Track your constituency

Gurdaspur(Punjab) General(Lok Sabha) Election Results 2019

Lok sabha election result will be declared on 23rd May 2019.

Elections Latest News And Updates


When we set out on the 2019 journey, the scenario was quite fuzzy. The opposition parties were resurgent after the 2018 Assembly Elections. Congress was brimming over with confidence, and Read More…

Exit Poll 2019 Lok Sabha Election Exit Poll 2019 Live Updates

Lok Sabha Election Exit Poll 2019 – Live Updates The mega 7-phase Lok Sabha elections are just a few hours away from conclusion with the voting in last phase scheduled Read More…

Phase 7 Live Updates Lok Sabha Elections 2019 – Seventh Phase Live Updates

  Previous Phases Live Voter Turnout 2014 vs 2019 – Assembly Constituency Wise Phase 5 | Phase 6 |  Phase 7 Live Voter Turnout 2014 vs 2019  |  Phase 7 Read More…

Phase 7 Live Voter Turnout Phase 7 Live Voter Turnout – 2014 vs 2019 – Segement Wise

Seventh Phase Live Voter Turnout – 2014 vs 2019   Previous Phases Voter Tunrout –  Phase 5 | Phase 6 |   Total Turnout – Phase 7 – 64.80%   Read More…

Phase 7 Opinion Poll WILL BJP CREATE HISTORY AND BEAT THE 300 MARK? – Phase 7 Opinion Poll

PHASE 7 LIVE UDPATES – CLICK HERE    When we gave out our first opinion poll before the start of the Elections 2019, we had projected 271 seats for BJP. Read More…

WILL BENGAL TURN SAFFRON IN 2019 Will Bengal Turn Saffron in 2019?

The year was 2009. Elections to the 15th Lok Sabhā had taken place. CPM led Left Front had been ruling West Bengal since 1977, and nobody had quite figured out Read More…

Gurdaspur Parliamentary Constituency is one of Punjab’s 13 Lok Sabha constituencies and was formed prior to the 1952 elections. The Gurdaspur Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 1) has a total of 1,318,967 electorates out of which 639,971 are females and 678,996 are males according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports.

Quick facts for Gurdaspur

Assembly Constituencies 17
Ruling Party BJP
MPVinod Khanna
Electorals 2014MaleFemaleTotal
No. of Electorals6789966399711318967
Polling stations1552

It is divided into nine segments and is part of the Gurdaspur District. The city of Gurdaspur is the administrative centre of this district. It is located in the north-western part of the state on the Amritsar-Jammu Highway Road. The rivers Beas and Raavi flank the two sides of the city which covers a total area of 1,400 sq km.

Gurdaspur has a total population of over 70,000 with a 53% majority of males. The district has a population over 22,00,000. It has a sex ratio of 895 females per 1,000 males. It has a 44% majority of Hindus closely followed by Sikhs at 44%. Punjabi is the official language. With a literacy rate of 82%, Gurdaspur has over 13 institutions offering higher education in the fields of engineering, hotel management and other degree courses.

Most of the economy of the area is dependent on agriculture and food produce. The city has an extensive road network and is served by National Highway NH-15 which connects it to several cities. NH-11 and NH-1 are also connected to Gurdaspur.

List of winner/ current and runner up Mps of Gurdaspur Parliamentary Constituency

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Gurdaspur parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Gurdaspur constituency is Vinod Khanna of BJP.

YearPC No.PC NameCategoryWinner/Current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
20141GurdaspurGENVinod KhannaMBJP482255Partap Singh BajwaMINC346190
20091GurdaspurGENBajwa,Sardar Partap Singh MINC447994Vinod KhannaMBJP439652
20041GurdaspurGENVinod KhannaMBJP387612Sukhbuns Kaur Bhinder BhinderMINC362629
19991GurdaspurGENVinod KhannaMBJP315267Sukhbuns Kaur BhinderMINC313868
19981GurdaspurGENVinod KhannaMBJP398527Sukhbuns Kaur BhinderMINC291694
19961GurdaspurGENSukhbuns Kaur BhinderMINC237499Jagdish SawhneyMBJP162952
19921GurdaspurGENSukhbuns Kaur BhinderFINC172391Om Prakash BhardwajMBJP104394
19891GurdaspurGENSukhbans KaurFINC220755Chaun Singh SidhuMSAD(M)143540
19851GurdaspurGENSukhbuns Kaur BhinderFINC186765Baldev PrakashMBJP149088
19802GurdaspurGENSukhbans KaurMINC(I)250452P.N.LekhiMJNP98713
19771GurdaspurGENYagya DattMBLD204802Prabodh ChanderMINC176680
19715GurdaspurGENPrabodh ChandraMINC184788Mohan Lal MNCO90941
1970Bye PolGurdaspurGENP.ChandraMNCJ149708R.S.SparrowMIND51229
19675GurdaspurGEND. ChandMINC105971K. Lal MBJS83225
196219GurdaspurGENDewan ChandMINC138907Natha Singh MAD82409
195712GurdaspurGENDewan ChandMINC100911Teja Singh MIND51897
195113GurdaspurGENTeja SinghMINC86052Gurbhajan Singh MIND64364

Facts about current sitting MP of Gurdaspur Constituency

Name of MP Shri Sunil Kumar
Age NA
Nature of Membership Elected
Term 14/10/2017 to In office
Political Party Indian National Congress
Gender Male
Educational Qualification NA
Activities of Shri Sunil Kumar in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 1
Private member bills passed 0
Questions asked 3
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituencies in Gurdaspur Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Gurdaspur parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
SujanpurBhoa (SC)Pathankot
GurdaspurDina Nagar (SC)Qadian
BatalaFatehgarh ChurianDera Baba Nanak

Last Updated on April 2, 2019