Track your constituency

Dumka Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

Live Election News

Once upon a time, Bengaluru was called City of Lakes, now most of the lakes are polluted, being encroached upon: P C @PCMohanMP while discussion on Motion of Thanks on Read More…

Congress leader in Lok Sabha, Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury: Did you manage to catch anybody in 2G & coal allocation scam? Did you manage to send Sonia Gandhi ji & Rahul Read More…

Don’t know how long Congress-JD(S) govt in Karnataka will survive: Deve Gowda  

Latest Election News and Update

Results Live Updates 2019 Lok Sabha (General) Election Results 2019 – Live Updates

Lok Sabha Election Results 2019 Live Updates   Exit Poll by Various Pollsters – Click Here Check Live Election Results 2019 – State Wise & Constituency Wise   21:09:15 केंद्रीय Read More…


When we set out on the 2019 journey, the scenario was quite fuzzy. The opposition parties were resurgent after the 2018 Assembly Elections. Congress was brimming over with confidence, and Read More…

Exit Poll 2019 Lok Sabha Election Exit Poll 2019 Live Updates

Lok Sabha Election Exit Poll 2019 – Live Updates The mega 7-phase Lok Sabha elections are just a few hours away from conclusion with the voting in last phase scheduled Read More…

Phase 7 Live Updates Lok Sabha Elections 2019 – Seventh Phase Live Updates

  Previous Phases Live Voter Turnout 2014 vs 2019 – Assembly Constituency Wise Phase 5 | Phase 6 |  Phase 7 Live Voter Turnout 2014 vs 2019  |  Phase 7 Read More…

Phase 7 Live Voter Turnout Phase 7 Live Voter Turnout – 2014 vs 2019 – Segement Wise

Seventh Phase Live Voter Turnout – 2014 vs 2019   Previous Phases Voter Tunrout –  Phase 5 | Phase 6 |   Total Turnout – Phase 7 – 65.06%   Read More…

Phase 7 Opinion Poll WILL BJP CREATE HISTORY AND BEAT THE 300 MARK? – Phase 7 Opinion Poll

PHASE 7 LIVE UDPATES – CLICK HERE    When we gave out our first opinion poll before the start of the Elections 2019, we had projected 271 seats for BJP. Read More…

jaharkhand (JH) Infographic

Reserved for candidates of the Scheduled Tribes is the constituency of Dumka in the eastern Indian state of Jharkhand. It is one of the 14 Lok Sabha segments of the state. It covers the Jamtara District, as well as portions of the Deoghar and Dumka districts. According to Election Commission of India 2009 data the total electorates in the Dumka Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 2) were 1,128,361 of which 542,479 are females and 585,882 are males. Being a stronghold of the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha from as early as 1989, the volatile Dumka holds political significance in the country as Shibu Soren, one of the most successful Chief Ministers of the state, has won from this constituency as an MP for six times in a row, starting from 1989.

Out of the six Assembly segments which comprise this Lok Sabha seat of Dumka, the segments of Sikaripara, Dumka and Jama are reserved for candidates from the weaker sections of society. While the segment of Sarath is spread across the Deoghar District and the legislative assembly segments of Jamtara and Nala are in the Jamtara District, the remaining 3 assembly segments cover the entire district of Dumka. This constituency of Dumka is economically backward, as the three districts it covers have been identified by the Government of India as economically dependent. These are thus being funded by the government’s Backward Regions Grant Fund (BRGF) programme.

Dumka Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Sunil SorenBharatiya Janata Party4837480117548492347.26Winner
Shibu SorenJharkhand Mukti Morcha4361580117543733342.631st Runner-up
Dr. Shrilal KiskuIndependent1656200165621.612nd Runner-up
Senapati MurmuCommunist Party Of India1615007161571.573rd Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above14365031143961.44th Runner-up
Arjun PujharAll India Trinamool Congress13084020131041.285th Runner-up
Samuel TuduIndependent1260900126091.236th Runner-up
Rajesh BesraIndependent58820058820.577th Runner-up
Thakuroon SorenIndependent55690255710.548th Runner-up
Raska SorenIndependent51350051350.59th Runner-up
Stephan BesraBahujan Samaj Party326201132730.3210th Runner-up
Ramesh TuduIndependent25780125790.2511th Runner-up
Probina MurmuIndependent22280222300.2212th Runner-up
Mohril MurmuIndependent22110222130.2213th Runner-up
Baghrai SorenIndependent20740120750.214th Runner-up
Satish SorenJharkhand People'S Party19230319260.1915th Runner-up

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Dumka Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Dumka parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Dumka constituency is Shri Shibu Soren of JMM.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
20142Dumka(ST)Shibu Soren M JMM 335815 Sunil Soren M BJP 296785
20092Dumka(ST)Soren,Shri Shibu MJMM208518Sunil SorenMBJP189706
20042Dumka(ST)Shibu SorenMJMM339542Sone Lal HembromMBJP224527
2002Bye PolDumka(ST) Shibu Soren MJMM256360Ramesh Hembram MBJP163535

Facts about current sitting MP of Dumka Constituency

Name of MP Shri Shibu Soren
Age 74
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May, 2014 to In office
Political Party Jharkhand Mukti Morcha
Gender Male
Educational Qualification Matriculate
Activities of Shri Shibu Soren in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated NA
Private member bills passed NA
Questions asked NA
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituencies in Dumka Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Dumka parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Sikaripara (ST)JamtaraDumka (ST)
NalaSarathJama (ST)

Last Updated on July 4, 2019