Who Will Form the Next Govenment in Telangana?
Elections.in WhatsappJoin Us on Whatsapp

South Delhi Lok Sabha Elections and Results 2014

The South Delhi constituency, being one of the seven Lok Sabha seats allotted to Delhi, is symbolic of the power of the BJP in Delhi, as this seat witnessed unprecedented win of the BJP. The South Delhi Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 7) consists of 1,542,412 number of electorates in totality, of these 891,156 are males and 651,256 are females as the Election commission of India 2009 data suggests.
Some of the most popular leaders such as Sushma Swaraj and Madan Lal Khurana of the BJP have remained MPs from the South Delhi constituency. This politically active and significant seat of South Delhi came into existence in 1966.

As per the 2011 Census of India, with a population of 2,733,752, the South Delhi parliamentary constituency is one of the most densely populated regions of the Union Territory of Delhi, with an estimate of 10,935 inhabitants per square kilometer. Covering vast regions such as Munirka, Begumpur, Jia Sarai, Katwaria Sarai, Badarpur, Mandi Village, Hauz Khas Village, Lado Sarai, Ber Sarai, C.R. Park and the historic Badarpur on the Grand Trunk Road, this seat of Delhi is one of the most affluent and historically prominent regions of Delhi. From its inception in 1966 to 1993, the South Delhi Parliamentary constituency consisted of eight Metropolitan Council segments. From 1993 to 2008, the constituency consisted of 13 segments. Today, after the Delimitation Commission’s Order of 2008, this parliamentary constituency consists of 10 Assembly segments. Some of the most popular and historic tourist attractions of South Delhi constituency are the Deer Park and Rose Garden in Hauz Khas, Asoka Wildlife Sanctuary, the innumerable monuments in Tughlaqabad, the famous markets in Sarojini Nagar, Lajpat Nagar and Greater Kailash, among many others.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs South Delhi Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of South Delhi parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the South Delhi constituency is Ramesh Bidhuri of BJP.

Year PC No. PC Name Category WinnerGenderPartyVoteRunner UpGenderPartyVote
20147South DelhiGENRamesh BidhuriMBJP497980Col Devinder SehrawatMAAP390980
20097South DelhiGENKumar,Shri Ramesh MINC360278Ramesh BidhuriMBJP267059
20042South DelhiGENVijay Kumar MalhotraMBJP240654R. K. AnandMINC224649
19992South DelhiGENVijay Kumar MalhotraMBJP261230Dr. Manmohan SinghMINC231231
19982South DelhiGENSushma SwarajFBJP331756Ajay MakenMINC215043
19962South DelhiGENSushma SwarajMBJP294570Kapil SibalMINC180564
19912South DelhiGENMadan Lal KhuranaMBJP208728Romesh BhandariMINC158005
19892South DelhiGENMadan Lal KhuranaMBJP282904Shubash ChopraMINC177910
1985By PollsSouth DelhiGENA. SinghMIND161744Vijay Kumar MalhotraMBJP121830
19842South DelhiGENLalit MakenMINC215898Vijay Kumar MalhotraMBJP130847
19802South DelhiGENCharanjit Singh (West Friends Colony)MINC(I)150513Vijay Kumar MalhotraMJNP146413
19772South DelhiGENVijay Kumar MalhotraMBLD183947Charanjit SinghMINC76390
19712South DelhiGENShashi BhushanMINC168406Balraj MadhokMBJS96816
19672South DelhiGENBalraj MadhokMBJS105611R. Singh MINC69290

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

List of Assembly Constituencies in South Delhi Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in South Delhi parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Bijwasan Deoli Kalkaji
Palam Ambedkar Nagar Tughlakabad
Mehrauli Sangam Vihar Badarpur

Last Updated on 19 January, 2019.

Track your constituency