Track your constituency

Sikkim Assembly Election Results in 1979

Live Election News

Once upon a time, Bengaluru was called City of Lakes, now most of the lakes are polluted, being encroached upon: P C @PCMohanMP while discussion on Motion of Thanks on Read More…

Congress leader in Lok Sabha, Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury: Did you manage to catch anybody in 2G & coal allocation scam? Did you manage to send Sonia Gandhi ji & Rahul Read More…

Don’t know how long Congress-JD(S) govt in Karnataka will survive: Deve Gowda  

Latest Election News and Update

Results Live Updates 2019 Lok Sabha (General) Election Results 2019 – Live Updates

Lok Sabha Election Results 2019 Live Updates   Exit Poll by Various Pollsters – Click Here Check Live Election Results 2019 – State Wise & Constituency Wise   21:09:15 केंद्रीय Read More…


When we set out on the 2019 journey, the scenario was quite fuzzy. The opposition parties were resurgent after the 2018 Assembly Elections. Congress was brimming over with confidence, and Read More…

Exit Poll 2019 Lok Sabha Election Exit Poll 2019 Live Updates

Lok Sabha Election Exit Poll 2019 – Live Updates The mega 7-phase Lok Sabha elections are just a few hours away from conclusion with the voting in last phase scheduled Read More…

Phase 7 Live Updates Lok Sabha Elections 2019 – Seventh Phase Live Updates

  Previous Phases Live Voter Turnout 2014 vs 2019 – Assembly Constituency Wise Phase 5 | Phase 6 |  Phase 7 Live Voter Turnout 2014 vs 2019  |  Phase 7 Read More…

Phase 7 Live Voter Turnout Phase 7 Live Voter Turnout – 2014 vs 2019 – Segement Wise

Seventh Phase Live Voter Turnout – 2014 vs 2019   Previous Phases Voter Tunrout –  Phase 5 | Phase 6 |   Total Turnout – Phase 7 – 65.06%   Read More…

Phase 7 Opinion Poll WILL BJP CREATE HISTORY AND BEAT THE 300 MARK? – Phase 7 Opinion Poll

PHASE 7 LIVE UDPATES – CLICK HERE    When we gave out our first opinion poll before the start of the Elections 2019, we had projected 271 seats for BJP. Read More…

Party Wise Summary Sikkim Assembly Election Results in 1979

Party NameSeats
Independent (IND)1
Sikkim Congress (R) (SCR)11
Sikkim Janta Parishad (SJP)16
Sikkim Prajatantra Congress (SPC)4

On 12th October 1979, the second assembly elections were held in Sikkim. As many as 16 seats were won by the Sikkim Janata Parishad and its party leader Mr. Nar Bahadur Bhandari became the second Chief Minister of Sikkim. The Governor of the state was Mr. B.B. Lal.

The second legislative assembly had 32 members out of which 17 belonged to the general class, 12 seats were for Scheduled Tribes, mainly including Lepchas and Bhutias, 2 were for scheduled Castes and one was reserved for the Monasteries (Sanghas).

During the years 1979 to 84, a very strong base for infrastructural development was formed. Limbu got the status of official language of Sikkim in the year 1981.

The main bills passed by the Sikkim assembly during the years 1979-84 are as follows:
  • The Sikkim Cultivators Protection (Temporary Provisions) Amendment Bill 1979 & 1981
  • The Sikkim Housing and Development Board Bill, 1979
  • The Sikkim Panchayat Amendment Bill 1979, 1981, 1982 & 1983
  • Sikkim Fisheries Bill, 1980
  • Sikkim Weights and Measures Bill, 1981
  • Gangtok Municipal Corporation Amendment Bill, 1980
  •  Sikkim Public premises (Eviction of Unauthorized Occupants and Rent Recovery) Bill, 1980
  • Gangtok Municipal Corporation (Amendment) Bill, 1981
  • Sikkim Fire Services Bill, 1981
  • Sikkim Nationalized Transport (Prevention of Tickets less Travel and Miscellaneous Provision) Bill
  • Sikkim Legislative Assembly Members Removal or Disqualifications (Amendment) Bill.
  • Sikkim Children Bill, 1982
  • Sikkim Shops and commercial Establishment Bill 1983
  • Tashi Namgyal Academy Board Bill 1983
  • Sikkim Public Works (Liability of Government and Contractor) Bill, 1983.

