Track your constituency
Live News

West Delhi Parliamentary Constituency Election Results 2019

Coming into existence in the year 2008, following the Delimitation of Parliamentary and Assembly Constituencies Order, the West Delhi Lok Sabha constituency is one of the seven parliamentary seats which belong to the National Capital Territory of Delhi. The West Delhi Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 6) has a total of 1,687,727 electorates out of which 767,521 are females and 920,206 are males according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports. Thus, it is a fairly new constituency, which is politically prominent in Delhi.Before 2008, it was partially included in the Outer Delhi parliamentary constituency, and partially in South Delhi constituency. Today, this region stands separated and is one of the most affluent and densely populated regions in Delhi, housing a population of 25,43,243 people and estimating a population density of 19,563 inhabitants per square kilometer. This constituency fought its first elections in 2009, being captured by the Congress. This region has been a Congress stronghold from the very beginning, even when the constituency was part of the erstwhile Outer Delhi seat. West Delhi parliamentary constituency covers vast residential and commercial regions of Delhi such as Janakpuri, Tilak Nagar, Punjabi Bagh and Patel Nagar, among others. A total of 10 assembly segments make up the West Delhi Parliamentary constituency as we know it today.

West Delhi Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Parvesh Sahib Singh VermaBharatiya Janata Party8620580359086564860.05Winner
Mahabal MishraIndian National Congress286745041728716219.921st Runner-up
Balbir Singh JakharAam Aadmi Party251504036925187317.472nd Runner-up
Sita Saran SenBahujan Samaj Party13202067132690.923rd Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above888305489370.624th Runner-up
Iqbal Singh (Sonu)Independent21810521860.155th Runner-up
Pravesh SharmaIndependent17550217570.126th Runner-up
Navin Chandra DasIndependent17060017060.127th Runner-up
Balbir SinghIndependent10240010240.078th Runner-up
Poonam UjjainwalPeoples Party Of India (Democratic)928079350.069th Runner-up
Vikash Kumar MohalAapki Apni Party (Peoples)894018950.0610th Runner-up
Shashi JeetNational Youth Party718017190.0511th Runner-up
M. MishraIndependent652006520.0512th Runner-up
Harsh Vardhan ShuklaIndependent582005820.0413th Runner-up
Dharambir SinghRashtriya Janshakti Party (Secular)551005510.0414th Runner-up
Kulwinder Singh MehtaPyramid Party Of India542005420.0415th Runner-up
Shish Pal SinghPrism538005380.0416th Runner-up
Baidyanath SahProutist Bloc, India467004670.0317th Runner-up
Manmohan SinghRashtra Nirman Party444004440.0318th Runner-up
Daya Nand VatsRepublican Party Of India (A)379003790.0319th Runner-up
Rajiv KumarIndependent365003650.0320th Runner-up
Janak Raj RanaAkhand Rashtrawadi Party329003290.0221th Runner-up
Probir DuttaSatya Bahumat Party328013290.0222th Runner-up
Ramesh Chand VermaIndependent312003120.0223th Runner-up

List of winner/current and runner up MPs West Delhi Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of West Delhi parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the West Delhi constituency is Parvesh Sahib Singh Verma of BJP.

Year PC No. PC Name Category WinnerGenderPartyVoteRunner UpGenderPartyVote
20146West DelhiGENParvesh Sahib Singh VermaMBJP651395Jarnail SinghMAAP382809
20096West DelhiGENMishra,Shri Mahabal MINC479899Prof. Jagdish MukhiMBJP302971

List of Assembly Constituencies in West Delhi Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in West Delhi parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Madipur Janakpuri Dwarka
Rajouri Garden Vikaspuri Matiala
Hari Nagar Uttam Nagar Najafgarh
Tilak Nagar  

Last Updated on June 25, 2020