Which Party will get the majority in Himachal Pradesh Election Results?
News at a Glance
Live updates on Himachal Pradesh and Gujarat Assembly Elections Result 2017

Election Commission of Tripura

About Election Commission of Tripura

Tripura is among the smaller states of India and lies in the northeastern part. Previously known as the princely state of Tippera, it gained the status of a new state of the Indian Union on January 21, 1972. Owing to its small size and population, it has only 60 seats in its assembly. Sixty is, in fact, the minimum number of seats a state can have to form its legislative assembly. The state last witnessed elections in early 2013, when the last government’s tenure of five years ended.

History and Formation

An amendment in the Indian constitution in the year 1992 provisioned each state to have an election commission of its own, operating under the helm of the state government. On the same lines, the state election commission of Tripura was formally constituted. The newly constituted State Election Commission was empowered to conduct, supervise and superintend all local rural and urban elections taking place in the state. It was vested with powers that allowed it to exercise electoral programmes and initiatives to ensure free and fair elections in the state.

Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) of Tripura

The Chief Electoral Officer looks after the conduct of elections in the election commission. The CEO of Tripura is Shri Ashutosh Jindal, an IAS officer of repute.

Officers Appointed by the Election Commissioner of Tripura

The state election commission of Tripura has appointed many officers to carry out its duties in the most transparent and efficient manner. The names of the officers are as follows:
  • Chief Electoral Officer: Shri Ashutosh Jindal
  • Addl. Chief Electoral Officer: Shri D. C. Das
  • Joint Chief Electoral Officer: Shri D. Modak
  • Asst. Chief Electoral Officer: Shri S. Banik
  • District Electoral Officer, West Tripura: Shri Gitte Kiran Kumar Dinkarrao
  • District Electoral Officer, North Tripura: Shri Parshant Kumar
  • District Electoral Officer, Soth Tripura: Shri Saumitra Bandopadhyay
  • District Electoral Officer, Khowai: Smt Tanusree Debbarma
  • District Electoral Officer, Gomati: Shri Manik Lal Dey
  • District Electoral Officer, Unakoti: Shri Abhishek Chandra
  • District Electoral Officer, Dhalai: Shri Abhishek Singh
  • District Electoral Officer, Sepahijala: Shri Krishna Dulal Chowfdhury

Schedule and Budget of Elections

The schedule and budget will be announced shortly before the next state elections, which will be most likely in 2018.

Contact information and Address

Office of the Chief Electoral Officer
Election Department, Old Civil Secretariat Complex
Akhaura Road, Agartala 799001
Tripura (West)
Phone: 0381-2323691
Fax: 0381-2324510
E-Mail: tripuraelection@gmail.com
Website: www.ceotripura.nic.in

Election Commission Latest News And Updates

June 20, 2015 03:15 PM
To ensure greater transparency and avoid confusion in the minds of voters, the Election Commission has decided that electronic voting machines (EVMs..... Read More
Last Updated on August 11, 2014

Track your constituency