Track your constituency

Ministry of Human Resource Development

Prakash Javadekar is the Current Human Resource Development (HRD) Minister of India

The Ministry of Human Resource Development (HRD) is a government ministry which works for the development of the human resources. It is divided into two departments - Department of School Education & Literacy and Department of Higher Education. The Department of School Education & Literacy is responsible for primary and secondary education, adult education and literacy. The Department of Higher Education is concerned with university and technical education and scholarships etc. It is headed by the Minister of HRD and currently Prakash Javadekar is the Minister of HRD in India. M. M. Pallam Raju is the former Minister of HRD in India who held the position from 2012 to 2014. Few other leaders to held the position are Maulana Abdul Kalam Azad, Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed, P.V. Narasimha Rao, V.P. Singh, Atal Bihari Vajpayee, Murli Manohar Joshi and Kapil Sibbal.

List of HRD Ministers of India

S. NoNameFromToPolitical Party
1Prakash Javdekar05 July 2016IncumbentBharatiya Janata Party
2Smriti Irani27 May 201405 July 2016Bharatiya Janata Party
3M.M. Pallam Raju20122014Indian National Congress
4Kapil Sibal20092012Indian National Congress
5Arjun Singh20042009Indian National Congress
6Murli Manohar Joshi19982004Bharatiya Janata Party

Contact details

Phone No.: +91-11-23782698/23782387
Fax: +91-11-23382365 (FAX)
E-mail: minister[dot]hrd[at]gov[dot]in
For General Request: request-hrd[at]gov[dot]in
For Invitation: hrd-invite[at]gov[dot]in
For Appointment: app-hrd[at]gov[dot]in
Official Website:

Last Updated on Jan 31, 2020

Latest Election News and Update

Yashwant Sinha Bihar Elections 2020 Yashwant Sinha Jumps in the Bihar Election With a New ‘Front’

Former BJP leader Yashwant Sinha has decided to try his luck in the upcoming Bihar Election 2020. He had handled finance and external affairs portfolios in the Bajpayee government. To Read More…

Madhya Pradesh Cabinet 2020 Madhya Pradesh Cabinet Expansion, 28 New Ministers took Oath

After long consultations with the senior leadership, Shivraj Singh Chouhan has finally expanded his cabinet. 28 new ministers took oath today and it was administered by Anandiben Patel. She had Read More…

Cast Politics in Bihar Analysis: How Caste Plays A Significant Role For Bihar Election

India is going to witness a heightened political activity since the end of 2020. Mainly because the term of many state assemblies is going to expire. There will be Bihar Read More…