Which state goes to assembly elections 2018 next?
Elections.in WhatsappJoin Us on Whatsapp
News at a Glance
J & K Civic Polls: 60% Voting Recorded in Rajouri Sector | J&K Civic Body Elections: BJP Candidate Died, Polling Called Off

Srinagar Lok Sabha Elections and Results 2017

Leading/Winning Candidate in Srinagar Parliamentary By-Elections 2017

The table below shows the leading/winner candidate from the Srinagar Parliamentary Constituency for 2017 By-Elections. The party symbol is also shown along.

Winner Candidate -
Farooq Abdullah (won by:10775)
Political Party -

Srinagar Parliamentary Constituency 2017 By-Election Results

Table showing the winning and the runner-up Candidate of the 2017 lok sabha election in Srinagar

YearPartySymbolstatusCandidate Namevotes
2017 JKNPP RunnerUpNazir Ahmad Khan

List of candidates of Srinagar Constituency for 2017 Bye Elections

The Table below shows who are the contesting BJP, Congress, independent etc. candidates from the srinagar Parliamentary Constituency in the Jammu kashmir Parliamentary (Lok Sabha) Bye Elections 2017.

Srinagar , Constituency No -(2)
Election Date09/04/17 
Result Date15/04/2017 
Election Symbol Political PartyCandidate Name
INDMirza Sajad Hussain Beigh
INDGh Hassan Dar
INDFarooq Ahmad Dar
INDMehraj Khourshid Malik
JKNC Farooq Abdullah
JKNPP Nazir Ahmad Khan
All Jammu & Kashmir Liberal Democratic PartyBikram Singh
ABHMChetan Sharma
RSP(S)Sajad Reshi

Spread over the three districts of Budgam, Ganderbal and Srinagar is the Parliamentary constituency of Srinagar in the state of Jammu and Kashmir. It is one of the six parliamentary seats that belong to this northern Indian state.

Quick facts for Srinagar

Assembly Constituencies 15
Ruling Party JKPDP
MPTariq Hameed Karra
Electorals 2017MaleFemaleTotal
No. of Electorals5760355306941106729
Polling stations1483

1,106,729 is the total electorate count in the Srinagar Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 2). Out of these 576,035 number of electorates are males and the remaining 530,694 are belong to the female category as the Election commission of India 2009 reports suggest. This constituency has played a key role in national politics as it houses the capital of the state and is the seat of power, besides being highly volatile politically. A stronghold of the political party of Jammu and Kashmir National Conference, Srinagar comprises fifteen assembly segments. It was from the Srinagar Lok Sabha constituency that the present Chief Minister of Jammu and Kashmir, Omar Abdullah, was elected the Member of Parliament three consecutive times (1998-2004). After him, the seat was won by his father, Farooq Abdullah.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Srinagar Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Srinagar parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Srinagar constituency is Tariq Hameed Karra of PDP.

Year PC No. PC Name Category WinnerGenderPartyVoteRunner UpGenderPartyVote
20172SrinagarGENTariq Hameed Karra M PDP 157923 Farooq Abdullah M JKNPP 115643
20092SrinagarGENAbdullah,Dr. Farooq MJKN147035Iftikhar Hussain AnsariMJKPDP116793
20042SrinagarGENOmar AbdullahMJKN98422Advocate Ghulam Nabi LoneMJKPDP75263
19992SrinagarGENOmer AbdullahMJKN55542Mebooba MuftiMIND18683
19982SrinagarGENOmar AbdullahMJKN144609Aga Syed MohdiMINC73770
19962SrinagarGENGhulam Mohammad MirMINC55503Farooq Ahmad AnderabiMJD53904
19892SrinagarGENMohammad Shafi BhatMJKN Uncontested   
19842SrinagarGENAbdul Rashid KabuliMJKN367249Muzaffer Ahmed ShahMIND80972
19802SrinagarGENFarooq AbdullahMJKN Uncontested   
19772SrinagarGENAkbar Jahan BegamMJKN210072Molvi Iftikhar Hussain AnsariMIND87431
19712SrinagarGENShamim Ahmad ShamimMIND128948Bakhshi Gulam Mohd MINC71140
19672SrinagarGENB.G. MohamadMJKN59415A.M. TariqMINC50179

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

Facts about current sitting MP of Srinagar Constituency

Name of MP Dr. Farooq Abdullah
Age 81
Nature of Membership Elected
Term 15/04/2017 to In office
Political Party Jammu and Kashmir National Conference
Gender Male
Educational Qualification M.B.B.S.
Activities of Dr. Farooq Abdullah in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 0
Private member bills passed 0
Questions asked 0
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituencies in Srinagar Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Srinagar parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
HazratbalHabba KadalChadoora
ZadibalAmira KadalBadgam
BeerwahKhan SahebChrar Sharief

Last Updated on April 15, 2017

Track your constituency