Who Will Form the Next Govenment in Telangana?
Elections.in WhatsappJoin Us on Whatsapp

Anandpur Sahib Lok Sabha Elections and Results 2014

Anandpur Sahib Lok Sabha Election 2014 Summary

In Anandpur Sahib, Prem Singh Chandumajra of Shiromani Akali Dal (Badal) won the 2014 Lok Sabha election by a resounding 347394 votes, defeating former Union Minister Ambika Soni of Congress by a slim margin of 23697 votes. Himmat Singh Shergill of Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) came third with 306008 votes. Around 70% voting was recorded in this constituency.

In 2009 this seat was won by Congress' Ravneet Singh Bittu, who contest from Ludhiana this time. He had won last time by garnering 404836 votes. The first runner-up Dr. Daljit Singh Cheema of SAD had cornered 337632 votes.

Anandpur Sahib Parliamentary Constituency is one of Punjab's 13 constituencies. The Anandpur Sahib Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 6) has a total of 1,338,596 electorates out of which 644,388 are females and 694,208 are males according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports.

Quick facts for Anandpur Sahib

Assembly Constituencies 9
Ruling Party SAD
MPPrem Singh Chandumajra
Electorals 2014MaleFemaleTotal
No. of Electorals6942086443881338596
Polling stations1586

It was formed after the 2008 delimitation of constituencies and has nine Vidhan Sabha segments. The city of Anandpur Sahib is located in the Rupnagar District and is one of the holiest places to the Sikhs. It lies to the north of Sutlej River on the lower spurs of the Himalayas. It covers an area of three sq km and stands at an elevation of about 300 metres. It is enlivened every year with the celebration of 'Hola Mohalla', which is dedicated to the 10th Guru, Sri Guru Gobind Singh. It has a population of about 14,000 of which 13% is below the age of six. The city has a 53% male majority and a sex ratio of 905 females for every 1,000 males. 

Anandpur Sahib has an average literacy rate of 73%, with male literacy rate at 77% and female literacy rate at 64%. It has several public as well as private schools. Punjabi is the official language here. It also has colleges offering degree courses in various fields. Agriculture and farming are the two major industries in the area boosting the economy. The National Highway NH-73A connects it to the nearby cities.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Anandpur Sahib Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Anandpur Sahib parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Anandpur constituency is Prem Singh Chandumajra of SAD.

YearPC No.PC NameCategoryWinner/Current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
20146Anandpur SahibGENPrem Singh ChandumajraMSAD347394Ambika SoniFINC323697
20096Anandpur SahibGENSingh,Shri Ravneet MINC404836Dr. Daljit Singh CheemaMSAD337632

List of Assembly Constituencies in Anandpur Sahib Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Anandpur Sahib parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
GarhshankarBanga (SC)Nawan Shahr
BalachaurAnandpur SahibRupnagar
Chamkaur Sahib (SC)KhararS.A.S. Nagar

Last Updated on February 24, 2015

Track your constituency