Track your constituency

Mizoram Assembly Election Results in 1972

Elections Latest News And Updates

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 BJP trying to create ‘hyper nationalistic environment’ ahead of Lok Sabha Elections: Rahul Gandhi

Congress president Rahul Gandhi has accused the BJP of trying to create a ‘hyper nationalistic environment’ ahead of the Lok Sabha Elections only to distract people from the issues of Read More…

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Mamata Releases TMC List for all 42 West Bengal Seats

West Bengal chief minister Mamata Banerjee on Tuesday announced a list of TMC candidates for all the 42 Lok Sabha seats of the state, dropping 10 sitting MPs. She also attacked the BJP and the Read More…

Lok Sabha Election 2019 Lok Sabha Election 2019: Priya Dutt, Raj Babbar Feature in Congress 2nd List

The Congress released its second list of 21 candidates for the Lok Sabha elections 2019 on Wednesday. The grand old party fielded its Uttar Pradesh chief Raj Babbar from Moradabad, Read More…

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Congress Releases First List of Candidates

Congress has put out its first list of candidates for the Lok Sabha elections, with party chief Rahul Gandhi contesting his bastion Amethi and UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi contesting from Read More…

upcoming Lok Sabha elections 2019 Samajwadi Party Releases First List of Candidates for Lok Sabha Elections 2019

There is no denying the fact that the road to the treasury bench of the lower house of the Parliament goes through Uttar Pradesh. The BJP-led coalition won 73 seats Read More…

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Mamata Banerjee to Kick Off Lok Sabha Election Campaign on Women’s Day

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee will kick off the TMC’s campaign for the Lok Sabha Electios on International Women’s Day on March 8, a party leader said Wednesday. Incidentally, Read More…

Mizoram became a Union Territory on January 21, 1972 under the North-Eastern Areas (Reorganization) Act, 1971. Three months later, Mizoram held its first State Legislative Assembly Elections on April 18, 1972. A total of 125 candidates contested for the 30 seats of assembly constituencies. The Samyukta Socialist Party and the Indian National Congress contested 18 and 29 seats, respectively. The Mizo Labour Party (MLP) and the Mizo Union (MU), two unrecognized parties, contested 27 and 25 seats, respectively, while 56 independent candidates also contested. The Mizo Union formed the first ministry after winning 21 seats in the 30-member Union Territory legislature, headed by Shri Lawrence C. Chhunga, who became the first Chief Minister of Mizoram on May 13, 1972. Towards the beginning of 1975, the MU merged with the Indian National Congress, which captured six seats and was thereafter joined by 3 successful independent candidates. In May 1977, the Chhunga ministry resigned at the end of its five-year term. A seven-month President's rule followed. Meanwhile, S. P. Mukherjee became the Governor on April 24, 1972 and his tenure ended on June 12, 1974.

See Also: Mizoram Assembly Election Results 2013

List of Successful Candidates in Mizoram Assembly Election in 1972

A. C. No.Assembly Constituency NameWinner Candidates NameGenderParty
3SaihaSapliana VandirMIND
4ChawngteSatio PrioMINC
5DemagiriHari Kristo ChakmaMINC
6BuarpuiP. B. NikhumaMIND
7LunglehK. L. RochamaMIND
8South VanlaiphaiSaitlawmaMIND
10North VanlaiphaiR. DotinaiaMIND
13Khaw ZawlVanlalhruataMIND
15SuangpuilwanH. ThansangaMIND
18KhawhaiJ. ThanghdamaMINC
19LungphoC LalruataMIND
22SateekRaite ZolianaMIND
23Aizawl SouthLaisangualaMINC
24Aizawl CentralLalrinlianaMIND
25Aizawal NorthR. ThanglianaMIND
26KawnpuiCh SaprawngaMIND
27KolasibCh ChhungaMIND
28SairangNg VrdawlaMIND
29MamitC ChawngkungaMIND

List of Participating Political Parties in Mizoram Assembly Election in 1972

S.No.Party Abbreviation Party
National Parties
1INCIndian National Congress
2SOP Samyukta Socialist Party/Socialist Party
3IND Independents

Last Updated on 11/2/2013