Live News

Track your constituency
Live News

Araria Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

Araria Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Pradeep Kumar SinghBharatiya Janata Party618004043061843452.87Winner
Sarfaraz AlamRashtriya Janata Dal48112007348119341.141st Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above20606012206181.762nd Runner-up
Ram Nrayan BhartiBahujan Samaj Party1028707102940.883rd Runner-up
Abdul Wahid KhanIndependent81680081680.74th Runner-up
Tarachand PaswanBahujan Mukti Party72630372660.625th Runner-up
Shahin PravinIndependent71380171390.616th Runner-up
Rama Nand RishideoIndependent59590059590.517th Runner-up
Md. Mobinul HaqueIndependent30360130370.268th Runner-up
Mukesh SinghIndependent21430221450.189th Runner-up
Sudama SinghBihar Lok Nirman Dal20570220590.1810th Runner-up
Md. Minhaz AlamIndependent19490019490.1711th Runner-up
Md. MatinIndependent13680113690.1212th Runner-up

Araria Lok Sabha Election Results 2014

Located within the geographic boundaries of the Araria district is the Parliamentary constituency of Araria. It is one of the 40 Lok Sabha seats which belong to the eastern Indian state of Bihar. According to Election Commission of India 2009 data the total electorates in the Araria Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 9) were 1,311,225 of which 621,510 are females and 689,715 are males.

This constituency was a Congress stronghold initially, before swinging towards the Janata Dal, and is finally in the hands of the BJP for the last few elections. Six Assembly segments comprise this parliamentary constituency, out of which Raniganj is reserved for SC candidates. Sukdeo Paswan is a popular leader of this constituency, having been elected MP from here five times. With a population of 2,806,200, as per the Census of 2011, the Araria district, which is part of the Purnia Division, is one of the most politically vital regions in the state. With agriculture as the dominant occupation, this district has been recognised as underdeveloped, and thus receives aid under the Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Araria Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Araria parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Araria constituency is Shri Tasleem Uddin of RJD.

Year PC No. PC Name Category WinnerGenderPartyVoteRunner UpGenderPartyVote
20209ArariaGenPradeep Kumar SinghMBJP618434Sarfaraz AlamMRJD481193
2018 (By-Poll)9ArariaGEN Sarfaraz AlamMRJD509334Pradeep Kumar SinghMBJP447546
20149ArariaGenTasleem UddinMRJD407978Pradeep Kumar SinghMBharatiya Janata Party261474
20099ArariaGENSingh,Shri Pradeep Kumar MBJP282742Zakir Hussain KhanMLJP260240
200422Araria(SC)Sukdeo PaswanMBJP216677Ramji Das RishideoMSP188933
199922Araria(SC)Sukdeo PaswanMRJD308579Parmanand RishidevMBJP306410
199822Araria(SC)Ramje Das RishideoMBJP309233Geeta DeviMRJD275296
199622Araria(SC)Sukdeo PaswanMJD250263Ramji RishideoMBJP201985
199122Araria(SC)Sukdeo PaswanMJD292887Sukha PaswanMBJP121893
198922Araria(SC)Sukdeo PaswanMJD245693Dumar Lal BhithaMINC173038
198422Araria(SC)Doomar Lal BaithaMINC294582Mahendra NasardarMLKD95696
198022Araria(SC)Dumar Lal BaithaMINC(I)189309Nawal Kishore BhartiMJNP(S)126485
197722Araria(SC)Mahendra Narayan SardarMBLD221829Dumar Lal BaithaMINC113295
197120ArariaGENTul Mohan RamMINC134162Dumar Lal BaithaMNCO50977
196720Araria(SC)T. M. RamMINC119954J. Ram MBJS49305

List of Assembly Constituencies in Araria Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Araria parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
NarpatganjRaniganj (SC)Forbesganj

Last Updated on Aug 15, 2021
Live at 6 PM | Bihar Exit Poll | Exit Poll

Live at 5PM | Bihar Elections - ओवैसी का बुख़ार महागठबंधन को | Sanjay Dixit

Latest Election News and Update

Bihar Exit Poll Unpredictability The Unpredictability of Exit Polls in Bihar Election

The Bihar Election 2020 Exit Polls have failed to give a uniform prediction about the winner. This means that the actual Bihar Election Result 2020 can swing in any direction. Read More…

Bihar Exit Poll 2020 Chintamani Exit Poll Predicts NDA’s Victory in Bihar Election 2020

Bihar has voted for the third and final phase of Bihar Election 2020. The result of the Bihar Election 2020 will be announced on 10 November. Prior to that, Chintamani Read More…

BJP Vote Share 2015 Analysis: Compared to Rivals, BJP’s Bihar Vote Share Swelled from 2005

Bihar is a state where the calculations of caste arithmetic and vote share hold tremendous importance for the political parties. Moreover, it can make or break the Bihar election result. Read More…