List of Successful Candidates in Sikkim Assembly Election in 1979

YearA.C No.Assembly Constituency NameType of A.C.Winner Candidates NameGenderPartyVotesRunner-UPGenderPartyVotes
19791YoksamGENSanchaman LimbooMSJP754Ashok Kumar SubbaMIND556
19792Tashiding(ST)Dawgyal Pentso BhutiaMSJP729Phurba Wangyal LassopaMJNP502
19793GeyzingGENIndra Bahadur LimbooMSJP811Nanda Kumar SubediMSCR643
19794DentamGENPadam Lal GurungMSCR949Pahalman SubbaMSJP379
19795BarmiokGENTil Bahadur LimbuMSJP688Bhakta Bahadur ChettriMSPC419
19796Rinchenpong(ST)Katuk BhutiaMSJP598Degey BhutiaMJNP480
19797ChakungGENB.B. GurungMSCR1605Kulman MukhiaMSJP378
1980Bye PollChakungGENC.B.RaiMSCR1152S.K.RaiMSJP861
19798SoreongGENNar Bahadur BhandariMSJP1833Kuldip GurungMSCR375
19799DaramdinGENPadam Bahadur GurungMSJP1770Phurba Sangey SherpaMJNP323
197910Jorthang-NayabazarGENBhim Bahadur GurungMSCR754Lila Kumar RaiMSJP693
197911Ralong(ST)Chamla TsheringMSCR438Sonam Pintso TakapaMIND371
197912WakGENGarjaman GurungMSPC504Durga Prasad RajalimMSJP408
197913DamthangGENPradeep YanzoneMSCR661Mani Raj RaiMSJP622
197914MelliGENMohan Prasad SharmaMSJP669Sailesh Chandra PradhanMIND528
197915Rateypani - West Pendam(SC)Bir Bahadur LoharMSCR1348Isory MajheeMSPC784
197916Temi-TarkuGENNar Bahadur KhatiwadaMSPC762Harikrishna SharmaMSJP455
197917Central Pendam-East PendamGENBhuwani Prasad KharelMSCR1346Toga Nidhi BhandariMSJP775
197918RhenockGENKharananda UpretiMSCR504Bhuwani Prasad DahalMJNP358
197919ReguGENTulshi SharmaMSJP622Karna BahadurMIND560
197920Pathing(ST)Ram LepchaMSCR713Chitim BhutiaMSJP525
197921Loosing PachekhaniGENJagat Bandhu PradhanMSCR889Bans Bahadur BasnetMSJP334
197922Khamdong(SC)Dal Bahadur DamaiMSPC879TilochanMSJP705
197923Djongu(ST)Athup LepchaMSJP865Kazi Lhendup Dorjee KangsarpaMJNP503
197924Lachen Mangshila(ST)Tenzing Dadul BhutiaMSJP864Tasha Tengay LepchaMJNP525
197925Kabi Tingda(ST)Sonam TsheringMSJP852Kalzang GyatsoMJNP713
197926Rakdong Tentek(ST)Dugo BhutiaMSPC1387Loden Tsering BhutiaMSJP498
197927Martam(ST)Samten TsheringMSJP731Rapzang LamaMSPC597
197928Rumtek(ST)Dadul BhutiaMSJP948Karma Gyampo BhutiaMSPC602
197929Assam Lingjey(ST)Sherab PaldenMSJP1120Phuchung TsheringMSCR405
197930Ranka(ST)Dorji Tshering BhutiaMSCR679Sonam Tshering BhutiaMSJP660
197931GangtokGENLall Bahadur BasnetMSJP1707Dorjee DadulMJNP1174
197932SanghaGENLhachen Ganchen RimpuchhiMIND733Pema LamaMSPC45

List of Participating Political Parties in Sikkim Assembly Election in 1979

Partytype Abbreviation PARTY
National Parties
1 CPM Communist Party of India (Marxist)
2 INCIndian National Congress
3 JNP Janta Party
State Parties
4 SCL Sikkim Scheduled Castes League
5 SCR Sikkim Congress (R)
Registered (Unrecognised) Parties
6 SJP Sikkim Janta Parishad
7 SPC Sikkim Prajatantra Congress
8 INDIndependents

Last Updated on : August 11, 2014