Which state goes to assembly elections next?
Elections.in WhatsappJoin Us on Whatsapp
News at a Glance
Karnataka Election Result 2018

Chandrababu Naidu Biography

Chandra Babu Naidu

About N. Chandrababu Naidu

N. Chandrababu Naidu is an Indian politician and Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh.After, the bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh, he has become the first Chief Minister of Seemandhra. He is also the President of the Telugu Desam Party (TDP). He was a former ally of the NDA government during 1999 general elections and has again joined hands and formed an alliance with the NDA government in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections. He has served as the longest Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh from 1995 to 2004. He was also appointed by Congress as the Technical Education and Cinematography Minister at the age of 28, being the youngest leader of the cabinet of Congress. Naidu is known for emphasizing on modern information technology and for making Hyderabad an IT hub in the country. He has also served as the Leader of Opposition for the longest tenure since 2004.

Political Party of Chandrababu Naidu

Telugu Desam Party (TDP)

Personal life of Chandrababu Naidu

He was born on 20 April 1950 in Naravari Palle, Chittor district of Andhra Pradesh

  • Naidu has become the first Chief Minister of Seemandhra after the bifurcation of the Andhra Pradesh state.
  • Naidu has served as the Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh for the longest time i.e., eight years, eight months and 13 days.
  • He is the longest-serving opposition leader in the Andhra Pradesh Assembly
  • He became the youngest assembly member and Minister in the cabinet at the age of 28
  • He is voted as the IT Indian of the Millennium by a poll by India Today
  • In 2014 Lok Sabha polls, TDP won 102 seats out of 175 seats under the leadership of Naidu.
  • During the general elections of 1999, the TDP led by Naidu became victorious in Andhra Pradesh. The party won a majority with 185 seats out of 294 seats making it the second largest party in the BJP-led NDA coalition government.

Last Updated on 23 May, 2018.

Track your constituency