Track your constituency

Track your constituency

Ministry of Railway

Piyush Goyal is the Railway Minister of India

Ministry of Railway

The charge and the responsibility of the India's rail transport is taken care by the Ministry of Railways of the country.The ministry looks after the state owned Indian Railways which is headed by the Chairman of the railway Board. The Railway Minister prepares and presents the Rail budget every year in the parliament. Piyush Goyal is the newly appointed Railway Minister of India. Suresh Prabhu from BJP was the Railway Minister before Piyush Goyal took charge of the ministry, after the cabinet re-shuffling. Some other ministers who have held similar position include, Lal Bahadur Shastri, Jagjivan Ram, S.K. Patil, Gulzarilal Nanda, Bansi Lal, George Fernandes, Ram Vilas Paswan, Nitish Kumar, Mamta Bannerjee, Lalu Prasad Yadav and Pawan Kumar Bansal.

List of Current And Past Railways Ministers of India

S. NoNameFromToPolitical Party
1Piyush GoyalSept 03, 2017IncumbentBharatiya Janata Party
2Suresh PrabhuNov 10, 2014Sept 03, 2017Bharatiya Janata Party
3D. V. Sadananda GowdaMay 27, 2014Nov 10, 2014Bharatiya Janata Party
4Mallikarjun KhargeJun 17, 2013May 25, 2014Indian National Congress
5C. P. JoshiMay 11, 2013Jun 16, 2013Indian National Congress
6Pawan Kumar BansalOct 28, 2012May 10, 2013Indian National Congress
7C. P. JoshiSep 22, 2012Oct 28, 2012Indian National Congress
8Mukul RoyMar 20, 2012Sep 21, 2012Trinamool Congress
9Dinesh TrivediJul 12, 2011Mar 14, 2012Trinamool Congress
10Mamata BanerjeeMay 26, 2009May 19, 2011Trinamool Congress
11Lalu Prasad YadavMay 23, 2004May 25, 2009Rashtriya Janata Dal
12Nitish KumarMar 20, 2001May 22, 2004Janata Dal (United)
13Mamata BanerjeeOct 13, 1999Mar 15, 2001Trinamool Congress
14Ram NaikAug 6, 1999Oct 12, 1999Bharatiya Janata Party
15Nitish KumarMar 19, 1998Aug 5, 1999Samata Party
16Ram Vilas PaswanJun 1, 1996Mar 19, 1998Janata Dal
17Jaffer ShariefJun 21, 1991Oct 16, 1995Indian National Congress
18Janeshwar MishraNov 21, 1990Jun 21, 1991Samajwadi Janata Party
19George FernandesDec 5, 1989Nov 10, 1990Janata Dal
20Madhavrao ScindiaOct 22, 1986Dec 1, 1989Indian National Congress
21Mohsina KidwaiJun 24, 1986Oct 21, 1986Indian National Congress
22Bansi LalDec 31, 1984Jun 4, 1986Indian National Congress
23A. B. A. Ghani Khan ChoudhurySep 2, 1982Dec 31, 1984Indian National Congress
24Prakash Chandra SethiJan 15, 1982Sep 2, 1982Indian National Congress
25Kedar PandeyNov 12, 1980Jan 14, 1982Indian National Congress
26Kamalapati TripathiJan 14, 1980Nov 12, 1980Indian National Congress
27T. A. PaiJul 30, 1979Jan 13, 1980Janata Party (Secular)
28Madhu DandavateMar 26, 1977Jul 28, 1979Janata Party
29Kamalapati TripathiFeb 11, 1975Mar 23, 1977Indian National Congress
30Lalit Narayan MishraFeb 5, 1973Jan 2, 1975Indian National Congress
31T. A. PaiJul 23, 1972Feb 4, 1973Indian National Congress
32K. HanumanthaiyaMar 18, 1971Jul 22, 1972Indian National Congress
33Gulzarilal NandaFeb 18, 1970Mar 17, 1971Indian National Congress
34Panampilli Govinda MenonNov 4, 1969Feb 18, 1970Indian National Congress
35Ram Subhag SinghFeb 14, 1969Nov 4, 1969Indian National Congress
36C. M. PoonachaMar 13, 1967Feb 14, 1969Indian National Congress
37S. K. PatilJun 9, 1964Mar 12, 1967Indian National Congress
38H. C. DasappaSep 21, 1963Jun 8, 1964Indian National Congress
39Swaran SinghApr 10, 1962Sep 21, 1963Indian National Congress
40Jagjivan RamDec 7, 1956Apr 10, 1962Indian National Congress
41Lal Bahadur ShastriMay 13, 1952Dec 7, 1956Indian National Congress
42N. Gopalaswami AyyangarSep 22, 1948May 13, 1952Indian National Congress
43John MathaiAug 15, 1947Sep 22, 1948Indian National Congress
44Asaf AliSep 2, 1946Aug 14, 1947Indian National Congress

Last Updated on Feb 3, 2020
Live at 7PM | #BiharElections2020 - बिहार में होने वाले चुनावों पर एक दृष्टि |

Live at 3:15PM | Badals & Pawar Against Farmers Bill and Rajya Sabha Ruckus | Sanjay Dixit

Latest Election News and Update

Ram Mandir Ayodhya Ayodhya All Set For Groundbreaking Event

The groundbreaking Ramjanma Bhoomi Pujan ceremony has commenced in Ayodhya. Prime Minister Narendra Modi is going to lay the first brick of the grand Ram Temple of Ayodhya. With the Read More…

Rajasthan Political Updates Rajasthan Updates: Gehlot Accuses the Governor of Acting Under Pressure

Rajasthan High Court has ordered the speaker to maintain the status quo on the disqualification notices sent to Sachin Pilot and rebel camp. The High Court has put off its Read More…

Rajasthan Politics Rajasthan Governor New Target of Ashok Gehlot

After calling Sachin Pilot ‘Nikamma’, Rajasthan CM Ashok Gehlot has now moved his gun towards Governor. In his last press conference, he has accused Governor Kalraj Mishra of delaying the Read More…