Track your constituency

Ladakh Lok Sabha Elections and Results 2014

Elections Latest News And Updates

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Lok Sabha Elections 2019: BSP announces candidates for 6 Chhattisgarh Seats

The candidates were announced for Bastar, Kanker, Raigarh, Durg, Surguja, and Janjgir Champa. The last of these six seats — an SC reserved seat — is where the BSP is Read More…

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 BJP trying to create ‘hyper nationalistic environment’ ahead of Lok Sabha Elections: Rahul Gandhi

Congress president Rahul Gandhi has accused the BJP of trying to create a ‘hyper nationalistic environment’ ahead of the Lok Sabha Elections only to distract people from the issues of Read More…

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Mamata Releases TMC List for all 42 West Bengal Seats

West Bengal chief minister Mamata Banerjee on Tuesday announced a list of TMC candidates for all the 42 Lok Sabha seats of the state, dropping 10 sitting MPs. She also attacked the BJP and the Read More…

Lok Sabha Election 2019 Lok Sabha Election 2019: Priya Dutt, Raj Babbar Feature in Congress 2nd List

The Congress released its second list of 21 candidates for the Lok Sabha elections 2019 on Wednesday. The grand old party fielded its Uttar Pradesh chief Raj Babbar from Moradabad, Read More…

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Congress Releases First List of Candidates

Congress has put out its first list of candidates for the Lok Sabha elections, with party chief Rahul Gandhi contesting his bastion Amethi and UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi contesting from Read More…

upcoming Lok Sabha elections 2019 Samajwadi Party Releases First List of Candidates for Lok Sabha Elections 2019

There is no denying the fact that the road to the treasury bench of the lower house of the Parliament goes through Uttar Pradesh. The BJP-led coalition won 73 seats Read More…

The Ladakh Lok Sabha seat, as one of the six Parliamentary seats in Jammu and Kashmir, holds a politically important place in the history of independent India. This constituency covers the Kargil district in the state of J&K, which witnessed the Kargil War between India and Pakistan in 1999.

Quick facts for Ladakh

Assembly Constituencies 16
Ruling Party BJP
MPThupstan Chhewang
Electorals 2014MaleFemaleTotal
No. of Electorals7794374548152491
Polling stations476

The Ladakh Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 4) has a total of 152,491 electorates out of which 74,548 are females and 77,943 are males according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports. Situated close to the Line of Control (LoC) in the state, the Kargil War (or the Kargil Conflict) has made the region politically vulnerable and volatile. This parliamentary seat thus holds immense significance in each general election. The Ladakh Lok Sabha seat, besides covering the Kargil district, also covers the district of Leh. Both these districts are near the Line of Control in Jammu and Kashmir. This constituency covers four assembly segments, which are spread over the two districts of Ladakh and Leh. While the Nubra and Leh assembly segments are situated in the Leh District, the two assembly segments of Kargil and Zanskar are situated in the Kargil district. Kargil and Leh are two of the least populous districts in the state, with populations of 143,388 and 147,104, respectively. The economy of the district survives on a rich and expansive tourism sector, owing to the presence of the Himalayan ranges and abundant natural beauty.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Ladakh Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Ladakh parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Ladakh constituency is Thupstan Chhewang of BJP.

Year PC No. PC Name Category WinnerGenderPartyVoteRunner UpGenderPartyVote
20144Ladakh(ST)Thupstan Chhewang M BJP 31111 Ghulam Raza M IND 31075
20094Ladakh(ST)Hassan Khan MIND32701Phuntsog NamgyalMINC29017
20044LadakhGENThupstan ChhewangMIND66839Hassan KhanMJKN41126
19994LadakhGENHassan KhanMJKN52187Thupstan ChhewangMINC50097
19984LadakhGENSyed HussainMJKN62432Phuntsog NamgyalMINC31875
19964LadakhGENPhuntsog NamgyalMINC54592Qamar Ali AkhoonMIND44457
19894LadakhGENMohd. HassanMIND45151Phuntsong NamgyalMINC40612
19844LadakhGENPhuntsog NamgyalMINC33037Qamar AliMJKN25060
19804LadakhGENPhuntsog NamgyalMIND20314Kacho Habib Ullah KhanMJKN14262
19774LadakhGENParvati DeviFINC23130Mohammad Ali Alias Ali KargilMIND20253
19714LadakhGENKushok BakulaMINC20783Sonam WahgdusMIND16726
19674LadakhGENKushok BakulaMINC Uncontested  

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

Facts about current sitting MP of Ladakh Constituency

Name of MP Shri Thupstan Chhewang
Age 71
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May, 2014 to In office
Political Party Bharatiya Janata Party
Gender Male
Educational Qualification B.A., LL.B.
Activities of Shri Thupstan Chhewang in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 23
Private member bills passed 0
Questions asked 31
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituencies in Ladakh Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Ladakh parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
NubraKargil Zanskar

Last Updated on February 24, 2015