Who Will Form the Next Govenment in Telangana?
Elections.in WhatsappJoin Us on Whatsapp

Banka Lok Sabha Elections and Results 2014

Situated in the Banka district is one of the 40 Lok Sabha constituencies which belong to the eastern Indian state of Bihar.
The total number of electorates in the Banka Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 27) according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports are 1,338,025 of which 716,138 are males and 621,887 are females. The Banka parliamentary constituency comprises of six legislative assembly segments, out of which Dhoraiya and Katoria are reserved for candidates belonging to the marginalized sections of the society. This district, whose headquarters is the Banka town, is part of the Bhagalpur division.  

Covering an expansive area of 3,019 square kilometers and with a total population of 20,29,339. people as per the 2011 Census records, the Banka district is one of the most politically significant constituencies in Bihar. Considered the Rice Bowl of India, the Banka district is reliant on an agrarian economy, and the primary crops grown are rice, wheat, lentils and corn.  

This district is gradually turning into a region of heavy industrial investments, especially coal based power plants, which meets all the requirements to flourish in this district. Nonetheless, the Banka district, like the remaining 35 districts in Bihar, is one of the economically backward districts and receives regular funds from the government under the Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme (BRGFP).

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Banka Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Banka parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Banka constituency is Jai Prakash Narayan Yadav of RJD.

Year PC No. PC Name Category WinnerGenderPartyVoteRunner UpGenderPartyVote
201427BankaGenJai Prakash Narayan YadavMRJD285150Putul KumariFBJP275006
2010By PollsBankaGENPutul KumariFIND288958Jai Prakash NarayanMRJD219839
200927BankaGENDigvijay SinghMIND185762Jai Prakash NarayanMRJD157046
200426BankaGENGiridhari YadavMRJD339880Digvijay SinghMJD(U)335211
199929BankaGENDigvijay SinghMJD(U)233453Giridhari YadavMIND212045
199829BankaGENDigvijay SinghMSAP331660Giridhari YadavMRJD320369
199629BankaGENGiridhari YadavMJD276214Digvijay SinghMSAP261499
199128BankaGENPratap SinghMJD241797Manorma Singh (W)FINC131410
198929BankaGENPratap SinghMJD369771Manorman SinghFINC153156
1986By PollsBankaGENM.SinghFINC186237G.FernendesMJNP156853
1985By PollsBankaGENC.SinghMINC162754G.FernandesMJNP125659
198429BankaGENManorma SinghFINC306703Janardan YadavMBJP154731
198029BankaGENChandra Shekhar SinghMINC(I)171781Limaye MadhuMJNP(S)95358
197729BankaGENLimaye MadhuMBLD239550Chandra Shekhar SinghMINC78866
197127BankaGENShiv Chandika PrasadMINC80017Vasudeo YadavMCPI68942
196727BankaGENB. S. SharmaMBJS81297S. Devi FINC63730
196227BankaGENShakuntala DeviFINC87359Kazi S.A. Matin MSWA49965
195722BankaGENShakuntala DeviFJHP78857Rajeshwar Prasad ChaudhuryMJHP24198

Facts about current sitting MP of Banka Constituency

Name of MP Shri Jay Prakash Narayan Yadav
Age 64
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May, 2014 to In office
Political Party Rashtriya Janata Dal
Gender Male
Educational Qualification M.A., LL.B.
Activities of Shri Jay Prakash Narayan Yadav in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 159
Private member bills passed 4
Questions asked 145
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituencies in Banka Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Banka parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
SultanganjAmarpurDhoraiya (SC)
BankaKatoria (ST)Belhar

Last Updated on February 24, 2015

Track your constituency