Track your constituency

Anantnag General(Lok Sabha) Election Results 2019

Latest Election News and Update

Congress By-Poll Reasons for Congress Drubbing in Karnataka By-Polls 2019

As many as 165 candidates, including 126 Independents and 9 women were in the fray for the 15 assembly seats. The BJP and the opposition Congress had contesting in all the Read More…

BJP Karnataka By-Poll Win BJP’s clean sweep in Karnataka By-Polls

It was a victorious Monday for BJP when it won 12 out of 15 seats in Karnataka by-elections on 9th December 2019. Now, the Yediyurappa government stands stronger than before Read More…

Karnataka By-Elections Live Results Karnataka By-Election Results Live Updates

KARNATAKA BY-ELECTIONS RESULTS SUMMARY Karnataka By-Polls Results: BJP:12, INC:2, JD(S):0, INDEPENDENT:1 With BJP en-route a mammoth victory in the Karntaka bypolls, chief minister B.S. Yediyurappa is set to retain his Read More…

Uddhav Thackeray The Political Expedition of Uddhav Thackeray

Uddhav Thackeray – The current chief minister of the state of Maharashtra took the first step in politics with the help of his powerful father Blasaheb Thackeray. How unbelievable it Read More…

ByElection Opinion Poll 2019 The Exit Polls seem to secure the Yedurappa Government.

On 5th December 2019, By-polls were held for 15 seats of the Karnataka Legislative Assembly. While the results will be declared on 9th December, Karnataka Exit Polls have suggested a Read More…

Karnataka ByPoll Uncertain Times Mire Karnataka Polity

The Supreme Court with its decision that upheld former Karnataka assembly speaker K.R. Ramesh Kumar to disqualify 17 rebel Congress-Janata Dal (Secular) legislators for defection but defected MLA’s can contest elections, Supreme Court by this Read More…

Could not connect: php_network_getaddresses: getaddrinfo failed: Name or service not known In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

The historically significant Lok Sabha constituency of Anantnag is one of the six Parliamentary constituencies in the northern Indian state of Jammu and Kashmir.This Lok Sabha constituency covers four districts: Kulgam, Pulwama, Shopian and Anantnag.

Quick facts for Anantnag

Assembly Constituencies 15
Ruling Party JKPDP
MPMehbooba Mufti
Electorals 2014MaleFemaleTotal
No. of Electorals6115715646521176223
Polling stations1501

According to Election Commission of India 2009 data the total electorates in the Anantnag Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 3) were 1,176,223 of which 564,652 are females and 611,571 are males. There are 16 Vidhan Sabha segments in Anantnag. It is a highly contested constituency, as a crucial battle has erupted between the Jammu and Kashmir National Conference and the Jammu and Kashmir People’s Democratic Party. This seat remained with the Indian National Congress in its formative years. The picturesque city and municipality of Anantnag is the administrative headquarters of the district of Anantnag. The constituency primarily survives on a rich and expansive tourism sector, owing to the lush valleys and the Himalayas. Fruits such as apple and agricultural crops such as rice and wheat are also grown here.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Anantnag Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Anantnag parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Anantnag constituency is Mehbooba Mufti of PDP.

Year PC No. PC Name Category WinnerGenderPartyVoteRunner UpGenderPartyVote
20143AnantnagGENMehbooba Mufti F PDP 200429 Mirza Mehboob Beg M JKNPP 135012
20093AnantnagGENBeg,(Dr.) Mirza Mehboob MJKN148317Peer Mohd Hussain MJKPDP143093
20043AnantnagGENMehbooba MuftiFJKPDP74436Beg,(Dr.) Mirza MehboobMJKN35498
19993AnantnagGENAli Mohd NaikMJKN38745Mufti Mohd. SyeedMIND25253
19983AnantnagGENMufti Mohd. SayeedMINC120444Mohd. Yusuf TengMJKN68444
19963AnantnagGENMohd. MaqboolMJD117221Taj Mohi-Ud-DinMINC59137
19893AnantnagGENP.L.HandooMJKN36055Abdul Rashid KhanMIND186
19843AnantnagGENAkbar Jahan BegumFJKN240973Peer Hussan-Ud-DinMINC158963
19803AnantnagGENGh. Rasool KochakMJKN179020Ali Mohd. NaikMIND95050
19773AnantnagGENDr. Mohd. Shafi QureshiMINC79742Ab. Razak MirMIND71411
19713AnantnagGENDr. Mohd. Shafi QureshiMINC150827Peep Gulam Nabi ShahMIND90434
19673AnantnagGENM.S. QureshiMINC Uncontested  

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

List of Assembly Constituencies in Anantnag Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Anantnag parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
RajpuraHom Shali BugShangusAnantnag

Last Updated on June 14, 2019