Track your constituency

Track your constituency

Gaya Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

Gaya Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Vijay KumarJanata Dal (United)4657480125946700748.79Winner
Jitan Ram ManjhiHindustani Awam Morcha (Secular)313984059731458132.861st Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above29988042300303.142nd Runner-up
Vijay Kumar ChaudharyJanta Dal Rashtravadi23448014234622.453rd Runner-up
Sheo ShankarAmbedkarite Party Of India2045905204642.144th Runner-up
Dayanand RajwanshiMoolniwasi Samaj Party1455201145531.525th Runner-up
Rakesh ChaudhariMoulik Adhikar Party1452804145321.526th Runner-up
Dilip KumarBahujan Samaj Party12953078130311.367th Runner-up
Rajesh Kumar PaswanAam Janta Party Rashtriya11653018116711.228th Runner-up
Prakash ChandraPublic Mission Party1116104111651.179th Runner-up
Umesh RajakPeoples Party Of India (Democratic)1039107103981.0910th Runner-up
Sunil PaswanBharat Bhrashtachar Mitao Party98860898941.0311th Runner-up
Din Dayal Bharti Alias Kapil ChaudhriNationalist Congress Party843408285160.8912th Runner-up
Giridhar SaperaBharatiya Rashtriya Morcha791702779440.8313th Runner-up

The parliamentary constituency of Gaya in the eastern Indian state of Bihar, known for its historical significance is reserved for candidates belonging to the scheduled castes.As one of the 40 Lok Sabha seats which represent the state, the Gaya parliamentary constituency falls under the geographic boundaries of the Gaya district.

1,329,192 is the total electorate count in the Gaya Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 38). Out of these 705,874 number of electorates are males and the remaining 623,318 are belong to the female category as the Election commission of India 2009 reports suggest.  

This district finds prominent mention in the Indian epics of Ramayana and Mahabharata. This constituency of Gaya is historically a significant region for Buddhists across the world, as Gautama Buddha and the religion he preached had strong links with this district.

  Gaya has been enlisted as one of the 250 districts of the country which are economically dependent. The Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme of the Government of India is supplied to this district, for its economic privileges. The assembly segments of Barachatti and Bodh Gaya, out of the six assembly segments which belong to this Lok Sabha seat, are reserved for candidates belonging to the scheduled castes. The population of the Gaya district as per the 2011 Census is 43,79,383.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Gaya Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Gaya parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Gaya constituency is Shri Hari Manjhi of BJP.

Year PC No. PC Name Category WinnerGenderPartyVoteRunner UpGenderPartyVote
201438Gaya (SC)SCHari ManjhiMBJP326230Ramji ManjhiMRJD210726
200938Gaya(SC)Manjhi,Shri Hari MBJP246255Ramji ManjhiMRJD183802
200440Gaya(SC)Rajesh Kumar ManjhiMRJD464829Balbir ChandMBJP361895
199943Gaya(SC)Ramji ManjhiMBJP319530Rajesh KumarMRJD298747
199843Gaya(SC)Krishna Kumar ChaudharyMBJP303225Bhagwati DeviMRJD265779
199643Gaya(SC)Bhagwati DeviFJD294084Krishna Kumar ChoudharyMBJP234461
199141Gaya(SC)Rajesh KumarMJD308077Jitan Ram ManjhiMINC254282
198943Gaya(SC)Inswar ChaudharyMJD390200Janki PaswanMCPI137277
198443Gaya(SC)Ram Swaroop RamMINC234195Ishwar ChaudharyMBJP149760
198043Gaya(SC)Ramswaroop RamMINC(I)148208Ishwar ChaudharyMJNP114281
197743Gaya(SC)Ishwar ChaudhryMBLD341000Mishri SadaMINC92682
197143Gaya(SC)Ishwar ChoudharyMBJS111038Suresh KumarMINC103939
196743Gaya(SC)R. DasMINC70950S. Prasad MSSP36962
196243GayaGENBrajeshwar PrasadMINC69933K. Brijkishore Pd. Singh MSWA51135
195735GayaGENBrajshwar PrasadMINC57927Rameshwar Prasad JadavMPSP24658

List of Assembly Constituencies in Gaya Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Gaya parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
SherghatiBarachatti (SC)Bodh Gaya (SC)
Gaya TownBelaganjWazirganj

Last Updated on June 23, 2020
Live at 6 PM | Bihar Exit Poll | Exit Poll

Live at 5PM | Bihar Elections - ओवैसी का बुख़ार महागठबंधन को | Sanjay Dixit

Latest Election News and Update

Bihar Exit Poll Unpredictability The Unpredictability of Exit Polls in Bihar Election

The Bihar Election 2020 Exit Polls have failed to give a uniform prediction about the winner. This means that the actual Bihar Election Result 2020 can swing in any direction. Read More…

Bihar Exit Poll 2020 Chintamani Exit Poll Predicts NDA’s Victory in Bihar Election 2020

Bihar has voted for the third and final phase of Bihar Election 2020. The result of the Bihar Election 2020 will be announced on 10 November. Prior to that, Chintamani Read More…

BJP Vote Share 2015 Analysis: Compared to Rivals, BJP’s Bihar Vote Share Swelled from 2005

Bihar is a state where the calculations of caste arithmetic and vote share hold tremendous importance for the political parties. Moreover, it can make or break the Bihar election result. Read More…