Jadavpur Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

Jadavpur Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Mimi ChakrabortyAll India Trinamool Congress687773069968847247.91Winner
Anupam HazraBharatiya Janata Party392610062339323327.371st Runner-up
Bikash Ranjan BhattacharyyaCommunist Party Of India (Marxist)301560070430226421.042nd Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above15516025155411.083rd Runner-up
Kartik KayalIndependent93780093780.654th Runner-up
Anuradha PutatundaParty For Democratic Socialism55490055490.395th Runner-up
Bimal Krishna MandalBahujan Samaj Party51120251140.366th Runner-up
Sujata BanerjeeSocialist Unity Centre Of India (Communist)43450943540.37th Runner-up
Mangal Kumar SardarIndependent34740134750.248th Runner-up
Kartick NaskarIndependent25540025540.189th Runner-up
Atanu ChatterjeeIndependent23450023450.1610th Runner-up
Rupa KhanBharatiya Nyay-Adhikar Raksha Party16670016670.1211th Runner-up
Dr Nazrul IslamMulnibasi Party Of India16010416050.1112th Runner-up
Gopal NaskarRashtriya Janasachetan Party (R.J.P.)13420113430.0913th Runner-up

With over 1,300,000 electors, Jadavpur Lok Sabha Constituency belongs to the state of West Bengal. The Jadavpur Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 22) has a total of 1,331,537 electorates out of which 647,438 are females and 684,099 are males according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports. It is one of the 41 constituencies of the state and was formed prior to the 1977 elections. It has seven legislative assembly segments, all belonging to the South 24 Parganas District of which one is reserved for the SC category. Jadavpur is a famous neighbourhood in Kolkata city and is bordered by Dhakuria, Tollygunge, Santoshpur and G_aria. The South 24 Parganas District is India's sixth most populous district and sprawls over an area of 9,960 sq km, bordered by Sundarbans and Kolkata.

It has a population of over 8,160,000 with a 53% male majority. With a sex ratio of 956 females per 1000 males, this district has had a population growth rate of 18.17% over the decade 2001-2011. About 13% of the population comprises of children below the age of six. It has an average literacy rate of 78% with male literacy of 84% and female literacy of 71%. Economically, although agriculture and pisciculture are prevalent in the area, it was declared as one of the 250 most backward districts of India and receives support. Through Kolkata, it is connected to several major roads of the area.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Jadavpur Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Jadavpur parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Jadavpur constituency is Shri Sugata Bose of AITC.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201422JadavpurGENSugata BoseMAITC584244Sujan ChakrabortyMCPM459041
200922JadavpurGENSuman,Shri Kabir MAITC540667Sujan ChakrabortyMCPM484400
200418JadavpurGENSujan ChakrabortyMCPM505396Krishna BoseMAITC415728
199918JadavpurGENKrishna BoseFAITC485366Kanti GangulyMCPM418601
199818JadavpurGENKrishna BoseFWBTC514338Malini BhattacharyaMCPM436137
199618JadavpurGENKrishna BoseMINC499254Malini BhattacharyaMCPM486216
199118JadavpurGENMalini Bhattacharya (W)FCPM398896Santosh BhattacharyaMINC348595
198918JadavpurGENMalini BhattacharyaFCPM441188Mamata BanerjeeFINC410288
198418JadavpurGENMamata BanerjeeFINC331618Somnath ChatterjeeMCPM311958
198018JadavpurGENSomnath ChatterjeeMCPM309094Sachinath MitraMINC(I)162979
197718JadavpurGENSomnath ChatterjeeMCPM236085Mohammad EliasMCPI97450

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

List of Assembly Constituencies in Jadavpur Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Jadavpur parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Baruipur Purba (SC)Baruipur PaschimSonarpur Dakshin
BhangarJadavpurSonarpur Uttar

Last Updated on June 28, 2019