Who Will Form the Next Govenment in Telangana?
Elections.in WhatsappJoin Us on Whatsapp

Bhagalpur Lok Sabha Elections and Results 2014

One of the 40 parliamentary constituencies of Bihar is Bhagalpur, which holds political importance in the overall political ambience not only of Bihar, but of the country as a whole.
The Bhagalpur Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 26) consists of 1,433,346 number of electorates in totality, of these 774,758 are males and 658,588 are females as the Election commission of India 2009 data suggests. It is presently situated in the Bhagalpur district in the plains of the Ganga River basin. This parliamentary constituency contested its first Lok Sabha elections in 1951, when the constituency was a combined representation of the Darbhanga and Bhagalpur districts. However, today it stands separated.  

With the Bhagalpur district’s population of 30,32,226 people according to the 2011 Census, this parliamentary constituency is one of the most renowned urban centres of Bihar. Bhagalpur Town, which is an integral part of the constituency, is a Municipal Corporation. Bhagalpur is also the administrative town of the district. Known for its rich production of silk sarees and other silk items, Bhagalpur is also called the Silk City of India. The silk and handloom industry provides the backbone of the economy, although it is also reliant on agriculture and small businesses, as many crops such as rice, wheat, barley are grown in the fertile Gangetic plains.  

Bhagalpur has remained one of the primary trading centres of Bihar for a very long time, with industries such as NTPC Kahalgaon is situated here. It has nonetheless been announced as one of the most backward regions in Bihar, receiving regular funds from the Government of India under the Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme (BRGFP).  

The Pirpainti assembly constituency out of the six assembly segments which constitute the Bhagalpur parliamentary constituency, is reserved for candidates belonging to the scheduled castes.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Bhagalpur Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Bhagalpur parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Bhagalpur constituency is Shailesh Kumar Urph Bulo Mandal of RJD.

Year PC No. PC Name Category WinnerGenderPartyVoteRunner UpGenderPartyVote
201426BhagalpurGenShailesh Kumar Urph Bulo MandalMRJD9485Syed Shahnawaz HussainMBharatiya Janata Party358138
200926BhagalpurGENHussain,Shri Syed Shahnawaz MBJP228384Shakuni ChoudharyMRJD172573
2006By PollsBhagalpurGENSyed Shahnawaz Husain MBJP221001Shakuni Choudhary MRJD165390
200427BhagalpurGENSushil Kumar ModiMBJP345151Subodh RayMCPM227298
199930BhagalpurGENSubodh RayMCPM321159Prabhash Chandra TiwariMBJP275619
199830BhagalpurGENPrabhas Chandra TiwariMBJP349463Chun Chun Prasad YadavMRJD257616
199630BhagalpurGENChunchun Prasad YadavMJD269927Prabhash Chandra TiwariMBJP216790
199129BhagalpurGENChunchun Pra. YadavMJD315292Sadanand SinghMIND146668
198930Bhagalpur(ST)Chun Chun Prasad YadavMJD547723Bhagwad Jha AzadMINC112325
198430Bhagalpur(ST)Bhagwat Jha AzadMINC228030Jagesar MandalMLKD197545
198030BhagalpurGENBhagwat Jha AzadMINC(I)175995Jageshwar MandalMJNP(S)99310
197730BhagalpurGENDr. Ramji SinghMBLD304791Bhagwat Jha AzadMINC120073
197128BhagalpurGENBhagwat Jha AzadMINC146881Rameshwar Nath Tewari MCPI85842
196728BhagalpurGENB. J. AzadMINC110377R. Tewary MCPI75563
196228BhagalpurGENBhagwat Jha AzadMINC100657Chhabi Nath Singh MCPI39528
195723BhagalpurGENBanarshi Prasad JhunjhunwalaMINC93315Chhabinath SinghMCPI43876

List of Assembly Constituencies in Bhagalpur Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Bhagalpur parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
BihpurGopalpurPirpainti (SC)

Last Updated on February 24, 2015

Track your constituency
googletag.display('div-gpt-ad-1463467692145-0'); });