Track your constituency

Track your constituency

Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology

Ravi Shankar Prasad is the current minister of Electronics and Information Technology

The Ministry of Communications and Information Technology is an apex body of the government of India. The ministry comprises of three different departments – Department of Communications, Department of Electronics and Information Technology and Department of Posts. The Department of Telecommunication concerns with policy making and formulation of different forms of communication such as telephones, telegraphs, data, wireless etc. The Department of Posts looks after the policy formulation and administration of the postal department. The Department of Electronics and Information Technology concerns with policy matters related to information technology, Electronics and Internet. Ravi Shankar Prasad is the present Minister of Communications and Information Technology who heads the ministry. Kapil Sibal from INC held the position before Ravi Shankar Prasad.

Other Minister of Electronics and Information Technology Ministry
Alphons Kannanthanam (Minister of State Electronics & Information Technology, Independent Charge)

List of former Ministers of Electronics and Information Technology

S. NoNameFromToPolitical Party
1Ravi Shankar Prasad May 26, 2014IncumbentBharatiya Janata Party
2Kapil SibalJan 19, 2011May 26, 2014Indian National Congress
3Dr. Manmohan SinghNov 15, 2010Nov 15, 2010Indian National Congress
4A. RajaMay 16, 2007Nov 14, 2010Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam
5Dayanidhi MaranMay 23, 2004May 15, 2007Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam
6Arun ShourieJan 29, 2003May 22, 2004Bharatiya Janata Party
7Pramod MahajanSep 2, 2001Jan 28, 2003Bharatiya Janata Party
8Ram Bilas PaswanOct 13, 1999Sep 1, 2001Lok Janshakti Part
9Atal Bihari VajpayeeJun 8, 1999Oct 13, 1999Bharatiya Janata Party
10JagmohanDec 6, 1998Jun 8, 1999Bharatiya Janata Party
11Atal Bihari VajpayeeOct 11, 1998Dec 6, 1998Bharatiya Janata Party
12Sushma SwarajApr 20, 1998Oct 11, 1998Bharatiya Janata Party
13Atal Bihari VajpayeeApr 19, 1998Apr 20, 1998Bharatiya Janata Party
14Buta SinghMar 21, 1998Apr 19, 1998Indian National Congress
15Atal Bihari VajpayeeMar 19, 1998Mar 21, 1998Bharatiya Janata Party
16Beni Prasad Verma Jun 1, 1996Jul 10, 1996Samajwadi Party
17Beni Prasad Verma Jul 10, 1996Mar 19, 1998Samajwadi Party
18Atal Bihari VajpayeeMay 16, 1996Jun 1, 1996Bharatiya Janata Party
19Sukh Ram (Independent Charge) Jan 17, 1993May 16, 1996Indian National Congress
20Rajesh Pilot (Independent Charge) Jun 21, 1991Jan 17, 1993Indian National Congress
21Dr. Sanjay Singh (Independent Charge) Nov 22, 1990Jun 21, 1991Indian National Congress
22ChanderasekharNov 10, 1990Nov 21, 1990Samajwadi Janata Party
23V.P. SinghNov 6, 1990Nov 10, 1990Janata Dal
24Janeshwar Mishra (Independent Charge)Apr 30, 1990Nov 5, 1990Samajwadi Party
25K.P. UnikrishananDec 6, 1989Apr 23, 1990Indian National Congress
26V. P. SinghDec 2, 1989Dec 6, 1989Janata Dal
27G. Giridhar Gamang (Independent Charge) Jul 4, 1989Dec 2, 1989Indian National Congress
28Bir Bahadur SinghJun 25, 1988May 30, 1989Indian National Congress
29Vasant SatheFeb 14, 1988Jun 25, 1988Indian National Congress
30Arjun SinghOct 22, 1986Feb 14, 1988Indian National Congress
