Track your constituency
Live News

Ministry of Defence

Rajnath Singh is the current Defence Minister of india

The Ministry of Defence is associated with co-ordinating and managing all agencies and functions of the government relating directly to national security and the Indian armed forces and has the largest budget of the federal departments of India. It is headed by the Defence Minister who is supported by a Minister of State for Defence and the lower-ranked Deputy Minister of Defence. Baldev Singh was the first Defence Minister of India. The position has been previously held by people like Nirmala Sitharaman, Pranab Mukherjee, George Fernandes, Jaswant Singh, Mulayam Singh Yadav and Sharad Pawar. Rajnath Singh is at present handling charge of the Defence Ministry.

Ministry of Defence

List of Defence Ministers of India

S. NoNameFromToPolitical Party
1Rajnath Singh30-May-19IncumbentBharatiya Janata Party
2Nirmala Sitharaman4-Sep-1730-May-19Bharatiya Janata Party
3Arun Jaitley13-Mar-174-Sep-17Bharatiya Janata Party
4Manohar Parrikar9-Nov-1413-Mar-17Bharatiya Janata Party
5Arun Jaitley27-May-148-Nov-14Bharatiya Janata Party
6A.K. Antony24-Oct-0626-May-14Indian National Congress
7Pranab Mukherjee23-May-0424-Oct-06Indian National Congress
8George Fernandes15-Oct-0122-May-04Samata Party
9Jaswant Singh16-Mar-0114-Oct-01Bharatiya Janata Party
10George Fernandes19-Mar-9815-Mar-01Samata Party
11Mulayam Singh Yadav1-Jun-9619-Mar-98Samajwadi Party
12Pramod Mahajan17-May-9631-May-96Bharatiya Janata Party
13P. V. Narasimha Rao5-Mar-9316-May-96Indian National Congress
14Sharad Pawar26-Jun-915-Mar-93Indian National Congress
15P. V. Narasimha Rao21-Jun-9125-Jun-91Samajwadi Janata Party
16Chandra Shekhar21-Nov-9020-Jun-91Samajwadi Janata Party
17V. P. Singh6-Dec-8910-Nov-90Janata Dal
18K. C. Pant18-Apr-873-Dec-89Indian National Congress
19V. P. Singh15-Jan-8712-Apr-87Indian National Congress
20Rajiv Gandhi25-Sep-8524-Jan-87Indian National Congress
21P. V. Narasimha Rao1-Jan-8524-Sep-85Indian National Congress
22Shankarrao Chavan1-Aug-8431-Dec-84Indian National Congress
23R. Venkataraman15-Jan-821-Aug-84Indian National Congress
24Indira Gandhi14-Jan-8015-Jan-82Indian National Congress
25Chidambaram Subramaniam30-Jul-7014-Jan-80Janata Party
26Jagjivan Ram28-Mar-7727-Jul-79Janata Party
27Bansi Lal21-Dec-7524-Mar-77Indian National Congress
28Indira GandhiDec 01,197521-Dec-75Indian National Congress
29Sardar Swaran Singh10-Oct-741-Dec-75Indian National Congress
30Jagjivan Ram27-Jun-7010-Oct-74Indian National Congress
31Sardar Swaran Singh13-Nov-6627-Jun-70Indian National Congress
32Yashwantrao Chavan21-Nov-6213-Nov-66Indian National Congress
33Pandit Jawahar Lal Nehru1-Nov-6221-Nov-62Indian National Congress
34V. K. Krishna Menon17-Apr-571-Nov-62Indian National Congress
35Pandit Jawahar Lal Nehru30-Jan-5717-Apr-57Indian National Congress
36Kailash Nath Katjoo10-Jan-5530-Jan-57Indian National Congress
37Pandit Jawahar Lal Nehru27-Jan-5310-Jan-55Indian National Congress
38N. Gopal Swamy Ayangar13-May-5210-Feb-53Indian National Congress
39Baldev Singh15-Aug-4715-May-52Indian National Congress

Last Updated on Jan 17, 2023
Live at 6 PM | Bihar Exit Poll | Exit Poll

Live at 5PM | Bihar Elections - ओवैसी का बुख़ार महागठबंधन को | Sanjay Dixit

Managed By 5 Dots Partners | © 2023