Track your constituency

Ministry of Home Affairs

Amit Shah is the Current Home Minister of India

The Home Minister is the head of the Ministry of Home Affairs of the Government of India.The primary responsibility of the Home Minister is the maintenance of India's internal security and domestic policy. He is assisted by two Ministers of State and civil servants assigned to them. The Minister in turn is supported by a number of civilians, scientific and professional advisors. The Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) is constituted of various departments like Department of Border Management, dealing with management of borders, including coastal borders, Department of Internal Security dealing with police, law and order and rehabilitation.

Presently, the Union Cabinet Minister of Home Affairs is Amit Shah. India's first Home Minister was Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel and some other important people who held the position includes Lal Bahadur Shastri, Indira Gandhi, Charan Singh, Morarji Desai, R. Venkataraman, P. V. Narasimha Rao, Murli Manohar Joshi, L. K. Advani and P. Chidambaram, Rajnath Singh. Previosuly, the position was held by Rajnath Singh.

List of Home Ministers of India

S. NoNameFromToPolitical Party
1Amit Shah30 May 2019IncumbentBharatiya Janata Party
1Rajnath Singh27 May 201429 May 2019Bharatiya Janata Party
2Sushilkumar Shinde31 July 201226 May 2014Indian National Congress
3P. Chidambaram30 November 200831 July 2012Indian National Congress
4Shivraj Patil22 May 200430 November 2008Indian National Congress
5L. K. Advani19 March 1998 22 May 2004Bharatiya Janata Party
6Indrajit Gupta01 June 199619 March 1998Communist Party of India
7Murli Manohar Joshi16 May 199601 June 1996Bharatiya Janata Party
8Shankarrao Chavan21 June 199116 May 1996Indian National Congress
9Chandra Shekhar10 November 199021 June 1991Samajwadi Janata Party
10Mufti Mohammad Sayeed1989 10 November 1990Janata Dal
11Sardar Buta Singh12 May 198602 December 1989Indian National Congress
12P. V. Narasimha Rao12 March 198612 May 1986Indian National Congress
13Shankarrao Chavan 31 December 198412 March 1986Indian National Congress
14P. V. Narasimha Rao19 July 198431 December 1984Indian National Congress
15Prakash Chandra Sethi02 September 198219 July 1984Indian National Congress
16R. Venkataraman22 June 198202 September 1982Indian National Congress
17Giani Zail Singh14 January 198022 June 1982Indian National Congress
18Yashwantrao Chavan01 July 197828 July 1979Janata Party (Secular)
19Morarji Desai01 July 197828 July 1979Janata Party
20Charan Singh24 March 197701 July 1978Janata Party
21Kasu Brahmananda Reddy197424 March 1977Indian National Congress
22Uma Shankar Dikshit04 February 19731974Indian National Congress
23Indira Gandhi27 June 197004 February 1973Indian National Congress
24Yashwantrao Chavan14 November 196627 June 1970Indian National Congress
25Gulzarilal Nanda 29 August 196314 November 1966Indian National Congress
26Lal Bahadur Shastri04 April 196129 August 1963Indian National Congress
27Govind Ballabh Pant19551961Indian National Congress
28Kailash Nath Katju19511955Indian National Congress
29C. Rajagopalachari 26 December 195025 October 1951Indian National Congress
30Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel02 September 194615 December 1950Indian National Congress

Last Updated on Sep 29, 2021
Live at 6 PM | Bihar Exit Poll | Exit Poll

Live at 5PM | Bihar Elections - ओवैसी का बुख़ार महागठबंधन को | Sanjay Dixit