Who Will Form the Next Govenment in Telangana?
Elections.in WhatsappJoin Us on Whatsapp

Chatra Lok Sabha Elections and Results 2014

jaharkhand (JH) Infographic

Chatra is one of the 14 Lok Sabha constituencies allotted to the state of Jharkhand in eastern India. It contains five Assembly segments, which together are
spread across the districts of Chatra and Latehar, while covering parts of the Palamu district. The Chatra Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 4) consists of 1,037,665 number of electorates in totality, of these 546,122 are males and 491,543 are females as the Election commission of India 2009 data suggests. It is interesting to note that while four of these five assembly segments, that is the majority segments, are reserved for the candidates belonging to the marginalised strata of the society, Chatra continues to remain unreserved.´╗┐┬áTill 1977, Chatra covered the vast areas of Hazaribag, Gaya and Palamu. It was only after the reorganisation of the states that the districts of Chatra and Latehar were incorporated into this constituency. Like most of the districts in Jharkhand, Chatra, Latehar and Palamu are economically insufficient, thus coming under the purview of special privileges given by the government, such as the Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme. This constituency is part of the Red Corridor, due to the frequent infiltrations of the Maoists.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Chatra Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Chatra parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Chatra constituency is Shri Sunil Kumar Singh of BJP.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
20144ChatraGENSunil Kumar Singh M BJP 295862 Dhiraj Prasad Sahu M INC 117836
20094ChatraGENNamdhari,Shri Inder Singh MIND108336Dhiraj Prasad SahuMINC92158
20044ChatraGENDhirendra AgarwalMRJD121464Inder Singh NamdhariMJD(U)102609

Facts about current sitting MP of Chatra Constituency

Name of MP Shri Sunil Kumar Singh
Age 56
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May, 2014 to In office
Political Party Bharatiya Janata Party
Gender Male
Educational Qualification M.B.A. (Marketing), M.A. (Sociology)
Activities of Shri Sunil Kumar Singh in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 115
Private member bills passed 16
Questions asked 502
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituencies in Chatra Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Chatra parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Chatra (SC)Latehar (SC)Manika (ST)
Simaria (SC)Panki

Last Updated on February 24, 2015

Track your constituency