Jharkhand registers 63.55 percent voting |Jharkhand registers 63.55 percent voting |Jharkhand registers 63.55 percent voting |Phase 6 General (Lok Sabha) Elections 2014 have begun in Jharkhand |

Khunti Lok Sabha (General) Elections Result

Khunti 16th Lok Sabha Elections Latest News And Live Update

Second phase of polls starts in Jharkhand - April 17, 2014 08:42 AM

The second phase of polls begins in Jharkhand for six constituencies -Ranchi, Jamshedpur, Hazaribhag, Chaibasa, Khunti and Giridh. Prominent names in today's elections are Jayant Sinha, son of BJP leader Yashwant Sinha, deputy speaker of Lok Sabha, Karia Munda and MP from Ranchi Subhodh Kant Sahay.

Jharkhand votes for six seats Thursday - April 16, 2014 01:57 PM

Jharkhand will vote for six Lok Sabha seats Thursday in the face of a boycott call given by Maoist guerrillas. The six seats which go to polls are Ranchi, Jamshedpur, Chaibasa, Khuti, Giridih and Hazaribagh. All six seats are affected by the presence of the Maoist guerrillas. Khuti is one of the worst affected constituencies of the state. Source: IANS

Second phase polling in Jharkhand April 17 - April 15, 2014 03:35 PM

For the second phase Jharkhand poll April 17, the BJP has been toiling to retain its seats, while the Congress and other parties are trying to improve their tallies. The first phase of polling for four seats was held April 10. Six Lok Sabha constituencies - Ranchi, Jamshedpur, Giridih, Hazaribagh, Khuti and Chaibasa - go to the polls April 17. Source: IANS
A prominent seat of the BJP in the eastern Indian state of Jharkhand is the Lok Sabha constituency of Khunti. As one of the 14 parliamentary
constituencies which are allotted to the state of Jharkhand, Khunti is reserved for candidates belonging to the Scheduled Tribes. 980,868 is the total electorate count in the Khunti Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 11).

List of candidates of Khunti constituency for 2014

The table below shows who are the contesting BJP, Congress, independent etc. candidates from the Khunti Constituency in the Jharkhand General (Lok Sabha) Elections 2014.

Khunti, Constituency No -(11)
Election Date17/04/2014 
Result Date16/05/2014 
Election Symbol Political PartyCandidate Name
BSPSubodh Purty
AAPDayamani Barla
BJPKaria Munda
INCKalicharan Munda
JVMBasant Kumar Longa
SPNitima Bodra Bari

AJSUPNeil Tirkey

JKPAnosh Ekka

ABJPBuday Munda

RADPMahadev Ravinath Pahan

INDAsrita Tuti

INDKalyan Nag

INDJitendra Manki Alias Jitendra Prasad Manki

INDJaitun Tuti

Out of these 498,491 number of electorates are males and the remaining 482,377 are belong to the female category as the Election commission of India 2009 reports suggest. The Khunti Parliamentary constituency covers the whole districts of Khunti and Simdega, and portions of the Ranchi and Seraikela Kharsawan districts. Out of the six legislative assembly segments which comprise this Lok Sabha constituency, the Kharsawan segment is situated in the Seraikela Kharsawan district, while the district of Ranchi houses the Tamar segment. Each of Khunti and Simdega covers two assembly segments. All of these six assembly segments are reserved for candidates belonging to the Scheduled Tribes. The most famous political leader here is Kariya Munda, who has enjoyed maximum mass appeal in this region. Munda, a significant leader of the BJP, has been elected the Member of Parliament from this seat seven times. This constituency of Khunti is economically underdeveloped, and thus comes under the Government of India’s special scheme of the Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme.

Khunti General Elections 2014 Important Dates

The table below represents the important dates associated with the Khunti General Elections 2014 and when are elections going to be held in Khunti - the date of issue of notification, nominations and much, more.

Phase of General ElectionPhase-5
Issue of Notification19/03/2014
Last Date for filing Nominations26/03/2014
Scrutiny of Nominations27/03/2014
Last date for withdrawal of Candidature29/03/2014
Date of Poll17/04/2014
Counting of Votes16/05/2014
Date before which the election shall be completed28/05/2014

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Khunti Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Khunti parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Khunti constituency is Shri Kariya Munda of BJP.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPSexPartyVoteRunner Up MPSexPartyVote
200911Khunti(ST)Munda,Shri Kariya MBJP210214Neil TirkeyMINC130039
200411Khunti(ST)Sushila KerkettaFINC218158Kariya MundaMBJP166932

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

Facts about sitting MP of Khunti Constituency

Name of MP Kariya Munda
Age 77
Nature of Membership Elected
Term 18-May-09 to In office
Political Party Bharatiya Janata Party
Gender Male
Educational Qualification Post Graduate
Activities of Kariya Munda in 15th Lok Sabha
Debates participated N/A
Private member bills passed N/A
Questions asked N/A
Attendance N/A

Note : As Deputy Speaker, this MP does not not sign the attendance register, ask questions, introduce private member bills, or participate in debates. (Data corresponds to the period 4 Jun 2009 to 18 Dec 2013.)

List of Assembly Constituencies in Khunti Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Khunti parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Kharsawan (ST)Torpa (ST)Kolebira (ST)
Tamar (ST)Khunti (ST)Simdega (ST)

Last Updated on February 06, 2014

Compare Infobase Limited
(ISO 9001:2000 Certified Company)
Copyright elections.in All right reserved