 2009 data suggests.

Quick facts for Udhampur

Assembly Constituencies 17
Ruling Party BJP
MPDr. Jitendra Singh
Electorals 2014MaleFemaleTotal
No. of Electorals7166256464351363060
Polling stations1989

This constituency has a unique electoral pattern compared with the remaining five Lok Sabha seats in the state. In Udhampur, unlike other constituencies of Jammu and Kashmir, the regional political parties have not managed to win a single general election and only the two pivotal national political parties have been successful. The seat has been a primary stronghold of the Congress, although the BJP won three Lok Sabha sessions during 1996-99. Ch. Lal Singh of the Congress has been a popular leader in this constituency of Udhampur, having won in 2004 and 2009 general elections. This constituency is spread over six districts of Udhampur, Reasi, Doda, Kathua, Ramban and Kishtwar. Seventeen assembly segments make up the Udhampur constituency, out of which Ramban, Chenani and Hira Nagar are reserved for candidates belonging to the Scheduled Caste category. Five assembly segments are spread over the Kathua district and two segments each cover the districts of Doda, Ramban and Kishtwar; also, three segments each are spread over the Reasi and the Udhampur districts.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Udhampur Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Udhampur parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Udhampur constituency is Dr. Jitendra Singh of BJP.

Year PC No. PC Name Category WinnerGenderPartyVoteRunner UpGenderPartyVote
20145UdhampurGENDr. Jitendra SinghMBJP487369Ghulam Nabi Azad MINC426393
20095UdhampurGENCh. Lal Singh MINC231853Dr. Nirmal SinghMBJP218459
20045UdhampurGENCh. Lal SinghMINC240872Prof. Chaman Lal GuptaMBJP193697
19995UdhampurGENProf. Chaman Lal GuptaMBJP194678Jagjiwan LalMJKN76371
19985UdhampurGENProf. Chaman Lal GuptaMBJP250813Rajinder Singh ChibMJKN169449
19965UdhampurGENProf. Chaman Lal GuptaMBJP166206Janak Raj GuptaMINC96151
19895UdhampurGENDharam PaulMINC127161Abdul RehmanMJD96351
1988By PollsUdhampurGENMohd. A. KhanMINC133893B.SinghMJPP131517
19845UdhampurGENGirdhari Lal DograMINC206639Bhim SinghMJPP95149
19805UdhampurGENDr. Karan SinghMINC(U)176757Devi Das ThakurFJKN121328
19775UdhampurGENDr. Karan SinghMINC130272Om Parkash SarafMBLD71316
19715UdhampurGENDr. Karan SinghMINC125890Baldev Singh MBJS53303
19675UdhampurGENG.S. BrigadierMINC134684B. Singh MBJS77806
1967By PollsUdhampurGENDr. K.SinghMINC257329D.DassMIND8064

List of Assembly Constituencies in Udhampur Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Udhampur parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
KishtwarGulab GarhBani
RambanChenaniHira Nagar
BanihalRam Nagar

Last Updated on June 26, 2020
Live at 6 PM | Bihar Exit Poll | Exit Poll

Live at 5PM | Bihar Elections - ओवैसी का बुख़ार महागठबंधन को | Sanjay Dixit