Who will WIN Phase 1 of Chhattisgarh Assembly Election 2018?
Elections.in WhatsappJoin Us on Whatsapp
News at a Glance

Phagwara (Punjab) Election Results 2017

Winner and Runnerup Candidate in Phagwara assembly constituency

The table below shows the Winner and Runnerup candidate form the Phagwara Assembly Constituency. The party symbol is also shown along.

Winner Candidate -
Som Parkash (won by: 2009)
Political Party -

Phagwara Election Results 2017

Table showing the winning and the runner-up Candidate of the 2017 Vidhan Sabha Election in Phagwara Assembly

YearPartySymbolstatusCandidate Namevotes
2017 BJP WinnerSom Parkash 45479
2017 INC RunnerUpJoginder Singh Mann 43470

List of candidates for Phagwara Constituency 2017

The table below shows who are the contesting BJP, AAP, Congress, Shiv Sena, APP, SAD etc. from the Phagwara Assembly Constituency in the Punjab Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Elections 2017.

Phagwara , Constituency No -(29)
Election Date04/02/17 
Result Date11/03/17 
Election Symbol Political PartyCandidate Name
BSPBSPSurinder Dhanda
AAPAAPJarnail Nangal
BJP BJP Som Parkash
INC INC Joginder Singh Mann
INDINDAshwani Kumar Sahota
BMPBMPTirath Ram
BSP(A)BSP(A)Tulsi Ram Khosla

About Phagwara Assembly Constituency

Phagwara is constituency No. 29 of Punjab legislative assembly.
It is situated in Kapurthala district and comes under Hoshiarpur Lok Sabha constituency. Both Phagwara and its corresponding Lok Sabha constituency Hoshairpur are reserved for scheduled castes.

According to data with the Election Commission of India, Phagwara assembly constituency has 1,51,668 registered voters. It comprises 79,782 male and 71,886 female registered voters.

The BJP defeated the Congress by 14,579 votes to win this constituency in the last Punjab assembly elections held in 2012. Som Parkash, the winning BJP candidate, got 46,223 votes. The runner-up was Balbir Kumar Sodhi of Congress who got 31,644 votes. The voter turnout was 74.43 %.

Sitting and previous MLAs from Phagwara Assembly Constituency

Below is the list of winners and runners-up in the Phagwara assembly elections conducted so far.

YearA C No.Constituency NameCategoryWinnerGenderPartyVotesRunner UpGenderPartyVotes
201229Phagwara(SC)Som ParkashMBJP46223Balbir Kumar SodhiMINC31644
200742Phagwara(SC)Swarna RamMBJP47906Joginder Singh MannMINC38302
200243Phagwara(SC)Joginder SinghMINC31601Swarna RamMBJP30415
199743Phagwara(SC)Swarna RamMBJP50176Joginder Singh MannMINC23553
199243Phagwara(SC)Joginder Singh MannMINC14363Swarna RamMBJP13643
198543Phagwara(SC)Joginder SinghMINC33287Sadhu RamMJNP21424
198043Phagwara(SC)Piara Ram DhanowaliaMINC(I)27845Sadhu RamMJNP(JP)26256
197743Phagwara(SC)Sadhu RamMJNP25042Piara Ram DhanowaliaMINC20332
197249Phagwara(SC)Piara Ram DhanowaliMINC25959SwarnaMIND18040
196949Phagwara(SC)Sadhu RamMINC22289SwarnaMBJS20736
196749Phagwara(SC)S. RamMINC14943G. RamMIND11547
196299PhagwaraGENOm ParkashMIND32603Hansraj SharmaMINC21332
195798PhagwaraGENHans RajMINC18663Hari SinghMCPI13070

Last Updated on March 11, 2017

Track your constituency