Track your constituency
Live News

Election Commission of Meghalaya

Meghalaya Election Commission

Situated in the north-eastern part of India, Meghalaya is the 23rd most populous state, with a population of 2,964,004 (2011 census). The state is categorized among the smaller ones in India, owing to its small size as well as population, and is predominantly inhabited by tribal and immigrant Bengali populations. Like any other state in India, the government in Meghalaya is elected democratically by the people of the state.

When the Parliament of India passed the North Eastern Areas (Reorganization) Act in 1972, it granted the creation of Meghalaya from Assam. On January 21, 1972, Meghalaya succeeded in achieving full statehood with a Legislative Assembly of its own, consisting of 60 members.

History and Formation

Meghalaya was given the status of a semi-autonomous state in 1970 before the passing of the North Eastern Areas (Reorganization) Act 1972, before which Meghalaya had semi-independent status due to a treaty relationship with the British Crown. The State Election Commission of Meghalaya was formed separately for the state when the constitution of India was amended to include respective state election commissions in each state of the Union. The amendment made provisions for the states to have an independent federal body under the helm of the state government that would assist the ECI to look after the electoral processes and affairs of the local urban and rural elections in the state.

Chief Electoral Commissioner (CEO) of Meghalaya

The current CEO of State Election Commission of Meghalaya is Shri F. R. Kharkongor, IAS, who holds the prestigious chair because of his experience and maturity in the administrative arena.

Officers Appointed By Election Commission of Meghalaya

The State Election Commission consists of many officers, who are entrusted to conduct the election peacefully and fairly. These are as follows:
  • Chief Electoral Officer : F. R. Kharkongor, IAS
  • Addl. Chief Electoral Officer : T. Lyngwa, MCS
  • Joint Chief Electoral Officer : Shri D.D. Sangma, MCS
  • Under Secretary Government & Elections Department : T. Pyngrope

  • Last Updated on April 11, 2020