Home » Political-Corner  » Voting Begins for First Phase of Lok Sabha Elections

Voting Begins for First Phase of Lok Sabha Elections

Posted by Admin on April 11, 2019 | Comment

Voting Begins for First Phase of LokSabha Elections


The largest democracy in the world is undergoing the first phase of the largest election in the world on Thursday. This is only the first phase of the gigantic seven-phase general elections. Prime Minister Narendra Modi is seeking his second them whereas the Congress party is eyeing on improving its tally. Last elections, the Congress could only manage to get 44 seats. This time they will be aiming at crossing the three-digit mark which seems to be an uphill task.

Ninety-one constituencies from 20 states are voting to elect their respective MPs. The first phase of the voting has begun in parts of states including Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Jammu and Kashmir, Maharashtra, Manipur, Odisha, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal. While the states of Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Meghalaya, Uttarakhand, Mizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim, Lakshadweep, Andaman and Nicobar Islands and Telangana are voting in a single phase.

Coinciding with the Lok Sabha elections, voting for assembly polls are also being held in four states in order to choose the next governments in these states. Andhra Pradesh, Arunanchal Pradesh and Sikkim are voting in a single phase whereas parts of Odisha are voting for the first phase of the total five phase assembly elections.  

Among the VIP leaders contesting in the first phase today are five Union Ministers- Kiren Rijuju (Arunanchal West), Nitin Gadkari (Nagpur), General V.K. Singh (Ghaziabad), Satyapal Singh (Baghpat) and Mahesh Sharma (Gautam Buddha Nagar). AIMIM chief Asaduddin Owaisi who is a three time MP from Hyderabad is also contesting. Rashtriya Lok Dal chief Ajit Singh and his son Jayant Chaudhary is contesting from Muzaffarnagar and Baghpat respectively. National Conference’s Mohammad Akbar Lon is contesting from Baramulla. Congress’s candidate Imran Masood is in contest with BJP’s Raghav Lakhan in Saharanpur constituency.

Opinion polls for the lok Sabha elections highly favor PM Narendra Modi though there have been attacks by the opposition over the state of the economy, failure to create jobs and the crisis in the farm sector. There has also been criticism over the BJP-led government’s failure to control the right-wing fringe groups and cow vigilantes that have gone on an overdrive, leading to multiple instances of mob killings across the country.

The centerpiece of the Congress campaign is what the party calls NYAY (Nyuntam Aay Yojana) – an ambitious scheme to provide a minimum basic income of Rs. 72,000 a year for three years to the poorest of the country.

In this elections, almost 90 crore people are eligible to vote this time. The increase is about 9 crore compared to the last time. It is estimated that around 13 crore people are the first-time voters. A total of 1,279 candidates are contesting in this phase. A total of 213 candidates have criminal cases registered against them, ranging from murder to kidnapping, crime against women and hate speech.