Live News
Track your constituency

Track your constituency
Live News

Andhra Pradesh Election Commission

About Election Commission of Andhra Pradesh

State Election Commission (SEC) of Andhra Pradesh is an autonomous, congenital and statutory body of Andhra Pradesh, India looking after the state election process. It was established under Articles 243-K and 243-ZA of the Constitution of India. Under these Articles, the administration, direction, and management of the groundwork for electoral rolls of the panchayats and municipal bodies in the state is to be done by the state election commission. The commission will be headed by a state election commissioner appointed by the governor. Following the same rules, the foundation stone of the Election Commission of Andhra Pradesh was laid in the month of June 1994 to ensure free and fair electoral exercise in the state.

Electoral Infomartion

The inaugural of local body elections for municipalities and panchayats took place in March 1995. The second and third elections were held in 2000-2001 and 2005-2006, respectively. The 2019 Andhra Pradesh State Assembly elections took place on April 11, 2019, along with the Lok Sabha elections. There are 175 state assembly constituencies and 25 parliamentary constituencies. Andhra Pradesh has close to 4 Crore eligible voters

Chief Electoral Commissioner, Andhra Pradesh

Justice V. Kanagaraj is the current chief electoral office of Andhra Pradesh

Officers Appointed by Election Commission of Andhra Pradesh

The officers bestowed with powers and assigned duties to work for the electoral process in the state of Andhra Pradesh are as follows:
1) ustice V. Kanagaraj, Chief Electoral Officer
2) V. Venkateshwara Rao, Officer on special duty
3) A. Venkateshwara Rao, Asst. CEO and Asst. Secretary to the Government

Election Schedule and Budget

The next election in Andhra Pradesh will be held in the year 2024. The last election was in the year 2019. It was a simultaneous election on 11 April 2019 for Vidhan Sabha and Lok Sabha. The same pattern was followed in Arunachal Pradesh, Odisha, and Sikkim. This was the first election in the Andhra Pradesh after the bifurcation of state into Andhra and Telangana.

The concurrent voting for State Election and Lok Sabha election in Andhra Pradesh has been followed for 20 years.

Last Updated on April 11, 2020
Live at 6 PM | Bihar Exit Poll | Exit Poll

Live at 5PM | Bihar Elections - ओवैसी का बुख़ार महागठबंधन को | Sanjay Dixit

Latest Election News and Update

Jharkhand Lockdown Extended till June 10

The Hemant Soren-led government in Jharkhand extended the lockdown restrictions till June 10 though there will be some relaxations in curbs.    The state has been in lockdown since April 22. The first set of lockdown regulations were imposed for a week since then it is the fourth time that the lockdown regulations are extended. […]

Google Doodle Commemorates American Gay Rights Activist Frank Kameny

Google Doodle commemorates prominent American astrologer and gay rights activist Frank Kameny. Frank Kameny was personally invested in the cause of the gay rights movement because of the prejudice he faced in his life.    Growing up during the great depression in the 1930s Frank Kameny realized he wanted to become an astrologer. He graduated […]

Joe Biden Tells Intelligence Community To Report On The Emergence Of Covid 19 Within 90 Days

The President of the United States of America Joe Biden called the US intelligence community to report on the origin of coronavirus. There are various theories circulating about the possible origin of Covid 19. Joe Biden asked the US intelligence to revert back with ‘sufficient information’ on the event within 90 days. The United States […]