Live News

Track your constituency
Live News

Pataliputra Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

Pataliputra Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Ram Kripal YadavBharatiya Janata Party5065570300050955747.28Winner
Misha BhartiRashtriya Janata Dal4688730136347023643.631st Runner-up
Md. KalimullahBahujan Samaj Party13980065140451.32nd Runner-up
Shailesh KumarBharatiya Aam Awam Party96270196280.893rd Runner-up
Shiv Kumar SinghApna Kisan Party83530183540.784th Runner-up
Wakil AhmadJanata Party76400676460.715th Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above649707965760.616th Runner-up
Indu Devi MishraBharatiya Jan Kranti Dal (Democratic)62910462950.587th Runner-up
Sohan RayYuva Krantikari Party58090158100.548th Runner-up
Jitendra BindIndependent48690148700.459th Runner-up
Md. Taufique AhmadVoters Party International38520538570.3610th Runner-up
Lalita RayBahujan Nyay Dal35510535560.3311th Runner-up
Satish KumarBharatiya Momin Front31450031450.2912th Runner-up
Rajesh KumarIndependent29820429860.2813th Runner-up
Bindu DeviRashtriya Jansambhavna Party27940127950.2614th Runner-up
Suresh PaswanIndependent27910227930.2615th Runner-up
Ram Pravesh RajakPeoples Party Of India (Democratic)21260321290.216th Runner-up
Ram Niranjan RoyRashtrawadi Chetna Party19750019750.1817th Runner-up
Ram Narayan ManjhiSankhyanupati Bhagidari Party19450019450.1818th Runner-up
NagmaniShivsena17830717900.1719th Runner-up
Vinod DasBharatiya Bahujan Congress176601917850.1720th Runner-up
Ramesh Kumar SharmaIndependent15560215580.1421th Runner-up
Durgesh Nandan Singh Alias Durgesh YadavRashtriya Janvikas Party (Democratic)14130114140.1322th Runner-up
Pupul Kumar SharmaIndependent12800312830.1223th Runner-up
Brajeshwar Prasad SinghIndependent950019510.0924th Runner-up
Mantu KumarIndependent770007700.0725th Runner-up

Pataliputra Lok Sabha Election 2014 Summary

Pataliputra constituency saw a tough battle between RJD's Lalu Prasad's eldest daughter Misa Bharti and her uncle Ramkripal Yadav. Ramkripal who fought on BJP ticket won the seat defeating Misa Bharti by a margin of 40322 votes. He managed to gain 383262 votes, while Misa gave him a tough fight garnering 342940 votes. Ranjan Prasad Yadav, sitting MP from this constituency, stood third with 97228 votes.

In the last Lok Sabha elections in 2009, this seat was won by Prof. Ranjan Prasad Yadav of JD(U) who had garnered 269298 votes, defeating Lalu Prasad of RJD by a slim margin of 23541 votes.

The historically significant Pataliputra Lok Sabha constituency is one of the 40 Parliamentary seats which are allotted to the state of Bihar. The Pataliputra Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 31) consists of 1,526,241 number of electorates in totality, of these 817,820 are males and 708,421 are females as the Election commission of India 2009 data />
This constituency is situated in the district of Patna.

Pataliputra, which was originally built as a city by Magadha ruler Ajatasatru in the ancient period, survived a prominent historical as well as archaeological legacy even during the period of the Mauryan kings, especially Ashoka the Great. The Patna district has the city of Patna as its administrative headquarters, which is the capital of Bihar. Out of the 38 administrative districts of Bihar, Patna is the most populous, housing a total of 5,772,804 people (2011 census). This district is part of the Red Corridor, which results in frequent political upheavals. The Patna district has been identified as one of the 250 economically backward districts of the country, thus being funded by the government under the Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme. A total of six Vidhan Sabha constituencies make up this Parliamentary constituency of Pataliputra, out of which Phulwari and Masaurhi are reserved for candidates belonging to the Scheduled Caste category.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Pataliputra Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Pataliputra parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Pataliputra constituency is Ram Kripal Yadav of BJP.

Year PC No. PC Name Category WinnerGenderPartyVoteRunner UpGenderPartyVote
201431PataliputraGenRam Kripal YadavMBJP383262Misha BhartiFRJD342940
200931PataliputraGENYadav, Prof. Ranjan Prasad MJD(U)269298Lalu PrasadMRJD245757
19511PataliputraGENSarangdhar SinghMINC64992Gyan ChandMSP38294

List of Assembly Constituencies in Pataliputra Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Pataliputra parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
DanapurManerPhulwari (SC)
Masaurhi (SC)PaliganjBikram

Last Updated on Aug 15, 2021
Live at 6 PM | Bihar Exit Poll | Exit Poll

Live at 5PM | Bihar Elections - ओवैसी का बुख़ार महागठबंधन को | Sanjay Dixit

Latest Election News and Update

Bihar Exit Poll Unpredictability The Unpredictability of Exit Polls in Bihar Election

The Bihar Election 2020 Exit Polls have failed to give a uniform prediction about the winner. This means that the actual Bihar Election Result 2020 can swing in any direction. Read More…

Bihar Exit Poll 2020 Chintamani Exit Poll Predicts NDA’s Victory in Bihar Election 2020

Bihar has voted for the third and final phase of Bihar Election 2020. The result of the Bihar Election 2020 will be announced on 10 November. Prior to that, Chintamani Read More…

BJP Vote Share 2015 Analysis: Compared to Rivals, BJP’s Bihar Vote Share Swelled from 2005

Bihar is a state where the calculations of caste arithmetic and vote share hold tremendous importance for the political parties. Moreover, it can make or break the Bihar election result. Read More…