Track your constituency

Live News

Himachal Pradesh Election 2017 Infographic

Himachal Pradesh Election 2017

Located in calm valleys of Himalayas, Himachal Pradesh comprises several mountain towns, temples and monasteries. Its name is derived from the Sanskrit word 'Him', meaning ice and 'Achal', denoting land. Bordered by Punjab and Chandigarh on west, Jammu Kashmir on north, China on the east, Uttarakhand on the south east and Haryana on the south west, the scenic state is one of the most visited northern states of India.

Literacy rate

  • Total population: 6.864 million
  • Female Population: 3.382 million
  • Male Population: 3.481 million
  • Literacy rate: 83.8%
  • Female Literacy:76.6%
  • Male Literacy: 90.8%


The state ranked 15 in per-capita income among all states and union territories of the country for the year 2013-14. The state reports $19 billion GDP for the year 2016-17. A growth rate of 6.8% is estimated.


The state came into existence after independence. On 15 April 1948, it became a centrally administered territory. The state is divided into 12 districts. It is also unified with 3 distinct divisions, namely, Shimla, Kangra and Mandi. It also has 158 Tehsils.

Parliament Constituents

  • Rajya Sabha Members: 3
  • Lok Sabha Members: 4

Himachal Pradesh legislative assembly

  • The state has unicameral legislature.
  • 68 MLA seats constitute the legislative assembly.
  • Last Assembly elections were held in 2012.
  • Indian National Congress hold the most seats in the house, followed by BJP and Himachal Lokhit Party.

Leading Parties of Himachal Pradesh

Current Ruling Party: Congress

Congress has formed the government 10 times in the state, while BJP has been successful in gaining majority in the state 3 times. Janta party formed government only once.

Present Leadership of Himachal Pradesh

  • Governor: Acharya Dev Vrat
  • Speaker: Brij Behari Lal Butail
  • Deputy Speaker: Jagat Singh Negi

List of Chief Ministers of Gujarat

Current Chief Minister: Virbhadra Singh

  • Political party: Indian National congress
  • Tenure: 1983-1990, 1993-1998, 2003-2007, 2009-2012, 25 December 2012- till date


  • Served as CM for 5 times, making him the longest serving CM of the state
  • Involved with various cultural and social bodies

Previous Chief Minister: Prem Kumar Dhumal

  • Political party: BJP
  • Tenure: 1998-2003 and 2007-2012


  • Served as vice-president of Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha in 1982
  • Served as BJP president in Himachal Pradesh

Facts about Himachal Pradesh Elections 2017

  • Polling was held on: Thursday, Nov 09, 2017
  • Himachal Pradesh election result will be declared on 18 December 2017.
  • Entirely Women Managed Polling Station
  • No of Polling Stations:7479
  • Total Number of Assembly seats: 68
  • Reserved seats for STs 3
  • Reserved seats for SCs 17
Last Updated on November 8, 2017