Track your constituency

Himachal Pradesh Election 2017 Infographic

Kangra Lok Sabha Elections and Results 2014

Elections Latest News And Updates

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Rahul hid Income info from Election Commission: New BJP Salvo

BJP on Sunday accused Congress president Rahul Gandhi of hiding facts about his income from the Election Commission and alleged that he made huge profits through highly inflated rentals and Read More…

Loksabha Elections 2019 Amit Shah says that Election is Modi vs Faceless Opposition

Dubbing the Lok Sabha elections as a contest between Prime Minister Narendra Modi and a ‘faceless’ alliance of opposition parties, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) president Amit Shah, on Sunday, appealed Read More…

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Lok Sabha Elections 2019: BSP announces candidates for 6 Chhattisgarh Seats

The candidates were announced for Bastar, Kanker, Raigarh, Durg, Surguja, and Janjgir Champa. The last of these six seats — an SC reserved seat — is where the BSP is Read More…

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 BJP trying to create ‘hyper nationalistic environment’ ahead of Lok Sabha Elections: Rahul Gandhi

Congress president Rahul Gandhi has accused the BJP of trying to create a ‘hyper nationalistic environment’ ahead of the Lok Sabha Elections only to distract people from the issues of Read More…

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Mamata Releases TMC List for all 42 West Bengal Seats

West Bengal chief minister Mamata Banerjee on Tuesday announced a list of TMC candidates for all the 42 Lok Sabha seats of the state, dropping 10 sitting MPs. She also attacked the BJP and the Read More…

Lok Sabha Election 2019 Lok Sabha Election 2019: Priya Dutt, Raj Babbar Feature in Congress 2nd List

The Congress released its second list of 21 candidates for the Lok Sabha elections 2019 on Wednesday. The grand old party fielded its Uttar Pradesh chief Raj Babbar from Moradabad, Read More…

Having been home to the oldest serving Royal Dynasty, the district of Kangra is covered by the parliamentary constituency of the same name. The Kangra Lok Sabha seat is one of the four Lok Sabha constituencies in the hilly state of Himachal Pradesh located in the northern regions of India. 1,200,165 is the total electorate count in the Kangra Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency

Quick facts for Kangra

Assembly Constituencies17
Ruling Party BJP
MPShanta Kumar
Electorals 2014MaleFemaleTotal
No. of Electorals604496 5956691200165
Polling stations1777
number 1). Out of these 604,496 number of electorates are males and the remaining 595,669 belong to the female category as the Election commission of India 2009 reports suggest. Situated in the Kangra district, the town of Dharamshala which is an integral part of this parliamentary seat, is the administrative headquarters of the district, while Kangra city houses the Municipal Corporation of the Kangra district.  

Kangra district is the most populous among other districts of Himachal Pradesh, with a population of 15,10,075 according to the 2011 Census of India. The economy of the Kangra parliamentary constituency thrives essentially on an agricultural backbone comprising the production of the famous Kangra Tea. Farming as well as some small-scale industries such as packaging, potato chips etc. also form the main economic activities in the district. An expansive tourism sector also contributes to the district’s economy, as Kangra is the exotic land of the Himalayan ranges.  

Like the other three constituencies that belong to Himachal Pradesh, 17 Vidhan Sabha segments dot the jurisdiction of the Kangra parliamentary constituency.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Kangra Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Kangra parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Kangra constituency is Shanta Kumar of BJP.

Year PC No. PC Name Category WinnerGenderPartyVoteRunner UpGenderPartyVote
20141KangraGENShanta Kumar M BJP 456163 Chander Kumar M INC 286091
20091KangraGENSushant,Dr. Rajan MBJP322254Chander KumarMINC301475
20043KangraGENChander KumarMINC314555Shanta KumarMBJP296764
19993KangraGENShanta KumarMBJP325066Sat MahajanMINC224324
19983KangraGENShanta KumarMBJP334684Sat MahajanMINC275449
19963KangraGENSat MahajanMINC263817Shanta KumarMBJP226293
19913KangraGEND.D. KhanoriaMBJP174457Chandresh Kumari (W)FINC163641
19893KangraGENShanta KumarMBJP235147Chandresh KumariFINC175943
19843KangraGENChandresh KumariFINC232287Sarvan KumarMBJP114854
19803KangraGENVikram Chand MahajanMINC(I)148946Sarvan Kumar ChaudhariMJNP118016
19773KangraGENDurga ChandMBLD157832Vikram Chand MahajanMINC118828
19713KangraGENVikram ChandMINC111276Sarwan KumarMBJS40388
19674KangraGENHem RajMINC44262Sarwan KumarMBJS38860
19621KangraGENHem RajMINC73342Sarwan KumarMIND44160
19571KangraGENDaljit Singh MINC73783Kultar ChandMIND61245
19571KangraGENHem Raj MINC71531Shankar Singh MSCF53730
195112KangraGENHem RajMINC102669Yodh RajMBJS28311

Facts about current sitting MP of Kangra Constituency

Name of MP Shri Shanta Kumar
Age 84
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May, 2014 to In office
Political Party Bharatiya Janata Party
Gender Male
Educational Qualification B.A., LL.B.
Activities of Shri Shanta Kumar in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 14
Private member bills passed 0
Questions asked 12
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituencies in Kangra Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Kangra parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies

Last Updated on February 24, 2015