Home » Political-Corner  » BJP, AIADMK and PMK Join Hands Allies for the Upcoming Lok Sabha Election 2019

BJP, AIADMK and PMK Join Hands Allies for the Upcoming Lok Sabha Election 2019

Posted by Aditya Singh on February 22, 2019 | Comment

Lok Sabbha Elections 2019

Recently, Bhartiya Janta Party has been working actively to rope in allies for the upcoming Lok Sabha election. BJP President Amit Shah, Shiv Sena Chief Uddhav Thackeray and Maharastra Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis announced a seat-sharing agreement between both the parties in the state. Just a day later, BJP sealed a deal with All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) and Pattali Makkal Katchi (PMK). Out of 39, PMK will contest on 7 and BJP on 5 Tamil Nadu Lok Sabha election 2019 seats. Additionally, PMK gets one seat to the Rajya Sabha.

This leaves 28 seats for AIADMK and other possible allies, including one Pondicherry Lok Sabha election 2019 seat. However, AIADMK’s seat share would be finalized after allotment to other allies (Indhiya Jananayaga Katchi, New Justice Party, Puthiya Tamizhagam and DMDK). The DMDK was said to have sought five Lok Sabha seats and along with one Rajya Sabha seat. To this, the BJP sought more time to respond. However, sources in the BJP said the issue would be resolved in a few days.

 In lieu, the PMK and the BJP pledged support to ruling party by-election to 21 Tamil Nadu Assembly constituencies, expected to be held along with the Lok Sabha election 2019.

These 21 seats are important for the AIADMK to retain its power in the state. Of the 21 seats, as many as 18 had fallen vacant following the disqualification of ruling AIADMK MLAs loyal to ousted leader TTV Dhinakaran by the Assembly Speaker in September 2017, which was upheld by the Madras High Court late last year. However, the BJP is hoping to expand its base in a southern state where it has been only a marginal presence without the crutch of regional giants.

For the Lok Sabha elections, the AIADMK and PMK came to terms after a gap of ten years whereas it came to terms with the BJP after an interval of fifteen years. Chief Minister and AIADMK co-coordinator Edappadi K. Palaniswami and Deputy Chief Minister and Party coordinator O. Panneerselvam signed the agreement with the PMK. The AIADMK leaders met Dr. Ramadoss and former Union Minister Anbumani Ramadoss. The Deputy Chief Minister then told the media that both the parties had clinched a deal.

Union Minister Piyush Goyal reached Chennai in the afternoon and got the understanding with the AIADMK finalized after a meeting with the senior leadership. “The alliance will contest the Tamil Nadu elections under the leadership of the AIADMK and the national elections in the name of Prime Minister Narendra Modi,” said Piyush Goyal.

Over the past two years, the AIADMK is seen to have been considerably weakened by the death of its charismatic leader Jayalalithaa in 2016. The AIADMK subsequently split down the middle with a rebel faction supporting Jayalalithaa’s closest aide VK Sasikala, who made a failed bid to take over the party and chief ministership before being jailed for corruption. Sasikala’s nephew TTV Dhinakaran has launched AMMK and even won Jayalalithaa’s RK Nagar constituency in a by-election.

The fact that AIADMK has won 37 out of total 39 Tamil Nadu Lok Sabha election seats and now it is contesting at least 10 fewer seats shows its weaker position in the state. The NDA alliance won just two seats with BJP winning one and PMK winning the other seat.

According to the sources, the Congress and the DMK completed seat-sharing talks and a formal announcement will be made in Chennai. DMK sources said the Congress would get nine seats and lone Pondicherry Lok Sabha election 2019 seat.