Track your constituency

Palamu Lok Sabha Elections and Results 2014

Elections Latest News And Updates

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 BJP trying to create ‘hyper nationalistic environment’ ahead of Lok Sabha Elections: Rahul Gandhi

Congress president Rahul Gandhi has accused the BJP of trying to create a ‘hyper nationalistic environment’ ahead of the Lok Sabha Elections only to distract people from the issues of Read More…

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Mamata Releases TMC List for all 42 West Bengal Seats

West Bengal chief minister Mamata Banerjee on Tuesday announced a list of TMC candidates for all the 42 Lok Sabha seats of the state, dropping 10 sitting MPs. She also attacked the BJP and the Read More…

Lok Sabha Election 2019 Lok Sabha Election 2019: Priya Dutt, Raj Babbar Feature in Congress 2nd List

The Congress released its second list of 21 candidates for the Lok Sabha elections 2019 on Wednesday. The grand old party fielded its Uttar Pradesh chief Raj Babbar from Moradabad, Read More…

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Congress Releases First List of Candidates

Congress has put out its first list of candidates for the Lok Sabha elections, with party chief Rahul Gandhi contesting his bastion Amethi and UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi contesting from Read More…

upcoming Lok Sabha elections 2019 Samajwadi Party Releases First List of Candidates for Lok Sabha Elections 2019

There is no denying the fact that the road to the treasury bench of the lower house of the Parliament goes through Uttar Pradesh. The BJP-led coalition won 73 seats Read More…

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Mamata Banerjee to Kick Off Lok Sabha Election Campaign on Women’s Day

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee will kick off the TMC’s campaign for the Lok Sabha Electios on International Women’s Day on March 8, a party leader said Wednesday. Incidentally, Read More…

jaharkhand (JH) Infographic

Formerly known as the Palamau Lok Sabha constituency, Palamu is one of the 14 Lok Sabha seats which belong to the Maoist-affected state of Jharkhand.
This constituency is reserved for candidates belonging to the Scheduled Castes. The Palamu Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 13) has a total of 1,417,375 electorates out of which 662,571 are females and 754,804 are males according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports. The Palamu Lok Sabha constituency is spread over the entire district of Garhwa and portions of the Palamu district.

Out of the six legislative assembly segments which make up Palamu, Garhwa and Bhawanathpur belong to the Garhwa district, while the remaining four Vidhan Sabha segments cover the entire district of Palamu. The Chhatarpur Assembly constituency is the only segment to be reserved for the marginalised sections of the society. Although a stronghold of the Congress since its formative years, the Palamu seat has remained with the BJP for the most part of the neo-liberal period, starting from the 1991 Lok Sabha elections. The two most prominent leaders here are Braj Mohan Ram of the BJP and Kamala Kumari of the Congress, who were elected as MPs from this Lok Sabha seat several times. Both the districts of Garhwa and Palamu have been identified as economically underdeveloped districts of the country, thus coming under the Government of India’s Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Palamu Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Palamu parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Palamu constituency is Shri Vishnu Dayal Ram of BJP.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201413Palamu(SC)Vishnu Dayal Ram M BJP 476513 Manoj Kumar M RJD 212571
200913Palamu(SC)Baitha,Shri Kameshwar MJMM167995Ghuran RamMRJD144457
2007Bye PolPalamuGENDhuran Ram MRJD164202Kameshwar Bytha MBSP141875
200413Palamu(SC)Manoj KumarMRJD206733Braj Mohan RamMBJP151589

Facts about current sitting MP of Palamu Constituency

Name of MP Shri Vishnu Dayal Ram
Age 67
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May, 2014 to In office
Political Party Bharatiya Janata Party
Gender Male
Educational Qualification B.A. (Hons)
Activities of Shri Vishnu Dayal Ram in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 66
Private member bills passed 5
Questions asked 328
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituencies in Palamu Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Palamu parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
DaltonganjBhawanathpurChhatarpur (SC)

Last Updated on February 24, 2015