Track your constituency

Mizoram Assembly Election Results in 2003

Elections Latest News And Updates

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Rahul hid Income info from Election Commission: New BJP Salvo

BJP on Sunday accused Congress president Rahul Gandhi of hiding facts about his income from the Election Commission and alleged that he made huge profits through highly inflated rentals and Read More…

Loksabha Elections 2019 Amit Shah says that Election is Modi vs Faceless Opposition

Dubbing the Lok Sabha elections as a contest between Prime Minister Narendra Modi and a ‘faceless’ alliance of opposition parties, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) president Amit Shah, on Sunday, appealed Read More…

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Lok Sabha Elections 2019: BSP announces candidates for 6 Chhattisgarh Seats

The candidates were announced for Bastar, Kanker, Raigarh, Durg, Surguja, and Janjgir Champa. The last of these six seats — an SC reserved seat — is where the BSP is Read More…

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 BJP trying to create ‘hyper nationalistic environment’ ahead of Lok Sabha Elections: Rahul Gandhi

Congress president Rahul Gandhi has accused the BJP of trying to create a ‘hyper nationalistic environment’ ahead of the Lok Sabha Elections only to distract people from the issues of Read More…

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Mamata Releases TMC List for all 42 West Bengal Seats

West Bengal chief minister Mamata Banerjee on Tuesday announced a list of TMC candidates for all the 42 Lok Sabha seats of the state, dropping 10 sitting MPs. She also attacked the BJP and the Read More…

Lok Sabha Election 2019 Lok Sabha Election 2019: Priya Dutt, Raj Babbar Feature in Congress 2nd List

The Congress released its second list of 21 candidates for the Lok Sabha elections 2019 on Wednesday. The grand old party fielded its Uttar Pradesh chief Raj Babbar from Moradabad, Read More…

In the year of 2003 some changes happened in the Mizoram assembly election. Electronic voting machines were used in the state for the first time.

Parties submitting their candidacy included national parties like the National parties like BJP (Bharatiya Janata Party), INC (Indian National Congress), CPI(Communist Party of India); state parties like MNF (Mizo National Front), MZPC (Mizoram People's Conference), ZNP (Zoram Nationalist Party); other parties like JD(U) (Janata Dal (United)); and registered (unrecognised) parties like the EU (Ephraim Union), the HPC (Hmar People's Convention), the MDF (Maraland Democratic Front). This time the MNF attained twenty one seats, achieving the first position. Among the rest INC, MZPC, ZNP, HPC, and MDF reached twelve, three, two, one, and one constituencies, respectively. Out of 5,32,462 electors, there were 4,18,896 voters. 0.08% of the total votes polled (78.67%) were rejected. Pu Zoramthanga from the MNF party was re-elected as the chief minister of Mizoram. Amolak Rattan Kohli was the governor in Mizoram during his government's swearing-in ceremony.

List of Successful Candidates in Mizoram Assembly Election in 2003

See Also: Mizoram Assembly Election Results 2013

A. C. No.Assembly Constituency NameWinner Candidates NameGenderParty
1Tuipang (ST)P. P. ThawlaMMDF
2Saiha (ST)S. HiatoMINC
3Sangau (ST)H. RammawiMMNF
4Lawngtlai (ST)H. VanlalthalianaMMNF
5Chawngte (ST)Rasik Mohan ChakmaMMNF
6Tlabung (ST)Nihar KantiMINC
7Buarpui (ST)ZodintluangaMINC
8Lunglei SouthLalhmingthangaMMZPC
9Lunglei North (ST)Dr R. LalthanglianaMMNF
10Tawipui (ST)Z. H. RopuiaMMNF
11Vanva (ST)C. LalrinsangaMMNF
12Hnahthial (ST)F. LalthanzualaMMZPC
13North Vanlaiphai (ST)D.ThanglianaMMNF
14Khawbung (ST)K. VanlalauvaMMNF
15Champhai (ST)ZoramthangaMMNF
16Khawhai (ST)Lalrinliana SailoMINC
17Saitual (ST)R. LalzirlianaMINC
18Khawzawl (ST)Andrew LalherlianaMZNP
19Ngopa (ST)H. RohlunaMINC
20Suangpuilawn (ST)H. LalsangzualaMHPC
21Ratu (ST)LalduhawmaMZNP
22Kawnpui (ST)Sailothanga SailoMMZPC
23Kolasib (ST)ZoramthangaMMNF
24Bilkhawthlir (ST)LalchamlianaMMNF
25Lokicherra (ST)TawnluiaMMNF
26Kawrthah (ST)SaikapthiangaMINC
27Mamit (ST)LalthlenglianaMMNF
28Phuldungsei (ST)LiansuamaMINC
29Sateek (ST)B. LalthlenglianaMMNF
30Serchhip (ST)Lal ThanhawlaMINC
31Lungpho (ST)K. LianzualaMINC
32Tlungvel (ST)SainghakaMINC
33Aizawl North-I (ST)Dr LalzamaMMNF
34Aizawl North II (ST)H. LiansailovaMINC
35Aizawl East-I (ST)K. SangthuamaMMNF
36Aizawl East-II (ST)H. VanlalauvaMMNF
37Aizawl West I (ST)AichhingaMMNF
38Aizawl West-II (ST)LalrinchhanaMMNF
39Aizawl South - I (ST)R. TlanghmingthangaMMNF
40Aizawl South - II (ST)R. KhawpuithangaMMNF

List of Participating Political Parties in Mizoram Assembly Election in 2003

S.No.Party Abbreviation Party
National Parties
1BJP Bhartiya Janta Party
2CPI Communist Party of India
3INC Indian National Congress
State Parties
4MNF Mizo National Front
5MZPC Mizoram People's Conference
6ZNP Mizoram Nationalist Party
state Parties - Other States
7JD(U) Janata Dal (United)
Registered(Unrecognised ) Parties
8EU Ephraim Union
9HPC Hmar Peoples Convention
10MDF Maraland Democratic Front
11IND Independent

Last Updated on 11/2/2013