Track your constituency

Live News

Election Commission of Arunachal Pradesh

About Election Commission of Arunachal Pradesh

Arunachal Pradesh is quite sparsely populated in comparison with the other states in the Indian Union. It came into existence in 1987, forty years after the Independence, and was carved out of the adjoining state of Assam for the sake of better administration. The population of the state is so sparse that despite covering modestly large geographical area, it sends only 60 members to the state assembly.

This peace-loving state has been blessed with unambiguous and harmonious elections on a regular basis. The uncomplicated approach to elections makes this state a role model for other states in India.

For long the mostly rural population of Arunachal Pradesh has had deep interconnected roots with the Panchayati system, which exists as a full-fledged three-tier setup in the state. The state was much later gifted with an election commission of its own, although only in the year 2001. The election commission is as an autonomous body that works under the government but wields enough democratic power to administer, supervise and conduct elections on its own in local urban and rural elections in the state.

History and formation

Arunachal Pradesh does not have much of a history, except its relations with Assam and the administration by the Assam rulers. It secured its own identity after a few areas tribal areas in 1914 separated themselves from the then Darang and Lakhimpur districts in Assam and formed the North-East Frontier Tract (NEFT). The state diligently followed the lines of democracy, and later under the 73rd Amendment and Article 243K of the Constitution, Arunachal Pradesh was granted its first state election commission on April 30, 2001. Its first election commissioner was Shri J. M. Tangu, IAS (Ret.). The state election commission was now responsible for conducting and supervising all local urban and rural elections in the state.

Chief Electoral Officer of Arunachal Pradesh

The current chief electoral officer of Arunachal Pradesh is Chandra Bhushan Kumar, who is a meritorious IAS officer with years of experience serving the nation's administrative sphere.

Officers of the Arunachal Pradesh Election Commission

The state election commission of Arunachal Pradesh has appointed the following officers to carry out its responsibilities pertaining to elections:
  • Chief Electoral Officer: Chandra Bhushan Kumar
  • Joint Chief Electoral Officer: Genom Tekseng
  • Deputy Chief Electoral Officer: D. J. Bhattacharjee
  • District Election Officer, Tawang: Abhishek Dev
  • District Election Officer, West Kameng: A. K. Singh
  • District Election Officer, East Kameng: Tarin Dakpe
  • District Election Officer, Papumpare: Pige Ligu
  • District Election Officer, Lower Subansiri: Marnya Ete
  • District Election Officer, Upper Subansiri: Tahang Taggu
  • District Election Officer, West Siang: M. K. Sahoo
  • District Election Officer, Mechukha: G. Poyom
  • District Election Officer, East Siang: Nidhi Srivastava
  • District Election Officer, Upper Siang: Liyon Borang
  • District Election Officer, Dibang Valley: Tamune Miso
  • District Election Officer, Lower Dibang Valley: Shiv Kumar
  • District Election Officer, Lohit: Rajeev Takuk
  • District Election Officer, Changlang: Chanchal Yadav
  • District Election Officer, Tirap: Kamlesh Joshi
  • District Election Officer, Anjaw: Duly Kamduk
  • District Election Officer, Kurung: Kumey G. Ete

Budget and Schedule of Elections

The current state government in power ends its tenure in 2014, when it completes its democratically elected term of five years. The state assembly elections were last conducted in 2009, when Arunachal Pradesh went to the polls, along with states like Maharashtra and Haryana. This time too it won't be an exception as 2014 will witness many states going into polls together.

The dates and budgetary allotments for the upcoming elections have yet not been announced owing to the mega event that is coming up in December 2013 when as many as five Indian states go into polls together before the vital Lok Sabha elections in 2014. The notification may come up anytime soon in the coming year once the election commission has sorted all associated issues pertaining to elections.

Address and contact details

Office of The Chief Electoral Officer
Nirvachan Sadan, Itanagar - 791111
Arunachal Pradesh
Phone: 0360-2212437
Fax: 0360-2212511
Email: [email protected]

Last Updated on August 11, 2014