Who Will Form the Next Govenment in Telangana?
Elections.in WhatsappJoin Us on Whatsapp

Hazaribagh Lok Sabha Elections and Results 2014

jaharkhand (JH) Infographic

Covering the entire district of Ramgarh and portions of the Hazaribagh district, the Hazaribagh parliamentary constituency is one of the 14 Lok Sabha
seats allotted to the Maoist-affected state of Jharkhand. Five assembly segments comprise this constituency of Hazaribagh, of which two segments, namely, Ramgarh and Mandu fall within the geographical boundaries of Ramgarh, while the remaining three segments are spread over the district. The Hazaribagh Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 14) consists of 1,301,651 number of electorates in totality, of these 704,361 are males and 597,290 are females as the Election commission of India 2009 data suggests.  

The district of Ramgarh was formed in 2007, by being carved out of the Hazaribagh district. While Hazaribagh has been recognized as an economically backward district, Ramgarh, which has rich coal and mineral reserves, is one of the primary industrial hubs in Jharkhand, housing some of the most significant large-scale industries of sponge iron, steel, refractory and thermal power and cement.  

The district of Hazaribagh is part of the Red Corridor, as this region often faces the brunt of the whims of the Red Labels. Thus, the Hazaribagh constituency is one of the most political volatile segments of the parliament. Yashwant Sinha, former Finance Minister of India is the MP from the Hazaribagh constituency, representing the BJP. He has returned to the Hazaribagh seat for a total of 3 terms, making this parliamentary constituency much coveted and contested.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Hazaribagh Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Hazaribagh parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Hazaribagh constituency is Shri Yashwant Sinha of BJP.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201414HazaribaghGENJayant Sinha M BJP 406931 Saurabh Narain Singh M INC 247803
200914HazaribaghGENSinha,Shri Yashwant MBJP219810Saurabh Narain SinghMINC179646
200414HazaribaghGENBhubneshwar Prasad MehtaMCPI356058Yashwant SinhaMBJP250730

Facts about current sitting MP of Hazaribagh Constituency

Name of MP Shri Jayant Sinha
Age 55
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May, 2014 to In office
Political Party Bharatiya Janata Party
Gender Male
Educational Qualification B. Tech (Chemical Engineering) (with Distinction), M.Sc. (Energy Management and Policy), M.B.A. (with Distinction)
Activities of Shri Jayant Sinha in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 75
Private member bills passed 0
Questions asked 10
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituencies in Hazaribagh Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Hazaribagh parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies

Last Updated on February 24, 2015

Track your constituency