Track your constituency
Live News

Election Commission of Mizoram

About Election Commission of Mizoram

Mizoram is among the seven northeastern states of India that lie far-flung from the Indian mainland. It was carved out of the state of Assam on February 20, 1987 when the residents of the Mizo hills demanded unique statehood for themselves, owing to their endemic ethnicity in the region. Mizoram became the 23rdstate of the Indian Union.

The newly formed state was a comparatively smaller one, having a population of just about a million. Therefore, its legislative assembly could manage only the minimum number of seats (sixty) required for a state to constitute a legislative assembly.

History and formation

The State Election Commission of Mizoram was formed in the year 1992 as an autonomous body under the helm of the state government of Mizoram. With this, the local, urban and rural electoral procedures were handed over to it by the Election Commission of India (ECI). The ideology behind the formation of the State Election Commission was to ensure that elections in the state are conducted on unbiased lines, with absolute fairness and transparency in every procedure and action involved in the electoral framework.

Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) of Mizoram

The present Chief Electoral Officer of Mizoram is Ashwini Kumar. He has been in the Indian Administrative Services since 1992. Kumar has a B.E. degree in Electrical Engineering from IIT Roorkee, as well as a Masters degree in International Development and Economics from Stanford University.

Officers appointed by the State Election Commission of Mizoram

The State Election Commission of Mizoram has appointed various officers to carry out its electoral duties and activities in the state. The names of the different officers are as follows:
  • Chief Electoral Officer: Ashwini Kumar
  • Joint Chief Electoral Officer: H. Lalengmawia
  • Deputy Chief Electoral Officer, Mamit: V. Remthanga
  • Deputy Chief Electoral Officer, Kolasib: Niharika Rai
  • Deputy Chief Electoral Officer, Aizawl: Franklin Laltinkhuma
  • Deputy Chief Electoral Officer, Champhai: Lalthangpuia
  • Deputy Chief Electoral Officer, Serchhip: Juhi Mukherjee
  • Deputy Chief Electoral Officer, Lunglei: V. Sapchhunga
  • Deputy Chief Electoral Officer, Lawngtlai: B. Lalhmingthanga
  • Deputy Chief Electoral Officer, Saiha: Alok Swarup

Election Schedule and Budget

The Election Commission of India (ECI) has announced that Mizoram will go into polls on December 4, 2013 and the entire polling will be carried out in a single phase. The counting of the ballots will be held on December 8. The process to allocate officers and educate volunteers has already been initiated. As directed by the ECI, political parties must limit campaign expenditure to Rs. 8 lakh per candidate.

Contact information and Address

The Chief Electoral Officer
Government of Mizoram
Furkhawtahiang, Chaltlang
Aizawl - 796012
Phone: 0389-2322558
Fax: 0389-2325131
Email: [email protected]

Last Updated on April 11, 2020