Track your constituency

Track your constituency

Achal Kumar Jyoti Biography

Achal Kumar Jyoti Biography

Achal Kumar Jyoti Biography

Succeeded byOm Prakash Rawat
Preceded bySyed Nasim Ahmad Zaidi
Education QualificationBSc and MSc in Chemistry
OccupationChief Election Commissioner of India
ResidenceNew Delhi
ReligionNot Known
About Achal Kumar Jyoti

About Achal Kumar Jyoti

Achal Kumar Jyoti is the former Chief Election Commissioner of India. He served as the Chief Election Commissioner of India from July 6, 2017 to Jan 23, 2018. He is also a retired IAS officer from Gujarat cadre. Before gaining the title of the Chief Election Commissioner of India, he has also served as an Election Commissioners in ECI (Election Commission of India).

Personal Background

Achal Kumar Jyoti was born on 23 January 1953 in Punjab. He is a BSc graduate and has an MSc degree in Chemistry.

Professional Career

Before becoming the Chief Election Commissioner of India, he has served some very prominent positions in union government and Gujarat. He was appointed as the Chief Secretary of Gujarat (2010-13), Principal Secretary (Finance), Secretary (Industries), Managing Director of Sardar Sarovar Narmada Nigam, Additional Chief Secretary (General Administration), District Magistrate and Collector of Kheda, Panchmahals, Surendranagar districts in Gujarat, Secretary (Water Supplies) and Secretary (Revenue).

On 8 May 2015, he joined the Election Commission with the post of Election Commissioner. He had been part of top officials who oversaw polls in Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Tamil Nadu, West Bengal and more.

On July 6, 2017, he was appointed as the 21st Chief Election Commissioner of India.

Last Updated on April 11, 2020
Live at 6 PM | Bihar Exit Poll | Exit Poll

Live at 5PM | Bihar Elections - ओवैसी का बुख़ार महागठबंधन को | Sanjay Dixit

Latest Election News and Update Bihar Exit Poll NDA Wins Bihar Election: Accurately Predicted by – Chintamani Exit Poll

The – Chintamani Exit poll for Bihar Election 2020 couldn’t have been more accurate to predict the win of NDA. When all the other exit polls had projected a Read More…

Bihar Election Result LIVE Update Bihar Election Results LIVE Updates

9:37:41 PM Mayawati’s BSP has secured 1 seat in Bihar Elections. While AIMIM had won 3 seats and is leading on 2. In the case of Left parties, CPI and Read More…

Bihar Exit Poll Unpredictability The Unpredictability of Exit Polls in Bihar Election

The Bihar Election 2020 Exit Polls have failed to give a uniform prediction about the winner. This means that the actual Bihar Election Result 2020 can swing in any direction. Read More…