Live News

Track your constituency
Live News

Purnia Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

Purnia Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Santosh KumarJanata Dal (United)632435048963292454.85Winner
Uday Singh Alias Pappu SinghIndian National Congress369278018536946332.021st Runner-up
Shubhash Kumar ThakurIndependent3179401317952.762nd Runner-up
Sageer AhmadIndependent2137400213741.853rd Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above18557012185691.614th Runner-up
Jitendra UrabBahujan Samaj Party16478059165371.435th Runner-up
Anirudh MehtaIndependent93580193590.816th Runner-up
Rajesh KumarIndependent90780190790.797th Runner-up
Manju MurmuJharkhand Mukti Morcha794801579630.698th Runner-up
Ashok Kumar SinghIndependent75650075650.669th Runner-up
Ashok Kumar SahIndependent73120273140.6310th Runner-up
Shobha SorenIndependent693501269470.611th Runner-up
Arjun SinghIndependent44410344440.3912th Runner-up
Rajiv Kumar SinghIndependent34020134030.2913th Runner-up
Dr. Mritunjay Kumar JhaIndependent31720331750.2814th Runner-up
Sanoj Kumar ChauhanBihar Lok Nirman Dal26200526250.2315th Runner-up
Md. Akhtar AliIndependent14040014040.1216th Runner-up

Situated in the district of Purnia is the Lok Sabha constituency by the same name. The Purnia Parliamentary constituency, formerly known as Purnea, is one of the 40 Lok Sabha seats which belongs to the eastern Indian state of Bihar.The total number of electorates in the Purnia Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 12) according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports are 1,305,396 of which 688,182 are males and 617,214 are females.

The Purnia district is part of the Purnia Division, and its administrative seat of power is the Purnia town. With a total population of 3,673,127 (2011 census), the Purnia district is spread over 3,229 sq km of area. Although the Purnia Lok Sabha constituency is currently held by the BJP, one of the most popular leaders in this district is Phani Gopal Sengupta of the Indian National Congress. Sengupta was elected MP from here for three consecutive general elections, from 1957 to 1967. Although many agricultural products are grown in this constituency, such as paddy, pulses, wheat, vegetables, watermelons, the district of Purnia remains one of the thirty-six districts of Bihar that have been identified as economically backward. Six Vidhan Sabha segments constitute this region of the Purnia parliamentary constituency.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Purnia Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Purnia parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Purnia constituency is Santosh Kumar of JD(U).

Year PC No. PC Name Category WinnerGenderPartyVoteRunner UpGenderPartyVote
201412PurniaGenSantosh KumarMJD(U)418826Uday Singh Alias Pappu SinghMBharatiya Janata Party302157
200912PurniaGENSingh,Shri Uday MBJP362952Shanti PriyaMIND176725
200424PurniaGENUday SinghMBJP244426Rajesh Ranjan Alias Pappu YadavMLJNSP231543
199924PurniaGENRajesh RanjanMIND438193Jay Krishna MandalMBJP185627
199824PurniaGENJay Krishna MandalMBJP265096Rajesh RanjanMSP229279
199624PurniaGENRajesh RanjanMSP443111Rajendra Pd. GuptaMBJP126956
198924PurniaGENTaslimudinMJD177159Ajit SarkarMCPM122602
198424PurniaGENMadhuree SinghFINC294076Kamal Natha JhaMLKD103676
198024PurniaGENMadhuri SinghMINC(I)163022Niyanand AryaMJNP(S)101066
197724PurniaGENLakhan Lal KapoorMBLD199034Madhuri SinghMINC106997
197122PurniaGENMohammad TahirMINC56977Z. A. Ahmad MCPI36813
196722PurniaGENP. G. S. GuptaMINC73842B. GuptaMSSP69222
196222PurniaGENPhani Gopal Sen GuptaMINC117705Bisheshwar Narain SharmaMSWA47914
195718PurniaGENPhani Gopal Sen GuptaMINC89369Balkrishna GuptaMIND45832

List of Assembly Constituencies in Purnia Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Purnia parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies

Last Updated on Aug 15, 2021
Live at 6 PM | Bihar Exit Poll | Exit Poll

Live at 5PM | Bihar Elections - ओवैसी का बुख़ार महागठबंधन को | Sanjay Dixit

Latest Election News and Update

Bihar Exit Poll Unpredictability The Unpredictability of Exit Polls in Bihar Election

The Bihar Election 2020 Exit Polls have failed to give a uniform prediction about the winner. This means that the actual Bihar Election Result 2020 can swing in any direction. Read More…

Bihar Exit Poll 2020 Chintamani Exit Poll Predicts NDA’s Victory in Bihar Election 2020

Bihar has voted for the third and final phase of Bihar Election 2020. The result of the Bihar Election 2020 will be announced on 10 November. Prior to that, Chintamani Read More…

BJP Vote Share 2015 Analysis: Compared to Rivals, BJP’s Bihar Vote Share Swelled from 2005

Bihar is a state where the calculations of caste arithmetic and vote share hold tremendous importance for the political parties. Moreover, it can make or break the Bihar election result. Read More…