31Ram Niwas Mirdha (Independent Charge) Dec 31, 1984Oct 22, 1986Indian National Congress
32V.N. GadgilNov 4, 1984Dec 31, 1984Indian National Congress
33Rajiv GandhiOct 31, 1984Nov 4, 1984Indian National Congress
34Indira GandhiFeb 14, 1983Oct 31, 1984Indian National Congress
35Anant Prasad SharmaSep 2, 1982Feb 14, 1983Indian National Congress
36C.M. StephenMar 3, 1980Sep 2, 1982Indian National Congress
37Bhisma Narain SinghJan 16, 1980Mar 3, 1980Indian National Congress
38Indira GandhiJan 15, 1980Jan 16, 1980Indian National Congress
39Shyama Nandan MishraDec 7, 1979Jan 14, 1980Janata Party (Secular)
40Charan SinghNov 27, 1979Dec 7, 1979Lok Dal
41Zulfiquarullah (Independent Charge)Jul 30, 1979Nov 27, 1979Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist)
42Charan SinghJul 28, 1979Jul 30, 1979Lok Dal
43Brij Lal VermaJul 6, 1977Jul 28, 1979Janata Party
44Jeorge FernandesMar 28, 1977Jul 6, 1977Samata Party
45Prakash Singh BadalMar 26, 1977Mar 27, 1977Shiromani Akali Dal
46Moraraji DesaiMar 24, 1977Mar 26, 1977Janata Party
47Dr. Shankar Dayal SharmaOct 10, 1974Mar 24, 1977Indian National Congress
48Brahmananda ReddyJan 11, 1974Oct 10, 1974Indian National Congress
49Raj BahadurNov 8, 1973Jan 11, 1974Swatantra Party
50H.N. BahugunaMay 2, 1971Nov 8, 1973Indian National Congress
51Sher SinghMar 18, 1971May 2, 1971Indian National Congress 
52Indira GandhiMar 9, 1971Mar 17, 1971Indian National Congress
53Satyanarayan SinhaFeb 14, 1969Mar 8, 1971Indian National Congress
54Dr. Ramsubhag SinghMar 13, 1967Feb 14, 1969Indian National Congress
55Satyanarayan SinhaJun 13, 1964Mar 12, 1967Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist)
56Ashok K. SenSep 1, 1963Jun 13, 1964Indian National Congress
57Jagjivan RamApr 10, 1962Aug 31, 1963Indian National Congress
58Dr. P. SubarajanSep 2, 1959Apr 9, 1962Justice Party
59Jawahar Lal NehruAug 25, 1959Sep 2, 1959Indian National Congress
60S.K. PatilMar 29, 1958Aug 24, 1959Indian National Congress
61Lal Bahadur ShastriApr 17, 1957Mar 28, 1958Indian National Congress
62Raj BhadurDec 7, 1956Apr 17, 1957Swatantra Party
63Jagjivan RamMay 13, 1952Dec 7, 1956Indian National Congress
64Raj Kumari Amrit KaurAug 2, 1951May 13, 1952Indian National Congress
65Rafi Ahmed KidwaiAug 15, 1947Aug 2, 1951Indian National Congress

Contact details
Shri Ravi Shankar Prasad
e-mail: mljoffice[at]gov[dot]in

Last Updated on Jan 30, 2020
Live at 7PM | #BiharElections2020 - बिहार में होने वाले चुनावों पर एक दृष्टि |

Live at 3:15PM | Badals & Pawar Against Farmers Bill and Rajya Sabha Ruckus | Sanjay Dixit

Latest Election News and Update

Ram Mandir Ayodhya Ayodhya All Set For Groundbreaking Event

The groundbreaking Ramjanma Bhoomi Pujan ceremony has commenced in Ayodhya. Prime Minister Narendra Modi is going to lay the first brick of the grand Ram Temple of Ayodhya. With the Read More…

Rajasthan Political Updates Rajasthan Updates: Gehlot Accuses the Governor of Acting Under Pressure

Rajasthan High Court has ordered the speaker to maintain the status quo on the disqualification notices sent to Sachin Pilot and rebel camp. The High Court has put off its Read More…

Rajasthan Politics Rajasthan Governor New Target of Ashok Gehlot

After calling Sachin Pilot ‘Nikamma’, Rajasthan CM Ashok Gehlot has now moved his gun towards Governor. In his last press conference, he has accused Governor Kalraj Mishra of delaying the Read More…