Track your constituency

Hoshiarpur General(Lok Sabha) Elections Results 2019

Lok sabha election result will be declared on 23rd May 2019.

Elections Latest News And Updates

Chintamani Corner - Chintamani Corner – Phase 3 Post Poll Analysis |

Lok Sabha 2019 Chintamani Election Analysis – Read Below    Chintamani Shastri is an Election Expert and he is back with his 2019 Analysis of the Lok Sabha Elections. Check Read More…

Phase 3 - Lok Sabha Election 2019 Live Update Lok Sabha (General) Election 2019 – Third Phase Live Updates

The first two phases of the Lok Sabha elections 2019 are over with no less than 70% voter turnout (as declared by the Election Commission when polling for the second Read More…

VIP Candidates - Phase 3 Lok Sabha Election 2019 VIP Battles in the Third Phase

The third phase of the Lok Sabha election 2019 is being held today. Polling is being held in 115 constituencies across 15 states and Union Territories. Voting is also being Read More…

Assembly Election 2019 Odisha Assembly Election 2019: LIVE Updates

Odisha Assembly Election Live Updates: 2:12:15 PM Odisha Chief Electoral Officer votes in Bhubaneswar Surendra Kumar, the Chief Electoral Officer of Odisha who is overseeing the entire election in the state, cast his Read More…

Phase 3 Opinion Polls 2019 Chintamani – 5Dots Opinion Poll for Third Phase

The first two phases of the Lok Sabha elections 2019 are over with no less than 70% voter turnout (as declared by the Election Commission when polling for second phase Read More…

Mayawati and Mulayam Share Stage after Two Decades Mayawati and Mulayam Share Stage after Two Decades

Overcoming more than two decades of political and personal rivalry, Bahujan Samaj Party chief Mayawati on Friday sought votes for Samajwadi Party patron Mulayam Singh Yadav in his turf Mainpuri, Read More…

Hoshiarpur Parliamentary Constituency is one of the 13 Lok Sabha constituencies of Punjab. Formed prior to the 1952 elections, it has nine Vidhan Sabha segments and is reserved for the SC category. According to Election Commission of India 2009 data the total electorates in the Hoshiarpur Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 5) were 1,299,234 of which 643,343 are females and 655,891 are males.

Quick facts for Hoshiarpur

Assembly Constituencies 9
Ruling Party BJP
MPVijay Sampla
Electorals 2014MaleFemaleTotal
No. of Electorals6558916433431299234
Polling stations1581

It is a municipal corporation and is located in the Hoshiarpur District. The city of Hoshiarpur is located in the north eastern area of Punjab, in the Doaba region- at the foot of the Himalayas, in the Shivalik Hills. It covers an area of 3,400 sq km and stands at an elevation of about 300 metres.

It has a city population of about 1,70,000 and a metro population of 16,00,000. About 53% of the population comprises of males and it has a sex ratio of 962 females per 1,000 males. There is a 59% majority of Hindus followed by 40% of Sikhs. The city has a literacy rate of 85.40% and is one of the most literate areas of the state. Punjabi is the official language. Hoshiarpur has several schools as well as several colleges of law, medical sciences, engineering etc.

Hoshiarpur is famous for citrus cultivation and produces several varieties of mangoes. Its handicraft industry of wooden artifacts and ivory products also help in boosting the industrial economy. The National Highway NH-70 connects the city to nearby destinations.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Hoshiarpur Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Hoshiarpur parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Hoshiarpur constituency is Vijay Sampla of BJP.

YearPC No.PC NameCategoryWinner/Current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
20145Hoshiarpur(SC)Vijay SamplaMBJP346643Mohinder Singh KaypeeMINC333061
20095Hoshiarpur(SC)Chowdhary,Smt. Santosh FINC358812Som ParkashMBJP358446
20046HoshiarpurGENAvinash Rai KhannaMBJP289815Comrade Darshan Singh MattuMCPM185444
19996HoshiarpurGENCharanjit Singh ChanniMINC256211Kamal ChaudhryMBJP222005
19986HoshiarpurGENKamal ChaudhryMBJP304091Charandeep Singh KambojMBSP238759
19966HoshiarpurGENKanshi RamMBSP230011Kamal ChoudharyMINC219067
19926HoshiarpurGENKamal ChaudhryMINC115465Maya WatiFBSP90461
19896HoshiarpurGENKamal ChaudhryMINC176176Satnam SinghMBSP108067
19856HoshiarpurGENKamal ChudharyMINC237753Kabal SinghMSAD161050
19807HoshiarpurGENZail SinghMINC(I)223976Balbir SinghMJNP(S)98790
19776HoshiarpurGENBalbir SinghMBLD258731Darbara SinghMINC144114
19716HoshiarpurGENDarbara SinghMINC172451Kartar Singh MSAD71616
1969Bye PolHoshiarpurGENJ. SinghMBJS163071Y.PalMINC111232
19676HoshiarpurGENR. KishanMINC95877J. Singh MBJS94366
196220HoshiarpurGENAmar Nath Vidya AlankarMINC128953Ambedkar Yashwant RaoMREP118652
195713HoshiarpurGENBaldev SinghMINC161879Mangat Ram MBJS101872
195111HoshiarpurGENRam DasMINC163440Adhiatam Ram MSCF123007
195111HoshiarpurGENDiwan ChandMINC198585Dalip SinghMCPI109215

Facts about current sitting MP of Hoshiarpur Constituency

Name of MP Shri Vijaya Sampla
Age 57
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May, 2014 to In office
Political Party Bharatiya Janata Party
Gender Male
Educational Qualification Matric
Activities of Shri Vijaya Sampla in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 27
Private member bills passed 1
Questions asked 1
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituencies in Hoshiarpur Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Hoshiarpur parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Sri Hargobindpur (SC)BholathPhagwara (SC)
Sham Chaurasi (SC)HoshiarpurChabbewal (SC)

Last Updated on April 2, 2019