Track your constituency

Chandni Chowk Lok Sabha Elections and Results 2014

Elections Latest News And Updates

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Lok Sabha Elections 2019: BSP announces candidates for 6 Chhattisgarh Seats

The candidates were announced for Bastar, Kanker, Raigarh, Durg, Surguja, and Janjgir Champa. The last of these six seats — an SC reserved seat — is where the BSP is Read More…

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 BJP trying to create ‘hyper nationalistic environment’ ahead of Lok Sabha Elections: Rahul Gandhi

Congress president Rahul Gandhi has accused the BJP of trying to create a ‘hyper nationalistic environment’ ahead of the Lok Sabha Elections only to distract people from the issues of Read More…

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Mamata Releases TMC List for all 42 West Bengal Seats

West Bengal chief minister Mamata Banerjee on Tuesday announced a list of TMC candidates for all the 42 Lok Sabha seats of the state, dropping 10 sitting MPs. She also attacked the BJP and the Read More…

Lok Sabha Election 2019 Lok Sabha Election 2019: Priya Dutt, Raj Babbar Feature in Congress 2nd List

The Congress released its second list of 21 candidates for the Lok Sabha elections 2019 on Wednesday. The grand old party fielded its Uttar Pradesh chief Raj Babbar from Moradabad, Read More…

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Congress Releases First List of Candidates

Congress has put out its first list of candidates for the Lok Sabha elections, with party chief Rahul Gandhi contesting his bastion Amethi and UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi contesting from Read More…

upcoming Lok Sabha elections 2019 Samajwadi Party Releases First List of Candidates for Lok Sabha Elections 2019

There is no denying the fact that the road to the treasury bench of the lower house of the Parliament goes through Uttar Pradesh. The BJP-led coalition won 73 seats Read More…

Chandni Chowk Lok Sabha Election Summary

Chandni Chowk or Old Delhi has emerged as one of the key battlegrounds. The BJP's candidate Dr. Harsh Vardhan, the Aam Aadmi Party's candidate Ashutosh and Congress' candidate Kapil Sibal contested for the Lok Sabha seat from the Chandni Chowk constituency but it was <> who emerged out as the clear winner.

BJP's candidate Dr. Harsh Vardhan won the election by a resounding 437938 votes, defeating by a margin of 136320 votes. In third place, Congress' Kapil Sibal won a total of 176206 votes.

Ruling MP and the Indian National Congress' candidate Kapil Sibal has had a strong hold in Chandni Chowk, retaining the constituency for two terms in a row now. Sibal had come out as a clear winner in the 2009 elections sweeping 59.67% votes of the constituency, thereby winning with the margin of 2,00,710 votes where a total of 7,80,445 votes were cast.

The BJP candidate Vijendar Gupta had come at a far second by securing 2,65,003 votes which made only 33.96% of the total votes and the BSP's Mohammad Mustaqeem managed only 26,486 of the total votes cast comprising only 3.39% of the total in the 2009 elections.

The basic issues encompassing all the ten assembly constituencies which come under the Lok Sabha seat of Chandni Chowk are largely the same. The constituency faces the issues of illegal encroachment, never ending congestion, civic amenities like poor infrastructure, unstable supply of water and sealing which were also the dominating factors in the campaigning agendas for almost all the parties.

Out of the seven parliamentary constituencies which represent the National Capital Territory of Delhi, one of the most prominent is Chandni Chowk. The Chandni Chowk Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 1) has a total of 1,413,535 electorates out of which 629,990 are females and 783,545 are males according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports.
Being one of the oldest and earliest constituencies in the country, it has been represented from the very beginning, by most prominent political leaders such as Radha Raman of the Indian National Congress, Vijay Goel, Union Minister of the UPA regime, Kapil Sibal presently. Hence, the Chandni Chowk seat plays a nationally important role, so far as the political discourse in India is concerned.

Not only is the constituency very densely populated, but it also covers expansive regions spanning from Lahori Darwaza to Chowk Kotwali, covering Chandni Chowk and ending in Fatehpuri Masjid. Finding popular references in the times of Mughal Emperor Shah Jahan in the 17th century, this parliamentary constituency which lies in the historically important Shahjahanabad area, has at present 10 assembly segments which make up the Chandni Chowk parliamentary seat. This decision was finalized by the 2008 Order of the Delimitation Commission of India which was instituted in 2002.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Chandni Chowk Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Chandni Chowk parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Chandni Chowk constituency is Dr. Harsh Vardhan of BJP.

Year PC No. PC Name Category WinnerGenderPartyVoteRunner UpGenderPartyVote
20141Chandni ChowkGENDr. Harsh VardhanMBJP436468AshutoshMAAP300515
20091Chandni ChowkGENSibal,Shri Kapil MINC465713Vijender GuptaMBJP265003
20045Chandni ChowkGENKapil SibalMINC127396Smriti Z. IraaniMBJP47981
19995Chandni ChowkGENVijay GoelMBJP74001Jai Prakash AggarwalMINC72006
19985Chandni ChowkGENVijay GoelMBJP79546Jai Parkash AgarwalMINC75197
19965Chandni ChowkGENJai Parkash AgarwalMINC92634J.K. JainMBJP70390
19915Chandni ChowkGENTara Chand KhandelwalMBJP80898Jai Prakash Aggrawal S/O Ram CharanMINC78124
19895Chandni ChowkGENJai Prakash AggarwalMINC89891Satish Chander KhandelwalMBJP80460
19845Chandni ChowkGENJai Parkash AgarwalMINC122069Sikander BakhtMBJP74993
19805Chandni ChowkGENBhiku Ram JainMINC(I)100624Sikander BakhtMJNP83389
19775Chandni ChowkGENSikander BakhtMBLD185850Subhadra JoshiMINC69861
19715Chandni ChowkGENSubhadra JoshiMINC88907Ram Gopal ShalwaleMBJS43684
19675Chandni ChowkGENR. GopalMBJS58928Sham Nath MINC41778
19622Chandni ChowkGENSham NathMINC69508Amrit Lal Jindal MJS40560
19572Chandni ChowkGENRadha RamanMINC50758Basant Rao MBJS36361

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

List of Assembly Constituencies in Chandni Chowk Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Chandni Chowk parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Adarsh Nagar Wazirpur Chandni Chowk
Shalimar Bagh Model Town Matia Mahal
Shakur Basti Sadar Bazar Ballimaran
Tri Nagar  

Last Updated on 23 March, 2019.