Live News

Track your constituency
Live News

Maharajganj Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

Maharajganj Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Janardan Singh 'Sigriwal"Bharatiya Janata Party5435230282954635256.17Winner
Randhir Kumar SinghRashtriya Janata Dal314803077731558032.441st Runner-up
Anirudh Prasad Alias Sadhu YadavBahujan Samaj Party249130126250392.572nd Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above22149019221682.283rd Runner-up
M.K. Singh RathourIndependent2049502204972.114th Runner-up
Dr. Shree Bhagwan SinghIndependent1313502131371.355th Runner-up
Aravind Kumar SharmaBharatiya Jan Kranti Dal (Democratic)80010580060.826th Runner-up
Rajendra KumarIndependent70550270570.737th Runner-up
Menka RamanIndependent600302360260.628th Runner-up
Ali Azhar AnsariMaanavvaadi Janta Party328501633010.349th Runner-up
Subash SinghJago Hindustan Party28960429000.310th Runner-up
Dr. Gopal PrasadBhartiya New Sanskar Krantikari Party26330726400.2711th Runner-up

Spread across the districts of Saran and Siwan is the Parliamentary constituency of Maharajganj. It is one of the 40 Lok Sabha seats which belong to the Indian state of Bihar situated in the eastern regions of the country.According to Election Commission of India 2009 data the total electorates in the Maharajganj Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 19) were 1,312,219 of which 618,854 are females and 693,365 are males.

Six Assembly segments make up the Parliamentary constituency of Maharajganj, and they are geographically located in two districts. Once a stronghold of the Congress and the Janata Dal (United), respectively, this parliamentary constituency of Maharajganj has been won by the Rashtriya Janata Dal for the last two terms. Prabhunath Singh has remained a popular leader of this constituency, and has been elected to the Maharajganj seat as Member of Parliament for four consecutive terms. Both the districts of Siwan and Saran have been historically important regions, especially during the anti-colonial movement against the British, when a number of freedom movements and struggles were initiated in these districts. The Chhapra region, which is the administrative seat of power of the Saran district, was one of the first places where Gandhi initiated his Non-Cooperation Movement in the early decades of the 20th century. Saran is an economically dependent district, and is funded under the Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Maharajganj Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Maharajganj parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Maharajganj constituency is Janardan Singh "Sigriwal" of BJP.

Year PC No. PC Name Category WinnerGenderPartyVoteRunner UpGenderPartyVote
201419MaharajganjGenJanardan Singh "Sigriwal"MBJP320753Prabhu Nath SinghMRashtriya Janata Dal282338
2013By PollsMaharajganjGENShri Prabhu Nath SinghMRJD381452Prashant Kumar ShahiMJD(U)244326
200919MaharajganjGENUma Shanaker SinghMRJD211610Prabhunath Singh MJD(U)208813
20046MaharajganjGENPrabhunath SinghMJD(U)283506Jitendra SwamiMRJD237041
19996MaharajganjGENPrabhunath SinghMJD(U)398475Mahachandra Prasad SinghMINC294412
19986MaharajganjGENPrabhunath SinghMSAP360265Mahachandra Prasad SinghMINC154712
19966MaharajganjGENRam Bahadur SinghMSAP325577Girija DeviFGD172723
19916MaharajganjGENGirija Devi (W)FJD239700Ram Bahadur SinghMJP215365
19896MaharajganjGENChanrasbekharMJD382488Krishna PratapMINC165170
19846MaharajganjGENKrishnapratap SinghMINC255462Ram Deo SinghMJNP121558
19806MaharajganjGENKrishna Pratap SinghMINC(I)144744Ramdeo SinghMJNP113812
19776MaharajganjGENRam Deo SinghMBLD345781Daroga Prasad RoMINC93883
19717MaharajganjGENRamdeo SinghMSSP98386Indra Deep Singh MCPI97378
19677MaharajganjGENM. P. SinghMINC96212I. SinhaMCPI78968
19627MaharajganjGENKrishnakanta SinghMINC73670Yamuna Prasad SinghMPSP60143
19576MaharajganjGENMahendra Nath SinghMINC71718Tara RaniFPSP50773

List of Assembly Constituencies in Maharajganj Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Maharajganj parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies

Last Updated on Aug 15, 2021
Live at 6 PM | Bihar Exit Poll | Exit Poll

Live at 5PM | Bihar Elections - ओवैसी का बुख़ार महागठबंधन को | Sanjay Dixit

Latest Election News and Update

Bihar Exit Poll Unpredictability The Unpredictability of Exit Polls in Bihar Election

The Bihar Election 2020 Exit Polls have failed to give a uniform prediction about the winner. This means that the actual Bihar Election Result 2020 can swing in any direction. Read More…

Bihar Exit Poll 2020 Chintamani Exit Poll Predicts NDA’s Victory in Bihar Election 2020

Bihar has voted for the third and final phase of Bihar Election 2020. The result of the Bihar Election 2020 will be announced on 10 November. Prior to that, Chintamani Read More…

BJP Vote Share 2015 Analysis: Compared to Rivals, BJP’s Bihar Vote Share Swelled from 2005

Bihar is a state where the calculations of caste arithmetic and vote share hold tremendous importance for the political parties. Moreover, it can make or break the Bihar election result. Read More…