Track your constituency

Andaman and Nicobar Islands General (Lok Sabha) Elections 2019 Results Update

1st Runner Up
2nd Runner Up

Quick facts for Andaman and Nicobar Islands Elections

Parliamentary Constituencies1
Assembly ConstituenciesN.A
Ruling PartyCenter
Opposition PartyCenter
Chief MinisterU.T.
GovernorDevendra Kumar Joshi
Chief Electoral OfficerChetan B. Sanghi

Andaman and Nicobar Islands Lok Sabha Election Summary 2014

The lone constituency of the Andaman and Nicobar Islands is once again won by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). BJP candidate Vishnupad Rai was declared the winner when the results were out.
Congress candidate Kuldeep Rai Sharma was declared a runner up in the Union Territory (UT). The Andaman and Nicobar Islands was declared a UT in 1956. The UT has no ceremonial or legislature head, but the government is headed by the Lieutenant Governor. The Governor is appointment by the President of India and presently A.K. Singh is the Governor of Andaman and Nicobar Islands. Andaman and Nicobar Islands has only one Lok Sabha constituency which represents the entire Union Territory. The UT has participated in 11 Lok Sabha elections, out of which nine are won by the Indian national Congress and two by BJP. It again attended the 2014 Lok Sabha elections where elections were held on April 10, 2014. With majority of Congress' victory and BJP being the last winner in 2009 elections, it was unpredictable that which party will win this time in the elections from the UT.

Administration of Andaman and Nicobar Islands

As other Indian states or Union Territories, the administrative structure of the Andaman and Nicobar Islands is defined by the national constitution of 1950. It is managed by the central government through a lieutenant governor, who is appointed by the president of India. The Council of Ministers assist the lieutenant governor. The Islands also comprises of its own legislature with elected members.

Issues of the UT

The conflict between commercial activities and the welfare of Jarawa tribes was one of the fundamental election issues in Andaman and Nicobar Islands. The state witnessed a violent fight among five major parties.

Andaman and Nicobar Islands Election History

Till date, Andaman and Nicobar Islands has conducted 11 Lok Sabha elections, out of which nine were won by the INC and the remaining two by the BJP. From the Lok Sabha election of 1971 to that of 1998, the INC consecutively won eight elections in the area. It was only in 1999 that the BJP managed to overthrow the monopoly. However, the INC came back to power after winning the general election of 2004 but lost to BJP once again in 2009.

Major Political Parties of Andaman and Nicobar Islands

Following are the major parties of Andaman and Nicobar Islands:
Indian National Congress (INC)Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)Aam Aadmi Party (AAP)
Nationalist Congress Party (NCP)Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP)Communist Party of India(Marxist) [CPI (M)]

List of Administrators of Andaman and Nicobar Islands

Since the beginning of British settlement in the area in 1858, Andaman and Nicobar Islands were governed by a Superintendent of the British. In 1872, this title was changed to that of Chief Commissioner, and it stayed on until 1945, when Japan captured the area. The islands finally became a part of the Indian subcontinent in 1946 when Inamul Majid was appointed the first Indian Governor and was the nominal head of the area. In 1982, the President changed the title and the duties of the Administrator of the Union Territory, and Manohar L. Kampani became the first Lieutenant Governor of the area on assuming office in November 1982. The current Lt. Governor is A.K. Singh.

Demographics of Andaman and Nicobar Islands

As per the Indian census data 2011, this Union Territory has a population of about 3,80,000 with 53% males and 47% females. About 62% of the population is rural and 34% is urban. The sex ratio is 878 females per 1,000 males. There is a 70% Hindu majority, with at least 20% Christians in the population. The average literacy rate is 87%.

List of Administrators in Andaman and Nicobar Island

Sr. No.Name of AdministratorFromTo
1Admiral (Retd) Devendra Kumar JoshiOct 8, 2017Present
2Prof. Jagdish Mukhi (Lieutenant Governor)Aug 22, 2016Oct 7, 2017
3A. K. SinghJul 8, 2013Aug 17, 2016
4Bhopinder SinghDec 29, 2006Jun 30, 2013
5Madan Mohan LakheraFeb 12, 2006Dec 29, 2006
6Ramchandra "Ram" KapseJan 5, 2004May 30, 2006
7Nagendra Nath JhaMay 26, 2001Jan 4, 2004
8Ishwari Prasad GuptaDec 23, 1996May 25, 2001
9Vakkom PurushothamanMar 19, 1993Mar 18, 1996
10Surjit Singh Barnala Dec 1990Mar 18, 1993
11Ranjit Singh DayalFeb 25, 1990Dec 1990
12Romesh Bhandari Dec 1989Feb 24, 1990
13Tirath Singh OberoiDec 4, 1985 Dec 1989
14Manohar L. KampaniNov 12, 1982Dec 3, 1985

Last Updated on March 29, 2019