Track your constituency

Hardwar General(Lok Sabha) Elections Results 209

Lok sabha election result will be declared on 23rd May 2019.

Elections Latest News And Updates

Phase 3 Opinion Polls 2019 Chintamani – 5Dots Opinion Poll for Third Phase

The first two phases of the Lok Sabha elections 2019 are over with no less than 70% voter turnout (as declared by the Election Commission when polling for second phase Read More…

Mayawati and Mulayam Share Stage after Two Decades Mayawati and Mulayam Share Stage after Two Decades

Overcoming more than two decades of political and personal rivalry, Bahujan Samaj Party chief Mayawati on Friday sought votes for Samajwadi Party patron Mulayam Singh Yadav in his turf Mainpuri, Read More…

Controversy Rises over Sadhvi Pragya's Candidature Controversy Rises over Sadhvi Pragya’s Candidature

The BJP on Wednesday named Sadhvi Pragya Singh Thakur, key accused in the 2008 Malegaon blast case, as its Lok Sabha candidate from Bhopal. This is the first instance of Read More…

Chintamani Corner - Chintamani Corner – #ChintamaniSpeaks – Phase 3 Updates |

Lok Sabha 2019 Chintamani Election Analysis – Read Below    Chintamani Shastri is an Election Expert and he is back with his 2019 Analysis of the Lok Sabha Elections. Check Read More…

Top VIP Contests in Second Phase Top VIP Contests in Second Phase

A former Prime Minister, four Union Ministers, and several high-profile first-timers are among more than 1,629 candidates setting the stage for a number of riveting encounters in the second round Read More…

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 – Phase 2 Live Updates Lok Sabha Elections 2019 – Second Phase Live Updates

Live Updates – Lok Sabha Elections Phase 2 7:59:13 PM Final Update for the Day – Final Voter Turnout State – Wise State Voter Turnout (%) Assam 73.32 Bihar 58.14 Read More…

Party Wise Candidate List for Lok Sabha Constituency Election 2019

Party NameLS ConstituencyCandidate Name
BJPHardwarDr. Ramesh Pokhriyal (Nishank)
INCHardwarAmbrish Kumar
BSPHardwarDr. Antriksh Saini

Haridwar Parliamentary Constituency is one of the five Lok Sabha Constituencies of Uttarakhand, formed before 1951 and comprises of fourteen
legislative assembly segments. 1,294,280 is the total electorate count in the Haridwar Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 5). Out of these 698,701 number of electorates are males and the remaining 595,579 are belong to the female category as the Election commission of India 2009 reports suggest. The city of Hardwar or Haridwar is one of the seven most sacred Hindu destinations all over the world. It belongs to the Haridwar District and sprawls over an area of 13 sq km at an elevation of 314 m. It is the largest city of the district as well as the center of administration.

As per 2001 census data, Haridwar has a population of 295,000 with 54% male majority and 46% comprises of females. 12% of the population is under the age of six and the sex ratio is 880 females per 1000 males. It has a 72% Hindu majority with 25% Muslims. It has an average literacy rate of 70% with male literacy rate at 75% and female literacy rate at 64%. Hindi is the official language. There are several schools, colleges and universities in Haridwar including Gurukul Kangri University and Vidya Mandir Inter College. Agriculture and tourism are important economic activities here while industrial manufacturing is also steadily improving. National Highways NH-58 and NH-74 connect Haridwar to several major cities and towns nearby.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Hardwar Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Hardwar parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Hardwar constituency is Shri Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank of BJP.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
20145HardwarGENRamesh Pokhriyal NishankMBJP592320Renuka RawatFINC414498
20095HardwarGENRawat,Shri Harish MINC332235Swami Yatindranand GiriMBJP204823
20045Hardwar(SC)Rajendra KumarMSP157331Dr. BhagwandassMBSP119672

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

Facts about current sitting MP of Hardwar Constituency

Name of MP Dr. Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank
Age 59
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May, 2014 to In office
Political Party Bharatiya Janata Party
Gender Male
Educational Qualification M.A., Ph.D (Hon.), D.Litt (Hon.)
Activities of Dr. Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 139
Private member bills passed 22
Questions asked 306
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituencies in Hardwar Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Hardwar parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Roorkee Manglaur Piran Kaliyar
KhanpurLaksarBhaghwanpur (SC)
Jhabrera (SC)BHEL RanipurJwalapur (SC)
HaridwarHaridwar RuralDharampur

Last Updated on April 3, 2019