Live News

Track your constituency
Live News

Sitamarhi Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

Sitamarhi Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Sunil Kumar PintuJanata Dal (United)5655330221256774554.65Winner
Arjun RayRashtriya Janata Dal3152300197631720630.531st Runner-up
Dharmendra KumarIndependent2048502204871.972nd Runner-up
Vinod SahIndependent1772400177241.713rd Runner-up
Mahesh Nandan SinghIndependent1727000172701.664th Runner-up
Ramesh Kumar MishraIndependent1105402110561.065th Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above10278040103180.996th Runner-up
Amit Chaudhary Urf Madhav ChaudharyIndependent974908898370.957th Runner-up
Raghunath KumarAam Aadmi Party894706290090.878th Runner-up
Thakur Chandan Kumar SinghIndependent72850272870.79th Runner-up
Jasem AhamadBahujan Samaj Party706205071120.6810th Runner-up
Nand Kishore GuptaIndependent65870165880.6311th Runner-up
Braj KishorAll India Forward Bloc63050263070.6112th Runner-up
Raj Kishore PrasadProutist Bloc, India59630259650.5713th Runner-up
Lalbabu PaswanIndependent51890351920.514th Runner-up
Surendra KumarBajjikanchal Vikas Party42330742400.4115th Runner-up
Shashi Kumar SinghIndependent40030340060.3916th Runner-up
Dr. Junaid KhanIndependent32980032980.3217th Runner-up
Mohan SahKisan Party Of India304601830640.2918th Runner-up
Chandrika PrasadIndependent26620126630.2619th Runner-up
Ravindra Kumar Chandra Urf Dr. Raja BabuBhartiya Mitra Party246401124750.2420th Runner-up

The Sitamarhi Lok Sabha constituency is one of the 40 Lok Sabha seats which represent the concerns of the state of Bihar in the Lower House of Parliament of the Lok Sabha. This constituency of Sitamarhi is located within the geographic boundaries of the Sitamarhi District.The Sitamarhi Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 5) has a total of 1,355,817 electorates out of which 636,956 are females and 718,861 are males according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports.

Located along the borders with the neighbouring country of Nepal, the Sitamarhi district has the town of Sitamarhi as its administrative headquarters. This district is part of the Tirhut Division and has a total population of 3,419,622, as per the 2011 Census of India. It is part of the Red Corridor presently, as frequent raids by the Naxalites and Maoists are made in this constituency. These Red rebels, along with other criminals who are in plenty in this region, have negatively affected the economic growth and progress in the Sitamarhi constituency, making this constituency one of the 250 economically deprived districts of the country. Six assembly segments are a part of the Lok Sabha constituency of Sitamarhi, out of which Bathnaha is reserved for candidates belonging to the Scheduled Castes. Nawal Kishore Rai has remained a popular leader of this constituency, being elected as Member of Parliament for a number of times.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Sitamarhi Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Sitamarhi parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Sitamarhi constituency is Ram Kumar Sharma of RJD.

Year PC No. PC Name Category WinnerGenderPartyVoteRunner UpGenderPartyVote
20145SitamarhiGenRam Kumar SharmaMRJD411265Sitaram YadavMRJD263300
20095SitamarhiGENRoy,Dr. Arjun MJD(U)232782Samir Kumar MahasethMINC122216
200411SitamarhiGENSitaram YadavMRJD326165Naval Kishore RaiMJD(U)228160
199911SitamarhiGENNawal Kishore RaiMJD(U)410557Suryadeo RaiMRJD309300
199811SitamarhiGENSita Ram YadavMRJD277898Nawal Kishore RaiMJD254389
199611SitamarhiGENNawal Kishore RaiMJD322483Md. Anvarul HaqueMINC240226
199111SitamarhiGENNawal Kishore RayMJD425186Rambriksha ChaudharyMINC196035
198911SitamarhiGENHukumdeo Narayan YadavMJD335796Nagendra Pd. YadavMINC164935
198411SitamarhiGENRanshresth KhirharMINC217307Indal Singh NavinMLKD95763
198011SitamarhiGENBaliram BhagatMINC(U)213245Shashi Shekhareshwar Pd. Narain SinghMINC(I)180996
197711SitamarhiGENShyam Sunder DasMBLD261321Nagendra Prasad YadavMINC171227
197111SitamarhiGENNagendra Prasad YadavMINC217416Thakur Jugal Kishore SinghMSSP188691
196711SitamarhiGENN.P. YadavMINC141337T. Y. K. Singh MSSP140820
196212SitamarhiGENNagindra Pd. YadabMINC90910Yugal Kishore SinghMPSP57395
195710SitamarhiGENAcharya J. B. KripalaniMPSP125613Bujhawan Sah MIND54835

List of Assembly Constituencies in Sitamarhi Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Sitamarhi parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies

Last Updated on Aug 15, 2021
Live at 6 PM | Bihar Exit Poll | Exit Poll

Live at 5PM | Bihar Elections - ओवैसी का बुख़ार महागठबंधन को | Sanjay Dixit

Latest Election News and Update

Bihar Exit Poll Unpredictability The Unpredictability of Exit Polls in Bihar Election

The Bihar Election 2020 Exit Polls have failed to give a uniform prediction about the winner. This means that the actual Bihar Election Result 2020 can swing in any direction. Read More…

Bihar Exit Poll 2020 Chintamani Exit Poll Predicts NDA’s Victory in Bihar Election 2020

Bihar has voted for the third and final phase of Bihar Election 2020. The result of the Bihar Election 2020 will be announced on 10 November. Prior to that, Chintamani Read More…

BJP Vote Share 2015 Analysis: Compared to Rivals, BJP’s Bihar Vote Share Swelled from 2005

Bihar is a state where the calculations of caste arithmetic and vote share hold tremendous importance for the political parties. Moreover, it can make or break the Bihar election result. Read More…