Home » Political-Corner  » Congress Releases its First List of Candidates for Lok Sabha Polls 2019

Congress Releases its First List of Candidates for Lok Sabha Polls 2019

Posted by Aditya Singh on March 12, 2019 | Comment

Congress Released List of Candidate

The 2014 general elections were a shocker for the grand old party of India. It couldn’t even get the bare minimum number of MPs to get the constitutional post of Leader of Opposition, which is one-tenth of the total strength of the house. The party is trying to turn the tide in its favor this election season.

Ending speculation about Sonia Gandhi’s retirement from politics, the Congress on Thursday announced that she would contest from Rae Bareli, while party Chief Rahul Gandhi would seek re-election from Amethi. Both of these constituencies are bastion of the Gandhi family and these are the only seats Congress had won in the Uttar Pradesh in the 2014 general elections. However, Priyanka Gandhi’s name was missing from the list. Earlier it was speculated the Priyanka would replace Sonia Gandhi to contest from Rae Bareli due to the latter’s ailing health.

The party announced its first list of 15 Lok Sabha candidates — 11 from Uttar Pradesh and four from Gujarat — after a meeting of its central election committee. Making a point to the SP-BSP alliance, the Congress fielded candidates from seats held by the two parties, including from Badaun which is currently represented by Mulayam Singh Yadav’s nephew Dharmendra Yadav.

Sl. No. State Constituency Candidate
1 Gujarat Ahmedabad West (SC) Raju Paramar
2 Gujarat Anand Bharatsinh M. Solanki
3 Gujarat Vadodara Prashant Patel
4 Gujarat Chhota Udaipur (ST) Ranjit Mohansinh Rathwa
5 Uttar Pradesh Saharanpur Imran Masood
6 Uttar Pradesh Badaun Saleem Iqbal Shervani
7 Uttar Pradesh Dhaurahra Jitin Prasad
8 Uttar Pradesh Unnao Smt. Annu Tandon
9 Uttar Pradesh Rae Bareli Smt. Sonia Gandhi
10 Uttar Pradesh Amethi Rahul Gandhi
11 Uttar Pradesh Farrukhabad Salman Khursheed
12 Uttar Pradesh Akbarpur Rajaram Pal
13 Uttar Pradesh Jalaun (SC) Brij Lal Khabri
14 Uttar Pradesh Faizabad Nirmal Khatri
15 Uttar Pradesh Kushi Nagar R.P.N. Singh


The Congress announced that it will contest all 80 seats in Uttar Pradesh after the Samajwadi Party of Akhilesh Yadav and Mayawati’s Bahujan Samaj Party announced a grand alliance in January without the party. The rivals-turned-partners made one concession for the Congress; they said they would not field candidates in Amethi and Rae Bareli.

Also on the Congress list is senior leader Salman Khurshid, who will contest from Farrukhabad, where he had contested from and lost in 2014. The party has fielded the candidates in Uttar Pradesh who secured these seats in 2009 Lok Sabha elections such as Annu Tandon, Nirmal Khatri, R.P.N. Singh and Jatin Prasad. In Gujarat, senior Congress leader Bharatsinh Solanki will contest from Anand. He had won the Lok Sabha elections from the seat in 2004 and 2009. But he lost to Dilipbhai Patel of the BJP in 2014