Live News

Track your constituency
Live News

Sabarkantha Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

Situated in the Sabarkantha District in the northern region of the state of Gujarat is the Sabarkantha Parliamentary constituency. This District has the Himatnagar city as its administrative headquarters and municipal corporation. According to Election Commission of India 2009 data the total electorates in the Sabarkantha Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 5) were 1,452,240 of which 715,288 are females and 736,952 are males.

With eight talukas and a relatively large population of 2,427,346 (2011 data), the Sabarkantha District makes the region one of the most politically stable yet active seats in this western Indian state. The economy of the Rajkot Parliamentary constituency thrives on a strong industry, the focus being on ceramics, chemicals and milk-processing, besides an advanced agricultural base. Yet, the district has been announced as one of the most backward regions in Gujarat, being entitled to the Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme (BRGFP). Some of the primary tourist destinations here are Vijay Nagar, the famous Polo Forests and Idar, among others. The Assembly constituencies of Idar, Bhiloda and Khedbrahma, which are part of the nine assembly segments which make up this constituency, are reserved for candidates belonging to the marginalized sections of the society.

Sabarkantha Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Rathod Dipsinh ShankarsinhBharatiya Janata Party6964980548670198457.62Winner
Thakor Rajendrasinh ShivsinhIndian National Congress4288360416143299735.541st Runner-up
Raval Rajubhai PunjabhaiIndependent17154021171751.412nd Runner-up
Pathan Aaiyubkhan AjabkhanIndependent91740391770.753rd Runner-up
Vinodbhai Jethabhai MesariyaBahujan Samaj Party7798011479120.654th Runner-up
Lata Babubhai NathajiIndependent774703077770.645th Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above603107261030.56th Runner-up
Luhar Hafijhusen HajinurmahmadIndependent58290658350.487th Runner-up
Patel Keshavlal GangarambhaiIndependent49240549290.48th Runner-up
Kharadi Dharmendrasingh SamsubhaiBhartiya Tribal Party2687014628330.239th Runner-up
Patel Kiritkumar BabarbhaiIndependent27220527270.2210th Runner-up
Sanghani Mustakbhai JamalbhaiIndependent26590226610.2211th Runner-up
Solanki Maganbhai LakhabhaiIndependent241001224220.212th Runner-up
Patel Jayantibhai ShamjibhaiHindusthan Nirman Dal223101622470.1813th Runner-up
Vikrambhai Bahecharbhai MakwanaGarvi Gujarat Party217001921890.1814th Runner-up
Jadeja Indravijaysinh KalyansinhYuva Jan Jagriti Party189702319200.1615th Runner-up
Zala Dalpatsinh MotisinhIndependent18770718840.1516th Runner-up
Kalabhai Bababhai ParmarIndependent150001015100.1217th Runner-up
Nareshkumar Rameshbhai PatelBharatiya National Janta Dal143701014470.1218th Runner-up
Laxmishankar Madhusudan JoshiJan Satya Path Party132001513350.1119th Runner-up
Mayursinh Vanrajsinh ZalaRashtra Vikas Zumbes Party126802212900.1120th Runner-up

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Sabarkantha Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Sabarkantha parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Sabarkantha constituency is Rathod Dipsinh Shankarsinh of BJP.

Year PC No. PC Name Category WinnerGenderPartyVoteRunner UpGenderPartyVote
20145SabarkanthaGENRathod Dipsinh Shankarsinh M BJP 552205 Shankersinh Vaghela Bapu M INC 467750
20095SabarkanthaGENChauhan,Dr. Mahendrasinh Pruthvisinh MBJP337432Mistry MadhusudanMINC320272
200415SabarkanthaGENMadhusudan MistryMINC316483Bara Ramilaben BahecharbhaiMBJP276555
2001By PollsSabarkanthaGENMistry Madhusudan Devram MINC265209Upendra Trivedi MBJP244400
199915SabarkanthaGENNisha Amarsinh ChaudharyFINC334565Patel Kanubhai RavjibhaiMBJP320189
199815SabarkanthaGENNishaben Amarsinhbhai ChaudhariFINC288752Kanubhai Ravjibhai PatelMBJP278886
199615SabarkanthaGENNisha Amarsinh ChaudharyMINC223754Arvind Trivedi (Lankesh)MBJP183143
199115SabarkanthaGENArvind Trivedi (Lankesh)MBJP168704Maganbhai Manibhai PatelMJD(G)132286
198915SabarkanthaGENMaganbhai Manibhai PatelMJD286947Tarna Arjunsinh GurjarFINC183491
198415SabarkanthaGENH.M.PatelMJNP208477Shantubhai Chunibhai PatelMINC201718
198015SabarkanthaGENPatel Shantubhai CunibhaiMINC(I)202194H.M. PatelMJNP122895
197715SabarkanthaGENH. M. PatelMBLD164502Kumarshri Rajendra Sinhji DaljitsinhjiMINC126440
197114SabarkanthaGENChandulal Chunilal DesaiMNCO137159Gopaldas Benidas PatelMINC122781
196714SabarkanthaGENC.C. DesaiMSWA151011P.K. Japee MINC106212
19629SabarkanthaGENGulzarilal Bulakhidas NandaMINC129468Pashabhai Chhotabhai PatelMSWA104859
19579SabarkanthaGENNanda Gulzarilal BulakhiramMINC88912Barot Amrutlal Motilal MIND81473
19512SabarkanthaGENNanda Gulzarilal BulaqiramMINC106048Maharaj Himmatsinhji Dowlatsinhji MIND83674

List of Assembly Constituenciesin Sabarkantha Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Sabarkantha parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
HimatnagarIdar (SC)Khedbrahma (ST)
Bhiloda (ST)ModasaBayad

Last Updated on July 04, 2020